Is comp sci degree dead now??

project_00

U want the hard truth? Every era got game changers, so it is not a new thing.

It is also not a skills issue btw, being skilful just makes u exploitable one season and disposable the next. Nobody gets to the top being the most technically skilled person in the room.

End of the day it is not the industry but connections, who u know that will guide u to the right places.
Structural unemployment, yes

popdod

Moi in cybersecurity also same. So far only received call from recruiters for only those entry level security analyst jobs, even though I more than 10 years exp.
Current job workload keep increasing but no additional headcount. Keep squeezing us.
Burnout but cannot find any other jobs. :(

Is the same every industry.dont squeeze u ish not normal. :(

ramlee

i can share in my personal experience

my company is start to reduce headcount for some govt project

1. optimization of resources
2. Make use of AI

this 2 is becos of one thing: Save cost

A lot of projects they plan to offshore to Philippines team or even India team

it is no longer FT they need, with AI, they dun even need FT, they dun even need foreigner, they can just use AI to do most of the work, and make use of offshore resource, pay them in peso

Singapore team only need to manage them

a lot of my friends are on bench becos of that
on the bench means collect pay but nothing to do? :(

Heriophant

But …mmm errrr but you took up undergrad computer science or AI course right???

any regrets that bubble is burst now???
Any difficulty to get a job in AU???

don’t worry I am not arm chio…
Will pray for you…. :)
Its tough wor :frown:

My bro studying IT in SG.. GG le
A lot of projects they plan to offshore to Philippines team or even India team
Same thing happening in AU. Even in Big 4 banks

Mr Totoro 38

Its tough wor :frown:

My bro studying IT in SG.. GG le

Same thing happening in AU. Even in Big 4 banks
If possible look for other jobs lor
End of the day, all jobs you work are just to pay bills and put food on the table…

everyone is struggling now la… not only your bro..

Wooo… you still in AU? In final year now or mmmm on bridging visa to look for jobs?

anyway, try to settle down in AU la… don’t come back… bleak future in sg…sighssssss.

SkyNinja

Zuckerberg said he's cutting jobs due to AI
Last time people say RPA and AI will let humans do higher value tasks and let computer do routine work. Really is self pwn. We embrace tech and now tech bites us back.

Mr Totoro 38

He is 26.. gonna graduate soon but economy doesnt look good.

since when the economy look good?
Has been in bad shape for long time…

recent news even mentioned that poly graduates unable to get full time employment too!

really jialat generation….

thorsten139

i thoguht govtech hired like a HUGE bunch and no job scope one?

just sit there and collect pay?

google AI

In September 2023, a former Indeed employee claimed that GovTech hired around 60 former Indeed employees in May, but the new hires had no deliverables. GovTech acknowledged the claims and provided information to address them

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.