jogging and motivation thread

nujiln

how come most sinkies prefer to jog/run rather than swim?

jogging thread move damn fast and got 425 pages in less than 2 years liao while swimming thread only got 55 pages in 15 years lol

https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/swimming-anyone.2356732/page-55

i hate running/jogging and i only jog cause i feel more energetic after sweating. swimming better. swim in hot weather damn shiok and can show off sexy body
My take as someone who swims and gyms over running:
1. Running is more accessible; not everyone has convenient access to a pool.

2. Swimming can be quite monotonous. It's akin to running on a treadmill. I swim 40 continuous laps per session, and counting laps can be rather tedious. Runners have the option to run along scenic routes.

3. For beginners, it may be harder to see improvements in swimming since technique matters more. It's easier to see improvements in running, such as being able to run faster, or for longer distances, which I think can boost one's motivation to continue.

Jeremy1

how come most sinkies prefer to jog/run rather than swim?

jogging thread move damn fast and got 425 pages in less than 2 years liao while swimming thread only got 55 pages in 15 years lol

https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/swimming-anyone.2356732/page-55

i hate running/jogging and i only jog cause i feel more energetic after sweating. swimming better. swim in hot weather damn shiok and can show off sexy body

Because not everyone know how to swim.
Also swimming need to go to pool, whereas running is free.

Running n jogging or even walking are very common.

I also not swimmer and can only swim if my leg can touched the floor :s13:

Ender

What's the purpose of easy days. Easy days are not the time you worry about undertraining. Rather the focus is not to tax your body while you base build. So it's alright if you suddenly drop to zone1 (niko niko running is all about this zone). Worry about under training on your LSD and high intensity days (in Kofuzi term, Quality days). You will need a fresh body for the quality days, while not losing the base building part during the (non quality days).

Jeremy1

What's the purpose of easy days. Easy days are not the time you worry about undertraining. Rather the focus is not to tax your body while you base build. So it's alright if you suddenly drop to zone1 (niko niko running is all about this zone). Worry about under training on your LSD and high intensity days (in Kofuzi term, Quality days). You will need a fresh body for the quality days, while not losing the base building part during the (non quality days).

I also watched their video

The question is their stride is much much more even when they are just easy run.

Showcase

Wah where in Bangkok? I'm going there this month.

The recommended shoe really fits you very well? How do the prices there compare to SG?
Any Supersports store in Bangkok, at the running section. The recommended shoes were unavailable in my size. Prices are slightly higher, but didnt factor in any tax refund (if eligible).

ctan84

Should swim more to burn the belly fats
Swimming isn't the most time-efficient when it comes to burning fats. The calories burnt per hour of swimming is easily 25-30% lesser than running due to its non-weight bearing nature. But swimming is still a good form of cardiovascular x-training or for strength training to improve running (hold the board and just kick 40-50 laps).

dicxz80

Iam slow runner. Pace 8. High heart rate issue. Scared to post here :D

Anyone doing barefoot? Iam practising my landing and form Still cant do consistent mid foot landing throughout the run

Currently using decathlon aqua shoes. Love to hear for any other option or opinion

My goal is to do weekly 3 hours HM distance run in 3 months time

I used to cycle 100+km weekly but now scared to cycle on the road :( too many reckless drivers

Ender

Iam slow runner. Pace 8. High heart rate issue. Scared to post here :D

Anyone doing barefoot? Iam practising my landing and form Still cant do consistent mid foot landing throughout the run

Currently using decathlon aqua shoes. Love to hear for any other option or opinion

My goal is to do weekly 3 hours HM distance run in 3 months time

I used to cycle 100+km weekly but now scared to cycle on the road :( too many reckless drivers
I use aqua shoes when I was injured with shin splint by running on the stadium track. I used to be minimalist and still believe that this form of running really can train the claves muscles. But my aqua shoes from Qoo10, about $10 only.

dicxz80

I use aqua shoes when I was injured with shin splint by running on the stadium track. I used to be minimalist and still believe that this form of running really can train the claves muscles. But my aqua shoes from Qoo10, about $10 only.
Can you share the link? Thank you

Do you use socks with the aquashoes? I feel better to run without socks

ctan84

It does, except pple who transit to this style of running tend to be over-zealous n do it too fast too far, resulting in calf strains. Had a period when many patients came in for that which coincided with the peak popularity period of the vibram 5-fingers in sg a long time ago.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.