jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

Anybody join Rapha for their cycling rides ? I think membership is $90 a year

Nope.....but if you are a coffee lover (FOC member's priced coffee) and love to (Biz/social) network at the clubhouse, it's sorta worth it i guess.

Even for me it's difficult to slot in 2hrs in the morning, even though Rapha tg pagar and my office is very near to me (office 1.1km away, part of my running routine). That's why need to train weeknights.

Anyway for running clubs and parkruns, vast vast majority is foc basically.

WussRedXLi

25 x 45 seconds up hill. Rest seems to be same duration (1:1)
It's 25, not 20

Seems like effort is slightly higher than VO2max even, maciam peak of strides level. (just not maximal sprint effort)

WussRedXLi

25 x 45 seconds up hill. Rest seems to be same duration (1:1)
It's 25, not 20

Seems like effort is slightly higher than VO2max even, maciam peak of strides level. (just not maximal sprint effort)

I did similar last night for cycling (not hills lah, but effort / resistance level same coz can vary that in cycling through gears). 40 seconds VO2max level by RPE (still no power meter tho).

First 2 sets of 12 ok.....tough as usual.

By 3rd set after the rest, like during the 3rd or 4th rep suddenly felt a surge of hot energy from within. And a slight feeliing of malaise. Malaise as in like you feel pre-fever pre sickness kinda wierd feeling.

Decided to call it quits.....coz starting to drizzle a bit already at around 10+ from the prior evening shower @ South side.

Returned back and bathed and makan a bit, post a bit in this thread watched some YT and kun.
But still felt a bit feverish could not sleep and felt shivering when the Sumatra squall cold and strong winds came at just before 1AM, was contemplating to take panadol but decided not to. I tot this time jialat liao, tio some sickness. :oops: :s16:

Around 4AM returned back to normal when i went to toilet. This morning woke up 8am totally ok and now also ok. Phew.
Not sure if it's dehydration or overtraining / under-recovery.

TBH past few nights even up to 1 week prior, a bit difficult to get to sleep. Usually is easy one, i feel sleepy in front of computer even and just get to sleep. Auto by a certain timing one.

Feeling feverish during or after a VO2 max session is not normal and could indicate illness or overtraining. It's important to prioritize your health and potentially reduce the intensity of your workouts or even take a break. Consulting with a healthcare professional or a certified coach can help determine the cause and appropriate course of action.

Why you might feel feverish:
  • Illness:
    A fever is a common symptom of various illnesses. If you're experiencing other symptoms like a cough, sore throat, or fatigue, it's likely you're sick. Exercising with a fever can be dangerous, potentially worsening your condition and increasing the risk of complications.

• Overtraining:
    Intense workouts like VO2 max sessions can put a strain on your body. If you're training too frequently or intensely without adequate recovery, it can lead to overtraining, which can manifest as fatigue, illness, and even a feeling of feverishness, according to a fitness blog.

• Dehydration:
    Intense exercise can lead to dehydration, which can cause your body temperature to rise. If you're not adequately hydrated during your workouts, it can contribute to feeling feverish.

WussRedXLi

PSA :

Runners/walkers at Bay East Garden you really really need to keep to the running path. Even if 0.5m past the running path into the cycling/cart path also ok....there is enough space for every user. Actually those rent a bike also (dont think there are any here), block the whole path and pedal slowly.
I dont know, but some runners see the GBTB/Bay Gardens security cart with flashing red/blue, they also just continue right into its path, then of coz the security cart buggy need to stop. Sometimes the guards would advise them to move to the running path, but most times they also give up. And sometimes also against the direction of flow (ie towards Marina Barrage bridge but they run on the extreme edge right beside the reservoir).

Last night saw a PMD e bike, easy hitting 70-80. Very bright lights so from peripheral vision i could sense already on my right and i moved more to the left, overtook me on my right (i was cycling) like as if i was standing still, both of us going towards MB bridge.

Saw a group of like 10 and another smaller group of 5, as usual wearing dark/black colours, I think the ebike gan cheong and locked up his rears while braking hard, tyre smoking and screeching. But the group still like nothing happened......continued on. *shrugs*

Not my first time seeing e-bikes there, quite a few times already as they come out only after 10pm or so or early mornings, but this was the first time in which 1 overtook me as if it was a speeding vehicle overtaking me on the road. Got woosh sound.

I tell you, if bang, sure serious injury or death.

sph777

PSA :

Runners/walkers at Bay East Garden you really really need to keep to the running path. Even if 0.5m past the running path into the cycling/cart path also ok....there is enough space for every user. Actually those rent a bike also (dont think there are any here), block the whole path and pedal slowly.
I dont know, but some runners see the GBTB/Bay Gardens security cart with flashing red/blue, they also just continue right into its path, then of coz the security cart buggy need to stop. Sometimes the guards would advise them to move to the running path, but most times they also give up. And sometimes also against the direction of flow (ie towards Marina Barrage bridge but they run on the extreme edge right beside the reservoir).

Last night saw a PMD e bike, easy hitting 70-80. Very bright lights so from peripheral vision i could sense already on my right and i moved more to the left, overtook me on my right like as if i was standing still, both of us going towards MB bridge.

Saw a group of like 10 and another smaller group of 5, as usual wearing dark/black colours, I think the ebike gan cheong and locked up his rears while braking hard, tyre smoking and screeching. But the group still like nothing happened......continued on. *shrugs*

Not my first time seeing e-bikes there, quite a few times already as they come out only after 10pm or so or early mornings, but this was the first time in which 1 overtook me as if it was a speeding vehicle overtaking me on the road. Got woosh sound.

I tell you, if bang, sure serious injury or death.
Seen a few times in the early mornings but either run or cycle there also I keep to the respective paths. The police robot can hear before see it.

xllms

I have like 16 shoes to rotate atm. :s16:
I have anyhow chucked like around 10 pairs in my water/electrical riser......those which i am not using that much coz not running that much (office-home is using more normal stuff like Puma DN2). Waiting for them to crocodile mouth open nia.
just give or dump away some you will not be using 😂

WussRedXLi

Seen a few times in the early mornings but either run or cycle there also I keep to the respective paths. The police robot can hear before see it.

Oh not the security robot that you can see over there or at One Fullerton. Is the much bigger security buggy cart with red/blue flashing lights above with security park personnel in it.

Yes, early mornings also got PMDs, either there or even GBTB or MBS area.
These illegal ebikes/e-scooters are different from the delivery ebikes, those travel much slower and more likely can be found at the end of the day before midnight as they go home and get to Geylang PCN, Mountbatten or get to Sports Hub/kallang side and then to Bishan Park/AMK area. I sometimes use this Potong Pasir, BishanPark, AMK to get to Upper Thomson / Sembawang northern side. Tend to dislike via Butkit Timah, Woodlands rd area.

WussRedXLi

nao too many shoes, maybe next time can consider trying
but dynafish outsole too minimum not my liking esp w my supination issue, confirm not suitable for me

BTW the Jingtan Turbo 3.0 normal price is 599 right? Can get to how much below that?

Still very light, but i think i much more suitable for my use.

I like the Dowin PB Pro, really can look pro in that 🤣 ......but not many races, unless if i go do parkrun at BEG (which actually i have the Plaid 1.0, Hoka Rocket X 2, even Saucony EP3/ES3, even DN2, NB SCE2 can do).

xllms

BTW the Jingtan Turbo 3.0 normal price is 599 right? Can get to how much below that?

I like the Dowin PB Pro, really can look pro in that 🤣 ......but not many races, unless if i go do parkrun at BEG (which actually i have the Plaid 1.0, Hoka Rocket X 2, even Saucony EP3/ES3, even DN2, NB SCE2 can do).
current price in BMAI official TB store is going at RMB581

Do-win 跑吧pro is going at RMB699 in official Do-Win TB store.

you buy first, with the shoes in hand, you will want to join races for whatever reasons you deem happy :ROFLMAO:

messidona

who got join those running clubs?

i find those running clubs got many siao on triathletes and they really chiong one. they sign up for ironman 70.3 i run for fun one so i feel very out of place.

kkkkdllmkkkk

Actually u can go pangu running buy leh. I think the price difference not much as compared to Taobao iirc

winningeleven

i find those running clubs got many siao on triathletes and they really chiong one. they sign up for ironman 70.3 i run for fun one so i feel very out of place.
I saw running dept got running group for pace like 6:30mins /km to 7:00 mins/km. Not so sure about it as I also didn't join any running club too.

WussRedXLi

Yeah.....generally lets take for eg 5k (a pretty ok distance for an exerciser) and you run that for 6 days which is above avg for an exerciser or hobbyist runner. 30 mins for 5k 6:00 pace is pretty decent, that means 3 hours per week liao.

For swimming, on avg you also do around 3 hours per week, is technique centric one. Gets you to an avg recreational pace.

Then for biking, if you really enjoy this part, you can do minimum 10 hrs if you have the time and siao on.
Possibly 12-15hrs, some kee siao fellas can do 20hrs. Of coz correspondingly your recovery also gotta be tip top to withstand this kinda load. And it has the least technique needed one, just need to have power, fitness and pedal. Also, this part you really have lots to play, strength training benefits heckloads for cycling coz it's really heavily based on force/power exerted. So that is another 1 hr at the very least needed per week.
Also, there are quite a fair bit of technical stuff to play and change around for biking. So that is another poison hole that the triathlete can get poisoned with.

3hrs swim + 3hrs run + lets take 10 hours ba.
That is 16 hours already. If add strength then that is 17hrs.
If we are talking about the time -crunched triathlete, we can divide by half and assuming higher quality training (no waste time one)....that is still a good 8-9 hours per week.

So, for sure you'd need a pretty solid level of love for the triathlon hobby coz of the time invested vs the average hobbyist runner.

messidona

Yeah.....generally lets take for eg 5k (a pretty ok distance for an exerciser) and you run that for 6 days which is above avg for an exerciser or hobbyist runner. 30 mins for 5k 6:00 pace is pretty decent, that means 3 hours per week liao.

For swimming, on avg you also do around 3 hours per week, is technique centric one. Gets you to an avg recreational pace.

Then for biking, if you really enjoy this part, you can do minimum 10 hrs if you have the time and siao on.
Possibly 12-15hrs, some kee siao fellas can do 20hrs. Of coz correspondingly your recovery also gotta be tip top to withstand this kinda load. And it has the least technique needed one, just need to have power, fitness and pedal. Also, this part you really have lots to play, strength training benefits heckloads for cycling coz it's really heavily based on force/power exerted. So that is another 1 hr at the very least needed per week.
Also, there are quite a fair bit of technical stuff to play and change around for biking. So that is another poison hole that the triathlete can get poisoned with.

3hrs swim + 3hrs run + lets take 10 hours ba.
That is 16 hours already. If add strength then that is 17hrs.
If we are talking about the time -crunched triathlete, we can divide by half and assuming higher quality training (no waste time one)....that is still a good 8-9 hours per week.

For sure you'd need a pretty solid level of love for the triathlon hobby coz of the time invested vs the average hobbyist runner.
my running is usually on treadmill. 5km around 30-35 mins. if run outside confirm longer. i join running club before and always finish last. the rest all damn siao on

swimming usually complete 2+km or 40 laps in 1 hour. i find that i am the only serious swimmer in safra pool .can easily pwn all the unkers but once i join swimming club is kena pwned by everyone.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.