jogging and motivation thread

winningeleven

SCSM still more than 6 months away, alot of time to train, get that injury heal first. only easy run, even if it had to be slower than the recommended pace by TAO.
I remember I mentioned to you to set progressive goal, i,.e have a sub 55 min 10km as a goal first, preferable do it under 52:30 min. But sub 50mins is kinda aggressive. Anyway I know of two female runners who can't sub 50 for 10km, but can sub 1:55 for HM and sub 4 hr for FM
I could not run below 50 mins for 10km. Best is 52mins. Best HM is 1:53 and yet never finish full marathon under 5 hours . Wish that I am able to run sub 4 in FM one day

ctan84

I could not run below 50 mins for 10km. Best is 52mins. Best HM is 1:53 and yet never finish full marathon under 5 hours . Wish that I am able to run sub 4 in FM one day
More long runs at race pace specific intensity lah. My HM 2.5 months b4 stand chart was 2:12, stand chart I did 4:37. Did all my long runs up to 35km at marathon race pace.

Ender

You have the potential to run 4:30 with more long runs to schedule in. And setting sub 4 is a realistic goal, but won't be easy .
I am also about this standard, now set goal for sub 4.

winningeleven

More long runs at race pace specific intensity lah. My HM 2.5 months b4 stand chart was 2:12, stand chart I did 4:37. Did all my long runs up to 35km at marathon race pace.
U r right. I didn't clock enough mileage..

winningeleven

You have the potential to run 4:30 with more long runs to schedule in. And setting sub 4 is a realistic goal, but won't be easy .
I am also about this standard, now set goal for sub 4.
Getting tougher now coz I am no longer young. Now 47 liao. Still managed to go under 2 hr HM last year regularly. This year I still haven't done any. But I give myself to try SUB 4 till 50 years old..

xllms

20240407 13degC rain New Balance Fresh Foam X 1080v13
15.2km @ 6'48" av
first time jogging in the rain
IMG-20240407-223504.jpg
Screenshot-2024-04-07-22-33-09-49-52452f1d6bfd18faab3fb63bff4cd7a9.jpg

Ender

20240407 13degC rain New Balance Fresh Foam X 1080v13
15.2km @ 6'48" av
first time jogging in the rain
IMG-20240407-223504.jpg
Screenshot-2024-04-07-22-33-09-49-52452f1d6bfd18faab3fb63bff4cd7a9.jpg
In hot Singapore, jogin in the rain is shiok. Don't know about cold country, but I would imagine shivering cold, if whole body is wet.

Ender

Getting tougher now coz I am no longer young. Now 47 liao. Still managed to go under 2 hr HM last year regularly. This year I still haven't done any. But I give myself to try SUB 4 till 50 years old..
Its good to have a goal for running, that's how I sustain for more than 15 years. If rely on health and passion, I don't think I would still be running.
I am 56, still trying for that sub 4, but getting further away. Coz since I kenna a hard to recover flu in Feb, can feel body fitness took a hit.

Jeremy1

Its good to have a gold for running, that's how I sustain for more than 15 years. If rely on health and passion, I don't think I would still be running.
I am 56, still trying for that sub 4, but getting further away. Coz since I kenna a hard to recover flu in Feb, can feel body fitness took a hit.

I older than you by 1 year

ctan84

Its good to have a goal for running, that's how I sustain for more than 15 years. If rely on health and passion, I don't think I would still be running.
You might want to have a read at this book - The Race Against Time by Richard Askwith. Its looking at the performance of masters class athlete and how to improve performance until your 90s.

Kuudere

Yes gonna start tapering also to ease my calf before the race. Not expecting pb as it all depends on my calf. All the best to hit your peak 5km fitness
Run your first km steady state/marathon pace and wait for the crowd to disperse, then pick up the pace from there. Best way to preserve leg strength for rest of the race
In hot Singapore, jogin in the rain is shiok. Don't know about cold country, but I would imagine shivering cold, if whole body is wet.
At that temperature, should be ok after running 2-3km. Warm up is definitely longer than in Sg. But once warmed up, the running experience is better than Sg.

That's why Sg favours a short warm up approach since running in the heat alone drains a lot.

Kuudere

3k easy, 6k tempo

Paced with another runner for 5+k

Last 6km: 4.46, 4.34, 4.31, 4.26, 4.40, 4.19

Avg. of 6km: 4.32 min/km

Faster than my last week 8km tempo pace of 4.34 min/km

xllms

it wasn't as cold as imagine as i was wearing a thin l/s running top with a relatively thick (sg standard) windbreaker.
what concerns me was my HR (av.160, max.176) as it was meant to be an easy run, with plenty of traffic lights and steps to walk up and down in the first 6km. the last 9km was without traffic lights and minimum steps and my HR slowly creeps up, myself feeling the strain as it goes closer to the end.
can imagine my HR go beyond 180 easily in current SG condition.

sph777

Actually in the end, I signed up for the Rui Yong's academy but I think cause sick then went back to training, caused me to have this calf injury. Then now close to race also can't relax for now. Flu indeed is a killer.

Ender

You might want to have a read at this book - The Race Against Time by Richard Askwith. Its looking at the performance of masters class athlete and how to improve performance until your 90s.
Thanks for the recommendation. Will keep a lookout for the book, or ebook .

sph777

Run your first km steady state/marathon pace and wait for the crowd to disperse, then pick up the pace from there. Best way to preserve leg strength for rest of the race

At that temperature, should be ok after running 2-3km. Warm up is definitely longer than in Sg. But once warmed up, the running experience is better than Sg.

That's why Sg favours a short warm up approach since running in the heat alone drains a lot.
Rui Yong's strat for me is 4:30 pace until 15km then see if have energy, whack the last 6km. For me I think doable but depends on condition of calf

Ender

Actually in the end, I signed up for the Rui Yong's academy but I think cause sick then went back to training, caused me to have this calf injury. Then now close to race also can't relax for now. Flu indeed is a killer.
Did you report your flu to SRY academy? They may adjust your training load accordingly.
If you don't feel you are in good form on race day, then just zone 2 to completion for the race.

sph777

Rui Yong's strat for me is 4:30 pace until 15km then see if have energy, whack the last 6km. For me I think doable but depends on condition of calf
I think a month ago I did 4:30 for 15km before falling sick then getting the injury. Have to really grind it out

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.