40km per week (3 10km+2 5km)
Been doing it for a month and not improving at all. 10km 55mins
Do you think if I continue to do it, I will improve? Not going for any event just running for leisure
Heard this is called maintenance run and I will not improve without changing program?
Bro..... 1 month. I ever had 6 months (same, i do things like 3, 5 and 10k only) also hentak kaki there, of coz not aided by the somewhat slightly inaccuracies of GPS, although since it is the same route so more or less it should be there.
But yes, if you hentak kaki, then in many cases you are due to change a bit in training program, nutrition or recovery.
Training routine is just 1 of the pieces of the jigsaw puzzle. You might be training ok or increasing stimulus, you might improve a wee bit....but then if you are under-recovering then you are not going to leap forward further. Also even for training piece of the puzzle, you might not be in the correct training zone.
So....in a sense, it pays if you also look after your nutrition and recovery, might be able to get more mileage and returns from there as well.
Talking about training zones, that is also one of the reasons why i got the lactate meter, to take out more guesswork and possible inaccuracies/errors however slight they might be.
Also easier/faster to do when you are progressing and there will be changes obviously. (dont have to always do, once every month 1 or 2 sessions go confirm can liao).
Only drawback is need to poke with lance so normal people dont like, but those who have been doing OGTT or fasting blood glucose readings regularly no issue lah, fast and easy job.
But anyway, since you leisure runner, why the fixation on running time ah?

You do 55 mins now and you do 48 mins later, seriously no big difference in real world. Even if you do running groups, you join the correct pace group lor. It's only for TTs or the more serious races then it would matter. (serious races, coz i think most races out there the distance also salah....much worse than you using your GPS watch in open cases).