jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

You can still get discount for AHM? For me depends if the organiser still discriminate pes C. If I don't get the discount again, will skip.
Yeah i think still status quote, just enter IC number. Waiting for date to be confirmed and the link to register.

WussRedXLi

Anyway, i think last year while AHM 10K was pretty zhun in distance, the half marathon came up like ~ 0.5k short. heh.....

WussRedXLi

Probably that is what they call runner's high? I never experience before in my 15 years of running. Very elusive.

For me got 2 addictions, 1 is raw speed......the other is after a certain period into session, can get the kick.

Cycling high also got. I find it quite relaxing......just wanna go on and on after a certain period..... With music, wow..... U just wanna go for another round, and then another round .
So much so that i dread the next day going back to work, or if it's early morning then i dread going home to bathe and change. :ROFLMAO:

https://www.cyclingweekly.com/news/a-cyclists-high-what-it-is-and-how-you-get-it

Ender

Anyway, i think last year while AHM 10K was pretty zhun in distance, the half marathon came up like ~ 0.5k short. heh.....
As long as within certain margin, is acceptable for a good race if it provides the race atmosphere and good logistic. But the Skechers one at 9.2k is cannot accept.

WussRedXLi

Thanks! Glad that PF is gone! If it comes back will take both of your advice haha. Calf strengthening after the 2XU will probably help with the calf strain and PF issues

I actually take arcoxia / naproxen sodium for any pains literally....as long as is infllammation just hoot, since i dont have any serious stomach/intestinal issues. I used it for ITBS post AHM injury, at first on 27th Aug Sunday, i was trying to just tahan.....and by evening time it didnt subside so much so that i went toilet and bathe also needed to crawl and drag myself over.....so i hooted the max 120mg for Arcoxia in the evening. Next day tada.....could at least walk with a slight limp to work.

If the symptoms improved, then confirm is inflammatory based. I may then follow up with curcumin (I use curcuwin) to follow up if it is spans more than 3 days. Then 1 week later might start again.
My father has used 200mg (generic etoricoxib) for 2 weeks 1 shot. No side effects.

Another thing i learnt from the specialist is that you can feel that area, see if it is warm. Can do it with hands, or u use a IR thermo.

Jeremy1

See many of these leg massage under HDB .. They apply TCM technique, so can be quite painful. :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

Actually not referring to the foot massage which is painful unless thai way of doing.

More interested in the leg massage after sore :sad:

binbinpon

Looks like there's some interest in plantar fasciitis.

PF is a common cause of heel pain but not all heel pain are from PF. Other causes include loss of fat pad, calcaneal stress fracture, nerve compression. When in doubt, see a specialist.

Anyone can get PF, but more common in repetitive strain ie. prolonged running or jumping, poor arch support, people with flat feet, gait change

So how to manage acute inflammation stage
1) rest but that does not mean not moving. Avoid long hours of stationary postition like prolonged standing and sitting. Walking is actually good as it is a form of light stretching. Icing helps.
2) lots of stretching. calf stretch and plantar arch stretches. rollers over the arch. Active calf strengthening should be reserved for chronic and preventive stages.
3) If one has massage gun, a low intensity application is helpful.
4) if still bad, see doc for anti-inflammatory painkillers like arcoxia, kefentech patches. Sports physician or orthopods can give steroid injections which calm the inflammation, platelet rich plasma injections to speed heeling or shockwave therapy, a form of sound therapy that can be seen as upgraded version of massage gun for painrelief and speeding up healing.

Chronic cases
1) limit running before point of pain occurence, avoid trail runs as uneven terrain increases stress on the arch. Run on more shock absorbent terrain like stadium tracks. Or simply switch to another form of cardio meanwhile like swimming. Sometimes PF can result from gait changes like heel strike to midfoot or toestrike due to additional impact on the fascia. So stick to heel strike then.
2) regular stretches. Good to stretch the feet first thing using a towel in the morning, or after 1 hour of stationary position. calf strengthening like single calf raise on staircases.
3) footwear changes - thick cushion, heel drop should be high (preferably 2.5-4cm) as this takes the pressure off the fascia. For runners, they may want to switch to shoes like asics nimbus or hoka bondi if the current shoes do not offer enough heel support.
4)night splints that do the work of continous stretching during sleep also helps
5)sports taping may help to realign traction forces.
6)surgery like gastrocnemius recession is hardly needed in modern context when other modalities like shock wave therapies are quite effective.

Hope this helps.

sph777

Looks like there's some interest in plantar fasciitis.

PF is a common cause of heel pain but not all heel pain are from PF. Other causes include loss of fat pad, calcaneal stress fracture, nerve compression. When in doubt, see a specialist.

Anyone can get PF, but more common in repetitive strain ie. prolonged running or jumping, poor arch support, people with flat feet, gait change

So how to manage acute inflammation stage
1) rest but that does not mean not moving. Avoid long hours of stationary postition like prolonged standing and sitting. Walking is actually good as it is a form of light stretching. Icing helps.
2) lots of stretching. calf stretch and plantar arch stretches. rollers over the arch. Active calf strengthening should be reserved for chronic and preventive stages.
3) If one has massage gun, a low intensity application is helpful.
4) if still bad, see doc for anti-inflammatory painkillers like arcoxia, kefentech patches. Sports physician or orthopods can give steroid injections which calm the inflammation, platelet rich plasma injections to speed heeling or shockwave therapy, a form of sound therapy that can be seen as upgraded version of massage gun for painrelief and speeding up healing.

Chronic cases
1) limit running before point of pain occurence, avoid trail runs as uneven terrain increases stress on the arch. Run on more shock absorbent terrain like stadium tracks. Or simply switch to another form of cardio meanwhile like swimming. Sometimes PF can result from gait changes like heel strike to midfoot or toestrike due to additional impact on the fascia. So stick to heel strike then.
2) regular stretches. Good to stretch the feet first thing using a towel in the morning, or after 1 hour of stationary position. calf strengthening like single calf raise on staircases.
3) footwear changes - thick cushion, heel drop should be high (preferably 2.5-4cm) as this takes the pressure off the fascia. For runners, they may want to switch to shoes like asics nimbus or hoka bondi if the current shoes do not offer enough heel support.
4)night splints that do the work of continous stretching during sleep also helps
5)sports taping may help to realign traction forces.
6)surgery like gastrocnemius recession is hardly needed in modern context when other modalities like shock wave therapies are quite effective.

Hope this helps.
Yup, thanks a lot. Last year my podiatrist recommended almost the same for me for the inflammation stage and the treatment that helped me was the shockwave therapy. Healed from the acute pain about 2 weeks after starting therapy.

xllms

20240418 11degC brooks hyperion elite 3
8.5km @ 5'56" av
9.0km @ 6'54" av return run
first leg run failed to keep below 6' pace throughout and calf muscles super sore now 🤣
1000072439-01.jpg
17134013959435647.jpg

Jeremy1

Do you all follow the suggestion running recommended by your watch ?

What does below mean ?

IMG-9765.jpg

Kuudere

Singapore Open starts today.

For 1.5k woman, Romaine Soh, Soh's sister ran 4.44, 2nd place, ahead of Vanessa Lee, 4.51.

For 1.5k man, the 1st place ran 4.17.

Do you all follow the suggestion running recommended by your watch ?

What does below mean ?

IMG-9765.jpg
Usually don't follow.

It just means 4 sets of 4.00 minute runs at 5.45/km pace. 26.00 minute of warm up jog + set recovery + warm down

Kuudere

Simple way of understanding it if you go by distance instead of time @Jeremy1

Warm up
4 x 700m repeats w/ ? rest (you should run your 700s at 4 minutes and below, not so sure about the rest since you need to experiment with the workout)
Warm down

Intensity >> Will feel like running 2.4km race effort with breaks in between
4 minutes @ 5.45/km = 0.7km or 700m

Jeremy1

Simple way of understanding it if you go by distance instead of time @Jeremy1

Warm up
4 x 700m repeats w/ ? rest (you should run your 700s at 4 minutes and below, not so sure about the rest since you need to experiment with the workout)
Warm down

Intensity >> Will feel like running 2.4km race effort with breaks in between
4 minutes @ 5.45/km = 0.7km or 700m

4 minutes and below pace, I can never run that fast. 😱

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.