jogging and motivation thread

Lchlch

Go for Garmin Forerunner Series.

Depending on your budget.

The higher model give you more data and battery life like for my 965, my battery life can last me easily 20 days for 1 full charge and also this watch had a lot of data which helped on your running.

Price about $759 from online.
Bro....way way out of my budget.

Jeremy1

Maybe sph777 can try aqua jogging for the next 3 months........

If rest that kind of time, i think........ i dont know lah.......but personally i dont believe in totally off seasons. (posted 1 vid just yesterday, that one by Lewis)
But of coz that is if your lifestyle can tahan and not suffer any form of burnouts.

My mentor told me it takes him 1 year of running to be able stay in Zone 2

Kuudere

Back to the question, what is the purpose of getting into external HR? The one case that I feel that really an external HR is when you need instant HR reading. Wrist base are bad for it as it's response time is slower. The training that require instant HR reading is when you are doing HR based training like the MAF method. I got my chest strap because I dedicate one year to do purely MAF method. Where it is very strict that I do not exceed the ceiling HR at any time, therefore instant HR reading is requires. SO if you are doing zone 2 training also, strict adherence to the zone during workout requires instant HR, then the chest strap and arm band is needed.

But if just average HR for post analysis, like lap 10 where you enter some farlek you just like to know the average HR, or lap 2 to 4 you did a threshold and you just want to compare average HR to a previous similar workout, usually wrist base HR is good enough, coz after averaging out, the reading can be quite close to chest HR.
I prefer avg. HR, since HR can change depending on terrain, body condition, weather, etc. With avg. HR also don't need to keep monitoring, making the run feel more natural. Run by feel and slow down when necessary.

Check avg. HR during junctions or midway into the run.
tried a fast sprint at around 3min/km pace today but can only last 100-200m...super shagged. Need to do more to get used to it.

I don't seem to be able to run with mid or fore foot strike technique for low HR eg. 140 and below on coros. Switch to rear foot strike will be easier, but as the run prolongs, right knee will have discomfort.
Better off running a high 4 min/km last km which would help your long distance running a lot more. Unless you were doing strides after the run (after you take a short break), then that pace is good since it trains your stride extension. Other than that, I seldom go 3 min/km even for my pace. I do strides after easy runs after taking a break. Able to run 2.50 min/km for the 100m x 6. But this is never really done in my threshold/long runs since an extended surge (1-2km) cuts time more than short bursting (100-200m).

If you wear carbon-plate shoes, it will naturally make you run faster since it promotes a forefoot gait. That's why I prefer to run slow in trainers. Apart from this, it takes practice to run slow (though not as hard as run fast). Just reduce your stride length and cadence, can try practising this by doing slow jogs at home. Don't alter foot strike to rear since it causes higher risk of injury. You'll eventually get the hang of it.
Kuudere, this one your friend boh? From FFRC.
But first and foremost i think he is more into triathlons.

Works in sports as well.......so interest and work same.
Aaron same as me, IT kia. (think he cybersec one)
Hope he can make some correct decisions so that he can retire in his 30s, i think prob early 30s.

Haha don't really know everyone from FFRC. It's a big club and the ppl there change every week. Even for group 1 where it's a small handful of 9-10 fast, dedicated runners. I've seen the group changed entirely the following month when I went back, replaced by another 9-10 fast, dedicated runners that I didn't see in the previous sessions.

Yes, I posted the video earlier from him. He is a national triathlete. And usually it's very good for a national triathlete to run 1.19-1.20. National runner around 1.12-1.13. Go overseas, can easily run sub 1.10 for their HM.

Aaron, would've believe his retirement plan if he isn't gunning for relationship (he expect his future partner to zhun zhun split half for a 4-room bto) and overseas travel experiences, since the cost of both relationship and overseas travel experiences is heavily underestimated in his cost analysis. Just treat his retirement plan as csb and watch for the laughs :ROFLMAO:

WussRedXLi

For me i have always walked around for my jobs last time and relatively skinny though i believe bordering on skinny fat (skinny low BMI, but have a relatively high % of fats). Then started during early 2020 with walking nearly daily. Late 2022 started running. By early 2023 i tested, Z2 then was low 5 mins.

winningeleven

Go for Garmin Forerunner Series.

Depending on your budget.

The higher model give you more data and battery life like for my 965, my battery life can last me easily 20 days for 1 full charge and also this watch had a lot of data which helped on your running.

Price about $759 from online.
I am using garmin 965 also. Before that I used huawei gt 2e.

Generally I am quite ok with this garmin in term of tracking of my run. But however the performance of the usage are not as good as my old huawei 2e. Not so sure whether u encountered this same problem.

If I fall asleep on my chair during my workplace. My HW is able to detect as a "Nap". My 965 can't...

During my long distance driving n NZ. My garmin 965 send reminder to ask me to "move" whereas my HW is able to know that I am driving and no reminder is send and when I sit too long in my workplace. My HW will alarm me to move..

Overall for a expensive watch that cost 750 plus. It actually couldn't beat a cheapo HW smartwatch in some of the accuracy

Jeremy1

For me i have always walked around for my jobs last time and relatively skinny though i believe bordering on skinny fat (skinny low BMI, but have a relatively high % of fats). Then started during early 2020 with walking nearly daily. Late 2022 started running. By early 2023 i tested, Z2 then was low 5 mins.

For me just started running this year at age 57 so most probably will only hit zone 2 if I walked :s13:

Jeremy1

I am using garmin 965 also. Before that I used huawei gt 2e.

Generally I am quite ok with this garmin in term of tracking of my run. But however the performance of the usage are not as good as my old huawei 2e. Not so sure whether u encountered this same problem.

If I fall asleep on my chair during my workplace. My HW is able to detect as a "Nap". My 965 can't...

During my long distance driving n NZ. My garmin 965 send reminder to ask me to "move" whereas my HW is able to know that I am driving and no reminder is send and when I sit too long in my workplace. My HW will alarm me to move..

Overall for a expensive watch that cost 750 plus. It actually couldn't beat a cheapo HW smartwatch in some of the accuracy

Do you wear your watch while sleeping ?

Ender

I don't know why so hard to stay in zone 2. Just lower or up your intensity when your HR cross the threshold line. My zone HR training, HR can maintain steady state for about 1.5 hour before the drift sets in.
I think the difficulty is in anticipating the drop or increase in HR. Coz wrist base HR reacts slowly. So when you increase up your intensity, your watch doesn't show the HR increase correspondingly, and what when they don't see their HR goes up? They put in more intensity. And by the time the watch HR catches up, they see their HR shoot up too high. Like wise of decrease intensity. Watch HR monitor doesn't change when you decrease your intensity immediately, and you lower your intensity base on that.,

Ender

I prefer avg. HR, since HR can change depending on terrain, body condition, weather, etc. With avg. HR also don't need to keep monitoring, making the run feel more natural. Run by feel and slow down when necessary.

It's about the training requirement rather than preference. In MAF and strict 80/20 (very strict polarization protocol) cross of zones is to be minimize at all juncture. So an instant HR is require.

But most can do by without following the strict protocol. Coz once training cycle starts, it's all zones whack with marathon paces in zone 3. No more maf, no more 80/20

But then no wrong or right. If don't want to follow strict protocol, and just as you feel. In most cases of running, there is no need to check HR when not under any protocol. Even easy days no need check HR as long as you don't shag out and can proceed the next day training , then it's an easy day

Kuudere

It's about the training requirement rather than preference. In MAF and strict 80/20 (very strict polarization protocol) cross of zones is to be minimize at all juncture. So an instant HR is require.

But most can do by without following the strict protocol. Coz once training cycle starts, it's all zones whack with marathon paces in zone 3. No more maf, no more 80/20
That's why I don't do both. :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

I have strict requirements for intervals/thresholds/long run. But not for easy runs. And I have been improving based off that. At the end of the day, do what best works for you.

I want to keep easy runs "easy", don't have to worry about the details. Only care when doing the harder runs. My principle is as simple as that.

sph777

Bad runs like this usually make/break ppl. If they can overcome the mental hurdle, they will definitely improve. If not, burn out. But from what I see, he looks at running positively. Still celebrating the run with the crowd despite a bad run. He'll definitely come back stronger.

That's insanely fast compared to the national triathletes. Most of them, average 3.50 min/km for the HM w/o any swim/cycle component. In fact, I recently came across a video of a national triathlete that ran the 2XU in 1.19-1.20.

3.18 min/km is like national runner level minus the swim/cycle.

I know a couple of 2.05 - 2.10 HM runners run their long runs at that pace, it's an easy run for them.

Anywhere until 153 HR according to my garmin. I tried it out and seems quite accurate so far in terms of avg. HR.

SCMS will be some time away, should be sufficient time for recovery and to get back on form.

Actually in the end I got 1:51 and was position 714 by nett time so the 2xu race on a whole was surprisingly fast

Kuudere

Actually in the end I got 1:51 and was position 714 by nett time so the 2xu race on a whole was surprisingly fast
Because 2XU doesn't have FM component, so some of the FM runners move down to run HM. If I am not wrong, 1.37 gets you 171 nett time based off my friend's results.

9 x 1k intervals w/ 3 min rest (200m walk) @ 3.54 min/km (4.05, 4.06, 4.05, 4.02, 3.45, 3.46, 3.48, 3.42, 3.42)

First 4km = 10k pace
Last 5km = 5k pace

Did this workout yesterday, will eventually get better over time. This is just off 1 month progression of 50km/week of running. Under 2 months of trying out my system.

On track to beat @WussRedXLi :ROFLMAO:

WussRedXLi

That's insanely fast compared to the national triathletes. Most of them, average 3.50 min/km for the HM w/o any swim/cycle component. In fact, I recently came across a video of a national triathlete that ran the 2XU in 1.19-1.20.

3.18 min/km is like national runner level minus the swim/cycle.

IIRC was Kristian Blummerfelt, last year winner. Fastest run leg iirc. Side video below to best illustrate it.

Issue is also the dang heat at the time they ran during the run leg, !@$#@!# hot.....of coz they have the help of ice packs sponges and ice drinks to douse.

xllms

Better off running a high 4 min/km last km which would help your long distance running a lot more. Unless you were doing strides after the run (after you take a short break), then that pace is good since it trains your stride extension. Other than that, I seldom go 3 min/km even for my pace. I do strides after easy runs after taking a break. Able to run 2.50 min/km for the 100m x 6. But this is never really done in my threshold/long runs since an extended surge (1-2km) cuts time more than short bursting (100-200m).

If you wear carbon-plate shoes, it will naturally make you run faster since it promotes a forefoot gait. That's why I prefer to run slow in trainers. Apart from this, it takes practice to run slow (though not as hard as run fast). Just reduce your stride length and cadence, can try practising this by doing slow jogs at home. Don't alter foot strike to rear since it causes higher risk of injury. You'll eventually get the hang of it.
agree on your general idea of running based on feel. For someone who never had structured athletic training before, just want to learn more hence thinking of trying to keep within zone 2 for slow runs and see if it will help me.

if there is a decent track near my place, would like to start with 100m intervals slowly increasing speed and distance to condition myself at faster pace. Currently i try run as fast as i can at the end of each run, eg. last 1km or 500m. But most of the time, i can never go as fast as sprinting speeds.

you are right, i need to get used to slow runs on mid to fore foot strike. That's why i need to run more in zone 2 at the moment, imo. And yes, ideally in non-plated shoes.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.