jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

which is why so tempting to cycle in China.

if your house have space to build/DIY your bike + storage, you can buy from TB and do it yourself, learn via online learning videos

Actually no need to build. TB sellers build for you as package, some ship with the seat post out, pedal out, and the handlebar / cockpit out. Then you assemble. The cockpit somewhat lehceh for beginner but not impossible to do. Pedal and seatpost is easy for those who are somewhat handy.

But some would ship with the cockpit already assembled, the box would be a bit bigger of coz but just a bit.

Some sellers would even ship everything assembled, even pedals. I believe that Mr Liao bike selling the Quick Pro is able to do that, i have seen 1 other seller doing that as well for his CAMP bikes etc. haha.......

The important thing is the pedals before assembling need to put grease before screwing it in, if not next time impossible to take out one (metal to metal like stuck together liao). Then the seatpost need to torque correctly, but seriously my Sava R7 it was slipping a bit even with correct torque setting on my torque wrench and i also did the hard whacking downwards and left right on the saddle before retorquing again. Still slipped.
End up i just torque like 2X the recommended torque, no slipping.
Got risk of cracking the CF, but so far even over speed strips and potholes no crack leh.

Then ship via Shunfeng to Cainiao's sea ship warehouse in Dongguan. Shd be able to reach SG safely with the protection they claim is more than sufficient, and then the last mile delivery hopefully is ok. Not say super big box also lah.

xllms

Actually no need to build. TB sellers build for you as package, some ship with the seat post out, pedal out, and the handlebar / cockpit out. Then you assemble. The cockpit somewhat lehceh for beginner but not impossible to do. Pedal and seatpost is easy for those who are somewhat handy.

But some would ship with the cockpit already assembled, the box would be a bit bigger of coz but just a bit.

Some sellers would even ship everything assembled, even pedals. I believe that Mr Liao bike selling the Quick Pro is able to do that, i have seen 1 other seller doing that as well for his CAMP bikes etc. haha.......

The important thing is the pedals before assembling need to put grease before screwing it in, if not next time impossible to take out one (metal to metal like stuck together liao). Then the seatpost need to torque correctly, but seriously my Sava R7 it was slipping a bit even with correct torque setting on my torque wrench and i also did the hard whacking downwards and left right on the saddle before retorquing again. Still slipped.
End up i just torque like 2X the recommended torque, no slipping.
Got risk of cracking the CF, but so far even over speed strips and potholes no crack leh.
if do that, will not be optimized to one's bod. you need to cut fork & seat post to one's measurement. fully assembled and ship internationally also have alignment issues.

bbbbbw

So that time I jointed the specialized ride. 530am gather at the Spottiswoode shop. Cycled to Nicoll highway then to West Coast highway and I lost them at Tanjong Pagar.

Overtaken by another group and followed them to Rapha Tanjong Pagar but realised it’s the wrong group lol.

then went back to Cecil street to reunite. First time taking part in such ride

WussRedXLi

if do that, will not be optimized to one's bod. you need to cut fork & seat post to one's measurement. fully assembled and ship internationally also have alignment issues.

If got some small issues just get it over to the LBS to check and fix i guess, pretty easy and shd not be more than $100..

Actually the front stack height no real need to really cut, the latest research actually now going back to slightly taller stacks and not just slamming things for no reason, getting too low does not automatically mean super aero /fast. I have issues with my lower-mid back getting very straight too, so point getting too low. This is esp with my hips rather not so flexible, so power generation when the hip angle is low might not be so good.

One extreme eg that i saw was actually with Kate Waugh @ Singapore T100, when i saw her position in real life just at the Sheares bridge outside MBS i was like WTF :oops: If i remember correctly she was second fastest bike leg.

Kate Waugh @ Singapore T100...when i saw her position i tot she doing praying mantis :s14:
These fellas done all the scientific testing already and dialed in, final positions optimal for them in terms of achievable speeds over specific X distance.
images

Seat post no need cut, just slide to proper height to your inseam can liao, and then fine tune (outside the scope of this post here).
That time i shared here, after i changed to 165mm crank length, actually the very slight discomfort for my (usually) right front patellar no more already. Added bonus.

More or less no need to do bike fit for me actually, for my current "strength" and the distances / speeds / intensities that i do.
So far the TTs and faster riding/VO2max intervals all ok, more or less i think the fit of my bike after all the adjustments is ok.

Of coz if i go crazy go do some ultra racing or even the longer RTI 160km ride, i might squeeze out some injury issues, but of coz wont be doing that.....i am just not a long distance fella.

edit - but there is another point to consider, it might also be due to the "relatively extreme" strengthening to core/upper body/lower body that i do that is preventing me from having injuries, coz now i abit ocd in getting and looking strong 🤣 🤣 ......additionally as far as cyclists is concerned, i am pretty short in distance.
So it is like a fast 5k in running vs a fast 2:30 FM (3:30 pace)......the former wont expose as many weaknesses in biomechanics esp if sufficiently strong/tendons stiff etc.

WussRedXLi

Of coz, if got money to burn, buy such things that all gotta customise first and 1 time and no going back, then i have nothing to say. 😓
Also, no real chance to sell second hand unless at super lowball basement prices, for sure wont even remotely fit the next buyer one.

d3oqyYEJFprGS3EeQpf5WS.jpg

bbbbbw

Of coz, if got money to burn, buy such things that all gotta customise first and 1 time and no going back, then i have nothing to say. 😓
Also, no real chance to sell second hand unless at super lowball basement prices, for sure wont even remotely fit the next buyer one.

d3oqyYEJFprGS3EeQpf5WS.jpg

wah this one of my dream bike. Love the Y shape cockpit lol

WussRedXLi

Dont see it on their official store.

Seems like it's the fan's custom order from KONTAX. But then the price of 4999 really low, not sure what is the catch. (maybe it's a lie by the fan, how can a T1000 reinforced by T1100 frame be only 4999 custom order, that one is raw CF ie no paint)

Oh.....is it this one? Maybe it is true.

If get the cockpit, some china wheels or even Farsports C6 60mm (rmb 5400), shd come in at around S$3k with Local Bike Shop labour thrown in, with a 105 R7170 (已经够用了). Or top up $500 or so for Ultegra R8170 if got budget, but the differences not really significant.

https://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?id=966701314171&mi_id=1gFZ1zGeaACRCVqMgH_RXLAIQJBvRXsfl6fyVbOJxNq2y0PikxafuU-18CPJH7pX4g55aCdvnF1vZurTbBNpcQ&spm=a21xtw.29178619.0.0&sku_properties=34219:20213;1627207:40249041798

https://kontax.tmall.com/?ali_refid=a3_430620_1006:1906264527:H:gq6+q/TOjLXO99QI38WwFzNhqHNRmDZn:31a1ba0525252dc543a9aa8bbed8a238&ali_trackid=282_31a1ba0525252dc543a9aa8bbed8a238&spm=a21n57.1.1.1&pisk=g6-tL-GINXcGC-PaBI03nfNSkrHHh2vZsCJ7msfglBdph6qmQG0VDICpg1bGf1qADKd2iIpqQt1XGICDS2mkQdSVcbjxq0vaxbRzsCQ_ckMfetVsKNN9CGy1cbcoDy2C7fjXiTOhn6aCU661ht6jpD6Nei6fCiMdOtBzl5OfcvHdHtNfhO_fRp6cei1XGiMpd6WfcOOfcvpCTtGXPjCQCsqvWYznftDJDoZXvOQIrd1B9BMcCNIJB6hSGHEPW_919ohl-oAVM6-St2petFOGLIn-9M9WJG69G0alOepBbaj-PPdWKC-Rf3hTj9bA6et1J-ZXdM5GREdt6P56SBQPdwwx49AlOd-6JxPBCQfOf9_nVYpClexNzhcQXgTyIGYXODE9NgWHq3Brb7jC_PMKprzV59yzmPHRUB0699CoBmU4uwkFp_DKprzV59WdZAHYur7EL&mm_sceneid=1_0_6888479214_0

xllms

If got some small issues just get it over to the LBS to check and fix i guess, pretty easy and shd not be more than $100..

Actually the front stack height no real need to really cut, the latest research actually now going back to slightly taller stacks and not just slamming things for no reason, getting too low does not automatically mean super aero /fast. I have issues with my lower-mid back getting very straight too, so point getting too low. This is esp with my hips rather not so flexible, so power generation when the hip angle is low might not be so good.

One extreme eg that i saw was actually with Kate Waugh @ Singapore T100, when i saw her position in real life just at the Sheares bridge outside MBS i was like WTF :oops: If i remember correctly she was second fastest bike leg.

Kate Waugh @ Singapore T100...when i saw her position i tot she doing praying mantis :s14:
These fellas done all the scientific testing already and dialed in, final positions optimal for them in terms of achievable speeds over specific X distance.
images

Seat post no need cut, just slide to proper height to your inseam can liao, and then fine tune (outside the scope of this post here).
That time i shared here, after i changed to 165mm crank length, actually the very slight discomfort for my (usually) right front patellar no more already. Added bonus.

More or less no need to do bike fit for me actually, for my current "strength" and the distances / speeds / intensities that i do.
So far the TTs and faster riding/VO2max intervals all ok, more or less i think the fit of my bike after all the adjustments is ok.

Of coz if i go crazy go do some ultra racing or even the longer RTI 160km ride, i might squeeze out some injury issues, but of coz wont be doing that.....i am just not a long distance fella.

edit - but there is another point to consider, it might also be due to the "relatively extreme" strengthening to core/upper body/lower body that i do that is preventing me from having injuries, coz now i abit ocd in getting and looking strong 🤣 🤣 ......additionally as far as cyclists is concerned, i am pretty short in distance.
So it is like a fast 5k in running vs a fast 2:30 FM (3:30 pace)......the former wont expose as many weaknesses in biomechanics esp if sufficiently strong/tendons stiff etc.
seat post, not sure no cutting done will it be appropriate esp for those not so tall
as for fork, agree to start with higher without cut will be more comfortable. If i get a bike, i will also go for higher handbar height. main thing is one should curve one's back like a prawn.
crank length really trial an error, mybfd. i will start with 170.

WussRedXLi

seat post, not sure no cutting done will it be appropriate esp for those not so tall
as for fork, agree to start with higher without cut will be more comfortable. If i get a bike, i will also go for higher handbar height. main thing is one should curve one's back like a prawn.
crank length really trial an error, mybfd. i will start with 170.

I bo bian, mid 50s, the mid spine curved prawn pattern more and more liao, i cant help it one. That is also one reason why i am doing posterior training pull ups, coz my anterior muscles ie pectorals push exercises (dips / push up) quite power already. Plus deadhangs for spine decompression and some upper back engagement (scapula). If dont train posterior chain to balance front and back, sure a lot of imbalances and exacerbating posture issues......even if no pain.

It's maciam like you always train quads only......you see what happens to your running if no corresponding hamstrings or even glute training. eg the quads : hamstring strength ratio.

I got 2 aero position forms, one is the typical both hands on hoods and elbows bent 90 deg.

The other one is a pseudo TT, right forearm bone resting on the right handlebar part while left arm gripping the left handlebar part. I can get decently low shd i tuck my head down + out like a turtle.
Sometimes if wanna play i put my water bottle down my front jersey.
Is illegal in UCI and T100 though...... but seriously T100 SG they dont really care and difficult to catch also coz in the dark....quite a few jokers drafting a bit also . But in overseas ironman they do catch drafting.

In order to maintain these 2 positions for like 45 mins to 1hr, deltoids / front deltoids, triceps, mid and esp upper trapezius and core strength very impt.
Anyway, 4 interval laps of WCH is only like 8 mins * 4 for 5km x 4.
T100 standard duathlon of coz cannot maintain these positions all the time, but still is a 32k bike leg.

xllms

Dont see it on their official store.

Seems like it's the fan's custom order from KONTAX. But then the price of 4999 really low, not sure what is the catch. (maybe it's a lie by the fan, how can a T1000 reinforced by T1100 frame be only 4999 custom order, that one is raw CF ie no paint)

Oh.....is it this one? Maybe it is true.

If get the cockpit, some china wheels or even Farsports C6 60mm (rmb 5400), shd come in at around S$3k with Local Bike Shop labour thrown in, with a 105 R7170 (已经够用了). Or top up $500 or so for Ultegra R8170 if got budget, but the differences not really significant.

https://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?id=966701314171&mi_id=1gFZ1zGeaACRCVqMgH_RXLAIQJBvRXsfl6fyVbOJxNq2y0PikxafuU-18CPJH7pX4g55aCdvnF1vZurTbBNpcQ&spm=a21xtw.29178619.0.0&sku_properties=34219:20213;1627207:40249041798

https://kontax.tmall.com/?ali_refid=a3_430620_1006:1906264527:H:gq6+q/TOjLXO99QI38WwFzNhqHNRmDZn:31a1ba0525252dc543a9aa8bbed8a238&ali_trackid=282_31a1ba0525252dc543a9aa8bbed8a238&spm=a21n57.1.1.1&pisk=g6-tL-GINXcGC-PaBI03nfNSkrHHh2vZsCJ7msfglBdph6qmQG0VDICpg1bGf1qADKd2iIpqQt1XGICDS2mkQdSVcbjxq0vaxbRzsCQ_ckMfetVsKNN9CGy1cbcoDy2C7fjXiTOhn6aCU661ht6jpD6Nei6fCiMdOtBzl5OfcvHdHtNfhO_fRp6cei1XGiMpd6WfcOOfcvpCTtGXPjCQCsqvWYznftDJDoZXvOQIrd1B9BMcCNIJB6hSGHEPW_919ohl-oAVM6-St2petFOGLIn-9M9WJG69G0alOepBbaj-PPdWKC-Rf3hTj9bA6et1J-ZXdM5GREdt6P56SBQPdwwx49AlOd-6JxPBCQfOf9_nVYpClexNzhcQXgTyIGYXODE9NgWHq3Brb7jC_PMKprzV59yzmPHRUB0699CoBmU4uwkFp_DKprzV59WdZAHYur7EL&mm_sceneid=1_0_6888479214_0
you are correct, but based on stock only one size (45) left. original price is 5999. An equivalent will probably be TFSA JH-35 at around 6800. But I think T1000 & stiffer body may be too harsh for beginners and most amateur riders. Dunno, no experience lol

DigDub

So that time I jointed the specialized ride. 530am gather at the Spottiswoode shop. Cycled to Nicoll highway then to West Coast highway and I lost them at Tanjong Pagar.

Overtaken by another group and followed them to Rapha Tanjong Pagar but realised it’s the wrong group lol.

then went back to Cecil street to reunite. First time taking part in such ride
Means the pack leader not good, didn't take care of his/her pack.

WussRedXLi

you are correct, but based on stock only one size (45) left. original price is 5999. An equivalent will probably be TFSA JH-35 at around 6800. But I think T1000 & stiffer body may be too harsh for beginners and most amateur riders. Dunno, no experience lol

Chey...that means 4999 is special price, that's the catch. Supposed to be 5999, which is still very decent nevertheless.

Interesting that they have a size 42. My kid might want to change to road bike.

xllms

Chey...that means 4999 is special price, that's the catch. Supposed to be 5999, which is still very decent nevertheless.

Interesting that they have a size 42. My kid might want to change to road bike.
you can check with bike station if they are bringing this into the SG market 😉

WussRedXLi

Heat training again

I think 3-4 weeks prior to race, worth a try if you are willing. 10 days of heat training is sufficient to give good adaptations.
Can wear a windbreaker or something.

Core temps need to hit 38.5 deg C iirc.

Bonus

bo_tak_chek_bbfa

Wah ... it's been so long since I came to this thread. I don't run as seriously now, only 2 easy runs and 1 sprint session. As I get older I prefer easy runs under 45 mins and workouts that are short but elicit the maximal effort like 10s sprints. Don't really like to do intervals now haha.

You guys still clocking mileage and entering races?

WussRedXLi

Wah ... it's been so long since I came to this thread. I don't run as seriously now, only 2 easy runs and 1 sprint session. As I get older I prefer easy runs under 45 mins and workouts that are short but elicit the maximal effort like 10s sprints. Don't really like to do intervals now haha.

You guys still clocking mileage and entering races?

Focussing more towards cycling of around 15 hrs weekly now, coz more hobbyist in nature (more faffing around with the stuff, more interesting) plus 6 days of resistance training....can fill in the free time more instead of just wasting life in front of youtube my only social media or spending money on shopping etc.

But still running once a week shorter ~ 4 to 5k threshold/VO2max intervals as cross training to help and some easy 4k daily running as commute bt home and office coz faster this way and saves $$, regardless of any other health or fitness benefits. only negative is during warmer days need to go toilet wash armpits after reaching destination and cool down with fan.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.