xllms
totally get what you mean, but also need some baseline physical conditioning to do so. It is very fun to have short burst of speed until cannot take it, which most of us are no longer conditioned to do so.Shorter distance only bro...... so still manageable in terms of training in that.
Dont know leh....generally folks as they get older they like longer endurance events more, and then if possible still got energy and no bonk/cramp then VTEC at the end.
But for me i just like to cut it short and just open VTEC, something like that.
Actually, also there is one aspect i believe in..... Since there is nothing much to "progressively overload", at least not in the distance realm so what is left is the pace realm, so in terms of distances-duration relationship it's easier for us to fit it into our work-family schedules. eg Long runs if you specialize 5k seriously 7-8k also can cut it. I think this is one major aspect.
Now i scale back a bit 3k you threshold run 5-6k already quite solid, VO2max or anaerobic intervals same. Wont take as much time, and the recovery aspect (the other 50-60%) also same same. Esp for us older guys, sure take longer.
Based on this training and recovery duration you already won 50% of the game liao. Remember, you can train a lot, but if under-recover that is it......not much different even if you cut training duration/volume by 50%.
ps. Also can take a bit into account the weather here. Shorter distance your body probably more difficult to suffer the effects of dehydration lah, affected by heat temps la, and below 10k even if you have not fueled properly also not big issue. But dont get me wrong, shorter distances got its nuances as well, and same those areas need to be trained. Just that i feel easier to fit into our working/family schedules here where work-life balance is quite the bonus rather than a norm.
But for cycling there are quite a few differences, that one i can go longer range. Brain wise i enjoy more and so naturally you would wanna do more volume at the very least (pull factor and get drawn to it instead of just needing to start and finish the session in the week) , and also more cooling, can last longer. How much and in what areas it carryies over to running i dont really know. Of coz got some shared differences like able to digest/absorb nutrition, heat adaptation over longer distances in that the body is heat soaked, mental fortitude, cardiopulmonary, muscle fibre composition of major muscle grps shared by both running/cycling. etc. Carry over i think at least on paper would be much easier if you do both running and cycling together. Pure true-blue cyclists usually you'd read cannot carry over to running that well.....and even if aerobically can do, their bones and esp tendons/fascia pecah first coz usually the case would not be anywhere progressively overload one.......ie a regular ok cyclist try doing a 10k and gun it in the way that they do their smash rides kinda RPE, yes initially maybe can run fast (heck even regular runners sure run fast, it takes heck loads of discipline to run easy paces man lol) , but then by 7-8th km start to pain liao, either walk then or even DNF.
There actually is a joke regarding cyclists doing running, and also swimmers too....yes some of them sub elites have crazy aerobic systems and their mitochondrial/aerobic energy systems might be solid.....but that's about it. Next few days bai kar bai chew.
Your sharing has reminded me to restart my interval training which has been non-existing since my busy period in March, April and then further neglect due to weather and laziness. Now i am suffering in the summer heat. lol
But knowing you are a late bloomer and can achieve such performance at your age, really hats off to you and give you the well-deserved respect. Also plant something in me that maybe i can try to work towards my prime days of 400m below 60s.
with regards to the cyclist joke, this is why i think Remco Evenepoel is quite an amazing athlete. Top Belgium teen footballer (captain), competed HM at 1:16:55 at age 16, probably the best time trialist in the professional cyclist circle and top 10 professional cyclist in the world.
the route mapping looks like I was in a helicopter spinning out of control