Is comp sci degree dead now??

Soracak

So do u still believe PAP when they keep asking peepur to upskill and take courses in their selected sectors? Either the job will no more there, or the job is nobody wants to do.

Lhl said gst because of profligate spending. Bail out sph, bail out sia. Skillsfuture is just another way to bail out crony service providers. U cannot beat uptron on skills.

grevq80o

U want the hard truth? Every era got game changers, so it is not a new thing.

It is also not a skills issue btw, being skilful just makes u exploitable one season and disposable the next. Nobody gets to the top being the most technically skilled person in the room.

End of the day it is not the industry but connections, who u know that will guide u to the right places.
And PAP as the 92% majority in parliament, should be leading the way. But instead they recruit SAF paper generals who only know how to do things the SAF way... Will never make any real connections for Sg.

If PAP got foresight, will not be scared Trump become prez.

If PAP know how to make smart connections and proper policies, sinkies wouldn't have suffered...

Time for a new direction - no LW ish gonna stay same course... Dig hole deeper,.put head deeper insai to avoid louder and louder sounds of reality

touchring1

And PAP as the 92% majority in parliament, should be leading the way. But instead they recruit SAF paper generals who only know how to do things the SAF way... Will never make any real connections for Sg.

If PAP got foresight, will not be scared Trump become prez.

If PAP know how to make smart connections and proper policies, sinkies wouldn't have suffered...

Time for a new direction - no LW ish gonna stay same course... Dig hole deeper,.put head deeper insai to avoid louder and louder sounds of reality

With president musk, I don't think it's possible to stay same course now. he is going to do drastic things and he already has his sight on us. we can't smoke our way through now. as a billionaire with extensive international business connections and knowledge, he knows exactly what they are doing, cannot bluff.

they will need to change course to meet new realities.

Mr Totoro 38

Bubble is burst.. Its tough
But …mmm errrr but you took up undergrad computer science or AI course right???

any regrets that bubble is burst now???
Any difficulty to get a job in AU???

don’t worry I am not arm chio…
Will pray for you…. :)

soulblader_89

i can share in my personal experience

my company is start to reduce headcount for some govt project

1. optimization of resources
2. Make use of AI

this 2 is becos of one thing: Save cost

A lot of projects they plan to offshore to Philippines team or even India team

it is no longer FT they need, with AI, they dun even need FT, they dun even need foreigner, they can just use AI to do most of the work, and make use of offshore resource, pay them in peso

Singapore team only need to manage them

a lot of my friends are on bench becos of that

tmster

Heavy investments leading to over hiring. Over the years more and more funds pour in, but big promises with little progress, so we are seeing some cutting back and slowdown.

Nekorare

It’s ok I guess, back to being an average pay job for people with interest. Go do law or medicine for protected industries lah.
Law is not a safe harbour, you have to perform or out you go, Especially in M&A

project_00

Perhaps, but we can't assume that API would be freely available. Companies may not share their latest gen API or it maybe restricted by governments. I'm quite sure the ChatGPT we can access publicly is not the latest AI they have, probably 2nd gen or 3rd gen or reduced capability.

Buy outs are subject to government approval so it's also not just a money issue. You need political power and political power is very expensive.
Good thing that there are competitive opensource LLMs, which can be good enough depending on use case

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.