jogging and motivation thread

sph777

What is soh's academy? Need to pay $$$?
https://www.runsohfast.com/

I joined early so I pay 400 per month but daily workouts planned for me. Now gym + runs sometimes swim also planned. not sure if now more ex for others. I may switch to yearly which is 4k for the year rather than per month. I just lazy to plan my own workouts. I mean definitely runna is cheaper. Just that coaches will video call and check in also.

LWZ

images

Giro-Aerohead-2-prototype-aero-TT-helmet-raced-by-Team-Visma-at-Tirreno-Adriatico_racing.jpg

Upper arms, front of torso, calves also can put. Lagi parking ridiculous

20230903-RTTC-National-10-Mens-Richard-Bussell-2.jpg
databank_rebeltroopers_01_169_3c33dfa2.jpeg

puffypaddington

https://www.runsohfast.com/

I joined early so I pay 400 per month but daily workouts planned for me. Now gym + runs sometimes swim also planned. not sure if now more ex for others. I may switch to yearly which is 4k for the year rather than per month. I just lazy to plan my own workouts. I mean definitely runna is cheaper. Just that coaches will video call and check in also.
Oh this is by Soh Rui Yong? Wah so expensive ... For me I paid $50 for Steve Magness book and training manual, fed my activity history and that into chatgpt, I felt that was good enough. My workouts pretty much stay the same every week so I can note any improvements.

I guess the only value this has is the accountability to the coach, but still wow is very expensive....

rarenick

Just bumped into joyrider uncle (better dun mention name) who is quite close to 80 yrs old soon. Chatted with him. He's still very active and fit.

mcylo

don't believe its world's lighest shoe
1) dowell多威 跑吧pro: slightly over 100g
2) qiaodan乔丹 轻鸿: slightly less than 100g
3) anta 安踏 C202X proto: slightly less than 100g
4) 361 栗蜂miro 99: slightly less than 100g
Wat u add poison……waiting for 11.11 sales

sph777

Oh this is by Soh Rui Yong? Wah so expensive ... For me I paid $50 for Steve Magness book and training manual, fed my activity history and that into chatgpt, I felt that was good enough. My workouts pretty much stay the same every week so I can note any improvements.

I guess the only value this has is the accountability to the coach, but still wow is very expensive....
yeah ex but at least got results. I take as 10 dollar per day more justifiable than per month. I am too lazy to plan my own workouts.

Ender

yeah ex but at least got results. I take as 10 dollar per day more justifiable than per month. I am too lazy to plan my own workouts.
Ya, you weight vs pace is extraordinary. But I think gifted also.
I also lack the know how to planned workout, coz training for marathon cannot rely on the internet wisdom to listen to your body and just do 80/20 or norwegian threshold training. Coz there's the element of cumulative fatigue that is missing from internet wisdoms (80/20, MAF, Pyramidal) but exist in almost all training plans and each week you suppose to peak your fatigue and then taper for super compensation. And each training block you are to accumulate fatigue and peak and then taper to race day. This is the part I don't know how to plan.

puffypaddington

Ya, you weight vs pace is extraordinary. But I think gifted also.
I also lack the know how to planned workout, coz training for marathon cannot rely on the internet wisdom to listen to your body and just do 80/20 or norwegian threshold training. Coz there's the element of cumulative fatigue that is missing from internet wisdoms (80/20, MAF, Pyramidal) but exist in almost all training plans and each week you suppose to peak your fatigue and then taper for super compensation. And each training block you are to accumulate fatigue and peak and then taper to race day. This is the part I don't know how to plan.
This is where I don't think coaches will have much help because after all only you yourself will know your body the best. Most coaches plans are from Hanson's/pfitz/Daniels or some combination.

And copying internet blindly also not right ba. Some people can do 160km weeks some can't, some people do 80/20 some (like myself) need 60/40. I think the joy in running is not just improving but also in finding out what works for you.

Usually people get injured is gey kiang run too much too soon.

WussRedXLi

Just bumped into joyrider uncle (better dun mention name) who is quite close to 80 yrs old soon. Chatted with him. He's still very active and fit.

I saw one fella before while joyriding with my kid, is ang moh. I think is dang old. Hair all white and skin is wrinkled. I think possibly > 80.
@ 1 marina boulevard.

But got one van behind him honked, coz he and my kid + me on the extreme end just outside 1 marina blvd that junction, in front is Lau Pa Sat 3 lanes able to turn right (ie extreme right lane at 1 marina blvd able to reach the leftmost right turning lane), the van honked him for quite a while coz he moved off slow + needing to clip in.

Of coz my kid and I just zoomed off fast, flat pedal mah. We have great experience at that junction also (many many times liao) and as usual amber light and i checked clear at the RHS from Raffles place direction, zoomed off once no traffic check clear and i gave instructions to my kid over the radio + also can hear over the clear air.
(usually i more scared of grabfood ebikes than cars, my parents also nearly kena once before as pedestrians)

The van driver left a bad impression on my kid. He said why need to be so impatient esp towards an old fella and on a Sunday morning with light traffic (as usual for that CBD area).

Happened last year.

Bonus

Ender

This is where I don't think coaches will have much help because after all only you yourself will know your body the best. Most coaches plans are from Hanson's/pfitz/Daniels or some combination.

And copying internet blindly also not right ba. Some people can do 160km weeks some can't, some people do 80/20 some (like myself) need 40/60. I think the joy in running is not just improving but also in finding out what works for you.

Usually people get injured is gey kiang run too much too soon.
Injury risk is real when training for marathon, because of this cumulative fatigue. And it is there by design. One suppose to run thru with fatigue legs. But internet wisdom will say listen to your body and not run. A good coach will push that fatigue cumulation, while at the same time watch out for FORM to prescribe recovery, using STRAVA lingo here. that's where training platform like TrainingPeaks is useful. Coach can monitor the runner's CTL, ATL, TSS. I am using AI to do this.

I did PFitzinger twice, and find that the cumulative fatigue is very aggressive even for beginners plan. 55km to 80km. Also don't how to monitor my TSS, CTL then, so is anyhow hantam the plan. Not for 4 hour marathoner.

Talking about training for marathon with a stretch goal here. If just wanna run and test your time, no need for all these cumulative fatigue. Just do 80/20 an listen to your body, the internet wisdom works well.

xllms

I saw one fella before while joyriding with my kid, is ang moh. I think is dang old. Hair all white and skin is wrinkled. I think possibly > 80.
@ 1 marina boulevard.

But got one van behind him honked, coz he and my kid + me on the extreme end just outside 1 marina blvd that junction, in front is Lau Pa Sat 3 lanes able to turn right (ie extreme right lane at 1 marina blvd able to reach the leftmost right turning lane), the van honked him for quite a while coz he moved off slow + needing to clip in.

Of coz my kid and I just zoomed off fast, flat pedal mah. We have great experience at that junction also (many many times liao) and as usual amber light and i checked clear at the RHS from Raffles place direction, zoomed off once no traffic check clear and i gave instructions to my kid over the radio + also can hear over the clear air.
(usually i more scared of grabfood ebikes than cars, my parents also nearly kena once before as pedestrians)

The van driver left a bad impression on my kid. He said why need to be so impatient esp towards an old fella and on a Sunday morning with light traffic (as usual for that CBD area).

Happened last year.

Bonus

this is why i appreciate how Shanghai is managing the traffic and outlawed vehicles using the honk. Trained everyone to be patient.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.