Is it really over for Intel®?

Intel is ...

• dead man walking, soon to be buried

Votes: 58 50.9%
  • will bounce back, buyed Intc at $10 sure huat!

Votes: 56 49.1%

• Total voters

kimsix

Was at SLS PCtheme this week. Was told Zen 5 chips might be on sale in the next 2-3 weeks. A drop in upgrade with a BIOS flash will do.

May finally get one for my ASRock Rack B650 motherboard on standby for a while. :geek:

which rack b650 is that? no bios update cannot work though. can pm seller to reserves online :o

Remains to be seen. Eveye one is waiting to see how arrow lake performs. 9000 series looks okay only without much of an uplift (3-4%) to 7000 series. The ones to wait for are the 9000 series X3D parts. Those are actually the ones that most reviewers will compare to the Intel ones for gaming. If arrow lake doesn't make the cut to compete with AMD, Intel may be in a far deeper trouble than all these problems they face now. As of now, arrow lake performance is still pretty much unknown. Don't forget arrow lake has removed hyperthreading completely and that itself will allow the cpu to use less voltage and run cooler. Efficiency wise arrow lake will be a good indication if anything at all has been improved with the new architecture.

If you ask me, most of the degradation and high idle voltages is due to their stupid 2 core boost to lead in single thread workloads. And some of the 14900k bins have such bad bins that you literally idle at 1.5v in Windows just for the 2 core boost to work. People like myself have always ran a fixed frequency with a static voltage and I've had absolutely had 0 issues with mine so far. Of course not everyone is familiar with this and that is also the reason why most that have glowing issues are all on stock settings with high idle voltages which is the majority of users.

I think is worrying, intel taking until late oct to release arl, taking out HT is strange choice, on reveiws will look bad against 16/32 zen5.
Ll is 3nm also need wait until sep for simple 4E+4P, all so late, leaks also not enough zhup to make us excited

wow, how dare you talk about buying AMD in this thread, later get labelled as AMD fanboy :ROFLMAO:

Just refer to this guide I guess

no choice, has to sug up mods so they close an eye not to ban me :o

elmariachi

which rack b650 is that? no bios update cannot work though. can pm seller to reserves online :o

I think is worrying, intel taking until late oct to release arl, taking out HT is strange choice, on reveiws will look bad against 16/32 zen5.
Ll is 3nm also need wait until sep for simple 4E+4P, all so late, leaks also not enough zhup to make us excited

no choice, has to sug up mods so they close an eye not to ban me :o
Taking out HT is the best choice honestly. You have sufficient cores today to take care of what you lose by taking out hyperthreading. Also, hyperthreading doesn't do much for games if you look at what you gain and what you lose. And the biggest gain is heat output and voltage required drops heavily.

For productivity, of course HT will be better for some but not all apps. 9000 series launch isn't exactly exciting either. Virtually less than 5% uplift from last gen.

Phen8210

Intel is the best! catching up to TSMC

image.png

You guys might be MISSING ITS REVIVAL :eek:

TanKianW

“AsrockRack” is the server/workstation series (variant) motherboard and HW components brand under Asrock. Competing brands will be Supermicro, Tyan, Gigabyte Ent series, etc.

The brand is targeted at enterprise and server integrators with a focus on stability and reliability (usually more conservative) instead of just raw performance. Their motherboards normally come standard with higher performance NICs (Eg. 10G, 25G), support for more flexible PCIe bifurcation (x4x4x4, x4x4x8, etc), enterprise IO (SAS, Occulink, etc), a long list of sensors including power draw, higher max memory capacity on all slots, support for ECC (UDIMM or RDIM) and also IPMI which allows for more advanced remote management over the network such as booting into BIOS over the browser on another computer/machine. Put it simply, comparing with consumer boards, a totally different breed and class by itself.

https://www.asrockrack.com/

matique

As a consumer and enterprise user, I only care about who (which camp) is better, faster and cheaper. Which includes good software/platform (esp Linux) support, not just looks good on hardware specs. I had my fair share of ups and downs from both camps throughout my IT and tech career. Now I root for the next black horse (if there is ever one) to disrupt the market.

You've hit the nail in the head, always go for whatever suits your needs + within your budget. Quite important to be objective and not make decisions based on emotions.

Intel and AMD will have their battles going in perpetuity. No one is going anywhere. Seems to me Intel is also not getting ample concessions from the U.S government as the current administration is much more interested in helping TSMC. Remember most of what TSMC fabricates is used for the U.S military hardware including missiles and planes. Also, manufacturing in U.S is a major challenge in terms of finding ample skilled labour. There is a massive brain drain in the U.S so far under that coffin magnet Biden.

Intel has to sort out their mess and if they can pull another Core2Duo miracle like they did after Prescott, it will be out of Israel's Intel R&D. The Gaza war isn't helping on this front either. So Intel looks strung behind bad luck or bad decisions or both.

Either way, the CPU market is becoming incredibly competitive and Intel has to manage the bad PR right now and focus on sorting out internal issues and advancing forward. We need both of them to fight and slaughter each other because either Intel or AMD going out of business means an automatic monopoly of the last one standing. No one wants that. I also struggle to understand small minds with absolutely zero intellect shilling for their own brand loyalty in this age and time.

Would have to also look into geopolitics, the Chips Act may be revived with better terms, if the US govt wants to prop domestic silicon production. Should a situation like Covid strike again, it's imperative that their domestic production is secure. Their Israel plants are also affected by the war, like you said. They are looking at other countries to setup their plants though, like poland and germany.

India will never hit the yield. :LOL:

If the Chinese SMIC do catch up and from the way they operate. Bye bye to all.

Japan seemed more likely to be the up and coming one, partnering with TSMC. Singapore got the chance too but missed it the last round.

Chinese foundries quietly rising, but tech embargoes halting talent. Once they do figure it out, they would definitely be a force. Regarding Singapore missing out, yeah they really did. Malaysia is doing a stellar job at attracting fabs and datacenters to be built there. Singapore has some new announcements like the new meta datacenters and new plants by globalfoundries, but nothing cutting edge or substantial enough imo.

next week you buyed Zen5? NDP got long weekend to diy!

Please give report by then. msg my shopee frens performancepc/techdynamic to reserve zen5 and mobo :o

recommended mobo

asrock b650 steel legend (no need -E, this is as good)

b650e taichi lite

asus x670e-f

asus gene for OC

msi amd not really good im sorry :o

Wait awhile lah for the x3d chips, or for the standard zen chips to fall in price as they always do. Got to allow some time for bios to mature too to get rid of early bugs. Agesa updates are pushed quite often in the months near to launch.

it is worry pat 3 years already, things not improving, arrow lake on 4nm, finally same footing as zen5, but leaks say power consumption still high :o

this is first time intel do chiplets, not sure arl will suffer same high idle power and infinity fabric limitations

most daming is, pat had to beg to use tsmc for arrow lake and lunar lake, their simi intel7/10a/3 missing still, wtf engineers they hiring?

Their slow pace and constant delays is what's really affecting them, other than lower than expected sales for sapphire rapids. They extended 14mm++++ by 2 years, then extended 10mm+++, then announced delays in 18a as well. Even though they have the new High NA EUV machines from ASML, the benefit is nought if they can't capitalise on it.

Took out HT probably to save a bit on some power savings, and ecores are significantly faster to make up for it. Gaming wise, HT off is as fast as HT on or even faster. Tested myself, you can too. So not much of a loss, other than for absolute full load situations where HT helps a lot.

For laptop wise, just go with AMD for now. Cheap, good value, powerful and they improved standby power by quite a bit. Personally using a Lenovo Slim 7 with a 7840hs, it's been fantastic. But future of laptops probably will be ARM chips, just see if windows and major software willing to make the switch to make things compatible for mass market.

Intel is the best! catching up to TSMC

image.png

You guys might be MISSING ITS REVIVAL :eek:

Instead of addressing other people's points, apologizing for baseless characterizations, or adding value to the conversation, you deflect with sarcasm?

keith

Singapore has some new announcements like the new meta datacenters and new plants by globalfoundries, but nothing cutting edge or substantial enough imo.

how about UMC P3, M F10X, Siltronics, VIS, etc ...
SG has always been making mature nodes, noting cutting edge

matique

how about UMC P3, M F10X, Siltronics, VIS, etc ...
SG has always been making mature nodes, noting cutting edge

Yep, always mature nodes with well established processes and high yields. We have the infrastructure to facilitate an advanced node fab but perhaps not the manpower needed :/ a pity really, since SG has the constant water & electricity it needs, lack of natural disasters, an excellent trading port. Even if manpower is enough, it might be too expensive.

keith

Yep, always mature nodes with well established processes and high yields. We have the infrastructure to facilitate an advanced node fab but perhaps not the manpower needed :/ a pity really, since SG has the constant water & electricity it needs, lack of natural disasters, an excellent trading port. Even if manpower is enough, it might be too expensive.

there's quite a lot of Fab expansion recently in SG, a point not to be missed.
of course not at scale of TSMC AZ, Intel Chandler or ESMC or JASM

stanlawj

Chinese foundries quietly rising, but tech embargoes halting talent. Once they do figure it out, they would definitely be a force. Regarding Singapore missing out, yeah they really did. Malaysia is doing a stellar job at attracting fabs and datacenters to be built there. Singapore has some new announcements like the new meta datacenters and new plants by globalfoundries, but nothing cutting edge or substantial enough imo.
What?? You haven't been listening to the news about Silicon Box, Micron, Infineon, NXP?

https://www.reuters.com/breakingviews/tiny-singapores-chip-hub-retains-big-punch-2024-06-21/

Datacenter is low margin business that is very power and water intensive. Malaysia is actually making a mistake in hosting new datacenters without making additional conditions that the datacenter owners invest in nuclear power and water desalination projects. Just wait for the next few years and watch what happens when all those datacenters power up. Water shortage will hit the residents first.

matique

What?? You haven't been listening to the news about Silicon Box, Micron, Infineon, NXP?

https://www.reuters.com/breakingviews/tiny-singapores-chip-hub-retains-big-punch-2024-06-21/

Datacenter is low margin business that is very power and water intensive. Malaysia is actually making a mistake in hosting new datacenters without making additional conditions that the datacenter owners invest in nuclear power and water desalination projects. Just wait for the next few years and watch what happens when all those datacenters power up. Water shortage will hit the residents first.

Oh wow yeah those are valid points. I went to penang earlier this year to visit a friend who got posted there for infineon. Was just impressed by the size and scale of things, but you're right about Malaysia's sustainability for electricity and water. Hopefully Singapore will continue to be competitive!

Back to Intel. I'm hoping our local distributors would continue being quick for the rma processes of these chips. Anyone knows how they handle it recently? In the past it used to be 1-1 replacement via post or at the distributor.

ragnarok95

Senior Moderator
Pffft AMD fan boys basking in all the intel hate. Every generation it is the same ****. No one can hate Intel more Krado. HE IS THE BENCHMARK. @ragnarok95 will agree. Fanboys these days weak la. 🙄
Argument back then was more intensive. Krado has my respect. His passion and love for AMD is 2nd to none here.

elmariachi

Argument back then was more intensive. Krado has my respect. His passion and love for AMD is 2nd to none here.
I agree. Krado was actually a smart guy and his dedication to Intel hate was next level. 2nd to none indeed. Today's anti-Intel weasels are plain uneducated. Can't even argue coherently. Just copy and paste thinking they are intellectually smart. A fine example of the karchng and the brains switching place.

ragnarok95

Senior Moderator
I will still wait for upcoming intel core 200 release before deciding on which to replace my 11gen set up. Even though now...I'm like 75% sure on AMD route.

matique

I probably won't be upgrading cpu unless I'm upgrading GPU, which won't happen unless I upgrade monitor. It's a vicious cycle 😂

Current monitor AW3423DW, current hardware already maxed it out 175fps at max settings for most AAA games. If change to the newer 4K 240hz oled, would need a swap to higher end gpu, which would need a faster cpu so that it wouldn't bottleneck it.

Phen8210

ragnarok95

Senior Moderator

KleoZy

I wont be the first batch for sure. I see see... the most likely i will change is 2025 also. No hurry.
endure , endure, save up more.. for your current pc can use can already.. just wait for another generation. ;)

kimsix

Stock markets all crashed today , great recession coming, no more covid lockdowns, think many also no fweels to upgrade and stay at home, all gone japan, see liao!
Hope means gpu prices tanking!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.