jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

How to run like them ?

Seriously, i have absolutely no idea, that top fella is like over 40. I came across 1 YT fella (few subscribers) age 61 doing 17.38 for 5k wtf.
I am still stuck in the anyhow hoot unstructured sessions totally based on volume lifestyle. 😅 When occasionally feel a bit of niggle /pain then dial back.
Also look at the smartwatch for reference, the training load. Just grind and do majority relac type but i do my hard sessions solid solid coz i very much enjoy the speed.

So far so good results satisfactory....... i mean as far as expectations managed can la. :grin:

ok gotta go basket 6am liao

xllms

Since you are near 50s, better not risk and be very careful of where you step. if not been supplementing with Mg/D3.
Think got some fellas here (bro llcch?) who tripped before and took a while to recover. If really suay, could end up with hairline fractures etc.

Actually my family / parents quite against me to go whack cycling........only could "pacify" them to let me do it by adding so many lights (wayang a bit, of coz i do use them lah). So, that's one part of the story. Esp for my mum, late 70s liao and she got mild depression, so i even had to whatsapp her after i reach home from my daily rides.

Anyway, my kid buanged just last night also while u-turning, i forgot to tell him to stay off the metal drain covers at the sides along Garden By The Bay since it rained yesterday. 😅 (in fact, any metal railing covers, and also the painted markings on the roads)
indeed, am rather cautious of getting injured especially my fragile right ankle. Also don't want new injuries since recovery at this age is alot more challenging.
re. family members, we also have to take into consideration how they feel. Least i can do is to minimize or avoid injuries, and not bring inconveniences and worries to them.
is your kid ok after the buang?

xllms

Seriously, i have absolutely no idea, that top fella is like over 40. I came across 1 YT fella (few subscribers) age 61 doing 17.38 for 5k wtf.
I am still stuck in the anyhow hoot unstructured sessions totally based on volume lifestyle. 😅 When occasionally feel a bit of niggle /pain then dial back.
Also look at the smartwatch for reference, the training load. Just grind and do majority relac type but i do my hard sessions solid solid coz i very much enjoy the speed.

So far so good results satisfactory....... i mean as far as expectations managed can la. :grin:

ok gotta go basket 6am liao
over here where i often run, there is this retired ex-teacher in his 60s, every time i see him cruise at around under 5min/km pace. Only on his recovery runs, when i chance upon him, he will pace me and chitchat with me while i am trying not to pant 😂

Kuudere

Saw Yi Jun Tey @ T100 yest also....... think i am bitten liao. Alas i cant swim for nuts. :ROFLMAO:
Yi Jun Tey is good though, this year 22 y.o. Each week trains about 27km run, 12.8km swim, 146km bike. About 8 - 13 hours/week of training excluding travelling/warm up/preparation time.

His run times are no joke, mostly because his fundamentals are strong. Ran the NTU 7km road run and won against other runners in NTU despite being triathlete and doing low-mileage running weeks.

Most people in triathlon grew up having competitive experience in at least one of the sports. For myself, I grew up doing competitive swimming as a kid (7-13). Secondary school, got my first exposure into biking since boys brigade had a competition where need to bike/run. Jc, joined cross country as a runner. By end of Jc, experienced all of them. Did my first open water swimming when a swimmer friend jio me go Sentosa swim during the Trump-Kim Summit in 2018. 😂

Competed in an aquathlon before and didn't really like it because I cramped switching from swim > run, despite winning it in the end (mini club competition). Also, triathlon requires a lot of time commitment (travel, preparation, etc.) in each of the 3 sports.

End of the day, just went with running. And do bike/swim cross train good enough liao. To keep my interest for running long-term, might be considering doing overseas races in future. But that's long time from now since I am more interested in running 5/10km.

binbinpon

I thought runner need more carbohydrate than protein intake ?
I read through several of your posts and realise the answers to your questions depend on the goals you want to achieve.

Common goals can be
1) health
2) running performance which can be short or long distance

The recommendations differ depending on the goals.

Some caveats before recommendations. Muscle repair and growth is reduced in seniors.

1)running recovery for seniors depend more on
a)rest.
Active recovery in the form of light activity like walking/easy runs is helpful to clear inflammatory metabolites accumulated during exercise but for some older folks even zone 2 may be too much for the muscles.

B) adequate protein ( about 20-40gm/meal or 1.6gm/kg/d). Running is a catabolic exercise as such seniors need more protein to preserve muscle mass.

C) carb intake post workout ( to replenish glycogen) high GI carbs replenish glycogen faster and in general carb intake promote muscle recovery. But seniors with insulin resistance may need to be careful with this.
D) adequate caloric intake.
E) hydration
F) sleep
G) supplements like creatine phosphate promote recovery.
F) massage

For seniors who want to incorporate running for health

1) high intensity interval training with a relative longer period of training interval is helpful for promoting heart health. The Norwegian 4x4min interval done 3x/week in 2 years trial showed that participants in their 50s have their heart function improved to 30s level.

2) 80/20 (polarised training) seems to be over glorified in almost every fitness blog. Not everyone needs endurance training for health purpose. While a zone 2 training is good for peripheral muscle capillary development and some zone 4 for glycogen storage expansion and heart function, a pyramidal training ( zone 2 with zone 3) can provide many similar benefits too. Seniors prob can tolerate a zone 3 intensity better than 4.

3) and for health purpose and not for performance , a senior actually does not need to run too much. Rather the exercise days should be well distributed among
1) whole body resistance training since muscle loss is accelerated post 40. One should do 2-3 days of resistance training a week

2) cardio. It is actually better to have a variety of cardio like rowing, cycling, running, brisk walking to cross train the body. Should the senior choose running as the main form, then again 2-3 days of running alternated between long runs and short intense workout would be good to avoid overtraining. There is little need for recovery runs as we are not trying to squeeze the last bit of performance, as the rest of the days the senior is doing other exercises.

3) balance exercises. Seniors should devote 1 day doing stability exercises whether yoga, plates, taichi etc

I hope this helps, as health goals are different from performance goals.

WussRedXLi

indeed, am rather cautious of getting injured especially my fragile right ankle. Also don't want new injuries since recovery at this age is alot more challenging.
re. family members, we also have to take into consideration how they feel. Least i can do is to minimize or avoid injuries, and not bring inconveniences and worries to them.
is your kid ok after the buang?

Yeah, my family members are even more kiasi and safety conscious than me actually.

All these very slow speed buangs are usually ok.

WussRedXLi

Yi Jun Tey is good though, this year 22 y.o. Each week trains about 27km run, 12.8km swim, 146km bike. About 8 - 13 hours/week of training excluding travelling/warm up/preparation time.

His run times are no joke, mostly because his fundamentals are strong. Ran the NTU 7km road run and won against other runners in NTU despite being triathlete and doing low-mileage running weeks.

Most people in triathlon grew up having competitive experience in at least one of the sports. For myself, I grew up doing competitive swimming as a kid (7-13). Secondary school, got my first exposure into biking since boys brigade had a competition where need to bike/run. Jc, joined cross country as a runner. By end of Jc, experienced all of them. Did my first open water swimming when a swimmer friend jio me go Sentosa swim during the Trump-Kim Summit in 2018. 😂

Competed in an aquathlon before and didn't really like it because I cramped switching from swim > run, despite winning it in the end (mini club competition). Also, triathlon requires a lot of time commitment (travel, preparation, etc.) in each of the 3 sports.

End of the day, just went with running. And do bike/swim cross train good enough liao. To keep my interest for running long-term, might be considering doing overseas races in future. But that's long time from now since I am more interested in running 5/10km.

Oh interesting, his run vol is relatively low, in fact just a little higher than me. Actually mine cannot even be considered running :ROFLMAO: , ~ 21km Mon-Fri "runs" are all broken up into home-office-home-office commute sessions of around 1km each, though there is a short section of uphill of around 10 metres elevation during the office->home legs? That's about it. Then i try to do 1 week of 3.5 to 5km tempo/thresholdy run, keep the legs turning. Exclude the short strides/SITs.

His HM i once saw his vid was 1.22 i think, came in 3rd place, i think is was Sundown, coz he got caught up with OT and just rushed there after knocking off. :ROFLMAO:

But still young fellas can run / bike lah.

Yeah, you've said it.......the transitioning really no joke. For me after biking then do run, really barely could feel the legs. Mabok one. Really need to strength train i believe, and pace properly during bike.
If not cramp and all those nonsense. And then add in overheating etc.

Just came back from watching the T100 at MB just now, the amateurs......even after the morning rain just now, the heat was no joke. Could see a bit of steam rising from some of them when they took a respite at the aid stations during the run leg, i think they buay lun liao (after the bike)
Yesterday's heat index was like 34.3 and 58% RH = 42 deg C during pro women's start. Water temp = 30.9.
WTF. :ROFLMAO:

WussRedXLi

over here where i often run, there is this retired ex-teacher in his 60s, every time i see him cruise at around under 5min/km pace. Only on his recovery runs, when i chance upon him, he will pace me and chitchat with me while i am trying not to pant 😂
Yep some of them really fit can do it.

Don't even need to look at HR. Vid ish self-explanatory. :ROFLMAO:

Jeremy1

I read through several of your posts and realise the answers to your questions depend on the goals you want to achieve.

Common goals can be
1) health
2) running performance which can be short or long distance

The recommendations differ depending on the goals.

Some caveats before recommendations. Muscle repair and growth is reduced in seniors.

1)running recovery for seniors depend more on
a)rest.
Active recovery in the form of light activity like walking/easy runs is helpful to clear inflammatory metabolites accumulated during exercise but for some older folks even zone 2 may be too much for the muscles.

B) adequate protein ( about 20-40gm/meal or 1.6gm/kg/d). Running is a catabolic exercise as such seniors need more protein to preserve muscle mass.

C) carb intake post workout ( to replenish glycogen) high GI carbs replenish glycogen faster and in general carb intake promote muscle recovery. But seniors with insulin resistance may need to be careful with this.
D) adequate caloric intake.
E) hydration
F) sleep
G) supplements like creatine phosphate promote recovery.
F) massage

For seniors who want to incorporate running for health

1) high intensity interval training with a relative longer period of training interval is helpful for promoting heart health. The Norwegian 4x4min interval done 3x/week in 2 years trial showed that participants in their 50s have their heart function improved to 30s level.

2) 80/20 (polarised training) seems to be over glorified in almost every fitness blog. Not everyone needs endurance training for health purpose. While a zone 2 training is good for peripheral muscle capillary development and some zone 4 for glycogen storage expansion and heart function, a pyramidal training ( zone 2 with zone 3) can provide many similar benefits too. Seniors prob can tolerate a zone 3 intensity better than 4.

3) and for health purpose and not for performance , a senior actually does not need to run too much. Rather the exercise days should be well distributed among
1) whole body resistance training since muscle loss is accelerated post 40. One should do 2-3 days of resistance training a week

2) cardio. It is actually better to have a variety of cardio like rowing, cycling, running, brisk walking to cross train the body. Should the senior choose running as the main form, then again 2-3 days of running alternated between long runs and short intense workout would be good to avoid overtraining. There is little need for recovery runs as we are not trying to squeeze the last bit of performance, as the rest of the days the senior is doing other exercises.

3) balance exercises. Seniors should devote 1 day doing stability exercises whether yoga, plates, taichi etc

I hope this helps, as health goals are different from performance goals.

If I can cruise through the run during Marathon with maybe just a 7min pace or lower, I will be happy liao but my current pace is 8.2 min outdoor :sad:

And I don't think I can maintained this pace throughout the run

xllms

If I can cruise through the run during Marathon with maybe just a 7min pace or lower, I will be happy liao but my current pace is 8.2 min outdoor :sad:

do it slowly and build on it with commitments, soon you will reach 6min. Don't aim for FM distance now, aim small, eg. 5km, then 10km, gradually increase. Your current pace is just like mine 2-3yrs ago. Keep going.

Jeremy1

do it slowly and build on it with commitments, soon you will reach 6min. Don't aim for FM distance now, aim small, eg. 5km, then 10km, gradually increase. Your current pace is just like mine 2-3yrs ago. Keep going.

Just aiming for HM now 🙏

Going to sign up for the 10K Skechers Run coming June and see how is my performance before joining the SCM

Kuudere

Oh interesting, his run vol is relatively low, in fact just a little higher than me. Actually mine cannot even be considered running :ROFLMAO: , ~ 21km Mon-Fri "runs" are all broken up into home-office-home-office commute sessions of around 1km each, though there is a short section of uphill of around 10 metres elevation during the office->home legs? That's about it. Then i try to do 1 week of 3.5 to 5km tempo/thresholdy run, keep the legs turning. Exclude the short strides/SITs.

His HM i once saw his vid was 1.22 i think, came in 3rd place, i think is was Sundown, coz he got caught up with OT and just rushed there after knocking off. :ROFLMAO:

But still young fellas can run / bike lah.

Yeah, you've said it.......the transitioning really no joke. For me after biking then do run, really barely could feel the legs. Mabok one. Really need to strength train i believe, and pace properly during bike.
If not cramp and all those nonsense. And then add in overheating etc.

Just came back from watching the T100 at MB just now, the amateurs......even after the morning rain just now, the heat was no joke. Could see a bit of steam rising from some of them when they took a respite at the aid stations during the run leg, i think they buay lun liao (after the bike)
Yesterday's heat index was like 34.3 and 58% RH = 42 deg C during pro women's start. Water temp = 30.9.
WTF. :ROFLMAO:
Actually, if you understand the fundamentals of running, you'll realise that the easy runs from running can be substituted for swimming/cycling cross training. The important ones to do are: long run, intervals, threshold. Can alternate intervals and thresholds across the weeks. You'll end up running less but still able to sustain the running pace by doing swimming/cycling. With 20-30+ km, it's more than sufficient to run a HM, especially if coupled with cross training.

Yi Jun HM is fast, mostly because of Vo2max. His NS IPPT days can easily get 8.30, similar to Aaron. That's why both of them can do well without needing to run much. Aaron averages about 35-40km weeks of running throughout the year, can hit 1.20.

But ultimately, that mileage definitely not sufficient for the marathon. Yi Jun tried marathon but hit the wall, whereas Aaron did marathon but was more of a casual experience than try for times.

Got to train transitioning if not hard to do well in dual/triple athletic sports. That's the part I don't really like since I usually do training separately. Even for NS IPPT, I don't like to do push ups/sit ups then run. Prefer to do in separate time frames.

If it's a competition, people will tryhard and not overthink so much. Too much adrenaline liao, from start to end, just push through even if they feel tired.
Good advice, the korea ex military video I shared yesterday. That guy made his 3k pace become his 5k pace in 1 year of training. After hitting his 5k PB, ran the HM, with most runs being 12-13km at most. Run 1.22 😂 Working on short distances is very important to hit the pace for long distance running.
Just aiming for HM now 🙏

Going to sign up for the 10K Skechers Run coming June and see how is my performance before joining the SCM
I am going for that too, haven't thought of a race strategy for the 10k yet. Will figure out in the weeks to come when I train more.

binbinpon

To do endurance running, one unfortunately just have to grind the volume without overtraining. Patience is the key. The pace will improve with time.

Well you probably can get better advice from the many more seasoned runners in this thread compared to me who is more of a recreational runner at 50 yrs old. Though I did my FM in 3h 45mins last year, I am more interested in benching 110kg, doing 20 weighted pullups and keeping my fat % at around 12-15. Lol

WussRedXLi

Actually, if you understand the fundamentals of running, you'll realise that the easy runs from running can be substituted for swimming/cycling cross training. The important ones to do are: long run, intervals, threshold. Can alternate intervals and thresholds across the weeks. You'll end up running less but still able to sustain the running pace by doing swimming/cycling. With 20-30+ km, it's more than sufficient to run a HM, especially if coupled with cross training.

I only more or less know the very surface of running knowledge......come across all the terms but in practice difficult to follow through. I like intervals, but always end up say aim 3.30 then end up 3.05-3.09, only know that when review the charts. lol/

The only thing i don't do is long runs. Last year i was still doing 8k, 10k 12k even. Nowadays, only some very occasional instances i might do 12, 13km, last CNY i even went to do 16.88 in 1 shot but easy pace. Felt ok, but nowhere simi race pace lah. The 13.88 i clocked faster than 5.00 pace tho.
HM distance 21.1 i talked very long liao, still haven't attempted. :ROFLMAO:
Dont say Ender's what officially sanctioned / measured distance. Even GPS 21.1k i also never attempt after Aug 2023 AHM. So.....it's all moot talking point nia. :ROFLMAO:

But one thing i know is that i like speed......and also those strengthening and plyometrics i quite like to do.

The only long sessions i do is long cycle. On and off though......as in in between go pung jio wash face, go mcdonald's hoot the vanilla cone. :ROFLMAO: Just cycle here cycle there aimlessly.

PapaWith3Kids

Just run for health. If you want to do better then go ahead. Your body will tell you if it’s ready. I am not those skinny kind so run slow and HM below 2.5 hrs I very happy already. Target is just to be able to do so every year, I already feel fortunate le.

Jeremy1

To do endurance running, one unfortunately just have to grind the volume without overtraining. Patience is the key. The pace will improve with time.

Well you probably can get better advice from the many more seasoned runners in this thread compared to me who is more of a recreational runner at 50 yrs old. Though I did my FM in 3h 45mins last year, I am more interested in benching 110kg, doing 20 weighted pullups and keeping my fat % at around 12-15. Lol

FM in 3h 45mins 😱

That will maybe only my HM timing :s13:

WussRedXLi

Just run for health. If you want to do better then go ahead. Your body will tell you if it’s ready. I am not those skinny kind so run slow and HM below 2.5 hrs I very happy already. Target is just to be able to do so every year, I already feel fortunate le.

Heh i used to exercise just for health, now dont know why get serious in sports.

Im trying to poison my wife into cycling. She did not get hooked into running, but been brisk walking since 2020. She quite into the "fashion" side of sports, she likes the look of those women cyclists. So we shall see how.

But cycling not as much impact to the joints, came across studies before......osteoporosis etc. So best to mix if possible. Even brisk walking is better than nothing, best is to racewalk coz the capacity to go faster/push and even hit zone 5 is there.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.