jogging and motivation thread

sales69

ps I go there i think 10th position i also not there.

Saw 1 ang moh, somewhat old white hair one, i think 4.00 pace flat easy and sustainable, later prob neg split or something.

Those guys in the video are damn good.

Few days ago, I managed to run 3.56 pace albeit only for 300m interval. 😂

Already feeling a little floaty. As in if something come into my path, one swerve will likely make me fly. Can't imagine doing that for 5k. Almost hazardous. Will need a clear reserved lane. :s13:

Lchlch

Better go slow wait later injured yourself then cannot run jialat liao :grin:
Thks bro...
I also love walking too.
This Saturday, night walk till Sunday n hope I can cover 65km. Only ever cover till 50km...that will be my pb.

Jeremy1

Already feeling a little floaty. As in if something come into my path, one swerve will likely make me fly. Can't imagine doing that for 5k. Almost hazardous. Will need a clear reserved lane. :s13:

How to run 5K at their pace 😱

Run 1K already vomit blood liao 😱

WussRedXLi

sprained my right ankle exactly one week ago due to uneven road. Old injury so now taking precaution and recuperate properly before running again. Took 2 days of icing to reduce the swell. No bones injury, all tendons issue. Nothing much doctors can do now. Now daily make let my ankle write A-Z as a form of therapy and wear ankle brace when out of house.

2 nights ago i also buanged at MBS area near the Promonitory. That area got "Light Show" and also sch hols now.
Saw 3 bicycles (Anywheel) and XMMs on them only last minute from my 2 o-clock, no working lights, i changed direction to avoid hitting them and ended up just clipping a "hole" over there, the area where the tiled areas becomes vegetation.

Heng managed to brake hard safely and killed off the speed sufficiently so that i just buang into the "Hole" at a relatively low speed and body rolled, hands got gloves so no issue.

Side of knee cap got some very slight road rash lasceration and i think also lightly pulled/sprained the ligament connecting to the anterior tibialis, no action needed should self heal in 3-5 days.

This is one of the possible scenarios, actually posted before it's school hols, would affect runners as well but at a lower degree / risk.

xllms

Don't know how much mobility you have, perhaps this is a good opportunity to start a habit of cross training, like @sph777 doing now. Being a runner, I know how hard it is to change our mentality to adopt cross training. LOL.
No bone injury is good. Tendon is like muscle, can strengthened via loading. But also can injured by the same loading exercise if overuse. So need to walk and if pain level is a 1/10, a slow jog.
planning slow jog this weekend or maybe tomorrow. Now evaluating daily based on daily commuting to and fro workplace.
cross training at home working on my core. as for right ankle, still feeling strain when i do the A-Z, so being cautious now. Doctor asked me to stay home don't go out for one week, but not possible. 🤣

WussRedXLi

Really effing hate people cycling in the dark hours without lights. Esp if wearing "trendy black clothes". Nervermind the fact that it is against the law (no helmet is actually legal unless if on the road).
MBS some areas are not really dark but for sure it is not bright as well and the busy environment sometimes masks and camoflauge risks, also no thanks to how unpredictable some newbies can behave.
This is esp crucial coz @ higher speeds. (of coz if one is doing 2.30 to 3.30 pace intervals/sprints/strides it would be same risk then)

Some buggers also put red light in front, this one smaller issue if it is solid red......can avoid at the last minute when detect that they are coming towards you. I saw no less than 10 folks in the past 2-3 weeks when sch hol started.

WussRedXLi

Yes, running fast can be hazardous if not paying attention which can happen if too engrossed in the running. The reaction time is drastically reduced if encounter opposite fast runner/cyclist. Occasionally encounter that at Garden Bay East area for those folks running in the middle of the cycling lane, it's like "come at me bro".....even though i flash high-beam or ring bell. Most would react but there are some just continue straight. But still ok coz i'd have taken evasive action, i am very into this focus thing coz i know what can happen @ fast speeds (saw 1 bad accident also).

What i really scared is i take evasive action by changing direction and they then last min take evasive action at the same direction. Then id have to ebrake.

For me i am aware of that and what can happen coz i do a lot of cycling nowadays.

sales69

Wondering how they breath 🤔

Most probably their HR > 200.

If you tell me running at their pace is considered easy pace, is it possible 🤔
In the video, the guy HR went from 180s to 200 at the end. :eek:

My max is at most 180. Sometimes 160s already using mouth to breathe. :s13:

Ender

In the video, the guy HR went from 180s to 200 at the end. :eek:

My max is at most 180. Sometimes 160s already using mouth to breathe. :s13:
Ya, high maxhr is advantageous which sadly decrease in age. Now, I rarely see my HR goes above 173 even when during interval. Like you 160 is considered threshold or above threshold. heh heh chuan HR for me.

sales69

Ya, high maxhr is advantageous which sadly decrease in age. Now, I rarely see my HR goes above 173 even when during interval. Like you 160 is considered threshold or above threshold. heh heh chuan HR for me.
I'm 44 so my guess is I'm weak. Need more training. :s13:

For now, happy with 5.30 pace at 160s. Still need plenty of work to maintain easy pace at below 140s.

HR always drift up after 5k mark. At this point, body warmed up so subconsciously ran faster.

To intentionally slow down is damn pek chek. :s13:

Kuudere

Lol. This thread there are quite a number of faster runners. 10km speedster are @WussRedXLi and @Kuudere . FM would be @zero90 ,@Skyrillex and @sph777
I smell no smoke with them. But I am happy with my progress so far since I started running, that's why can be very consistent.
I think I am more like 5/6km kind of guy now. My 10km times too inconsistent :LOL:
sprained my right ankle exactly one week ago due to uneven road. Old injury so now taking precaution and recuperate properly before running again. Took 2 days of icing to reduce the swell. No bones injury, all tendons issue. Nothing much doctors can do now. Now daily make let my ankle write A-Z as a form of therapy and wear ankle brace when out of house.
Having a break is definitely important. Had the issue where I got plantar fasciitis from uneven surface. Took me a week to recover from it. I stretch a lot periodically throughout the day to recover faster.

If you run 3.56 pace for 300m intervals, that's probably your 1500/1600 race pace if you do up to 8-10 sets with 90s rest.

When I do 400m repeats, it's very hard to change my direction. 300s even harder. 200s definitely not, unless I don't take it seriously.
How to run 5K at their pace 😱

Run 1K already vomit blood liao 😱
To run 5k at that pace, you must've ran faster intervals. The 5k predictor workout is 5-6 x 1km with 2 minute rest in between. If you are not very aerobic, then 4-5 x 1.2km with 2.30 minute rest in between.

How about shorter intervals like 400s? Those people will run their 400s faster. Probably 3.3x for 400s, since it's a lot easier than 1k/1.2k repeats.

sph777

Yes just take it easy for now. Learned the hard way not to push when injured. Minor injury became 1 month of pain haha

Ender

I'm 44 so my guess is I'm weak. Need more training. :s13:

For now, happy with 5.30 pace at 160s. Still need plenty of work to maintain easy pace at below 140s.

HR always drift up after 5k mark. At this point, body warmed up so subconsciously ran faster.

To intentionally slow down is damn pek chek. :s13:
When I was 44, it was about 4 year into my running. Don't think I was at your level. At 42 or 43, did my 1st 10km, around 1:30 hr. Think I peaked around 52 -53 when I kenna post covid hyperthyroidism, then fitness regression starts and drop.

xllms

Yes just take it easy for now. Learned the hard way not to push when injured. Minor injury became 1 month of pain haha
yup, when this injury re-ocurred some 10yrs ago and due to lack of proper rest and recuperation, i had several relapsed subsequently.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.