jogging and motivation thread

sales69

Back to this topic, as there are both sides to this. Both sides also cites scientific studies, and in Singapore (hot and humid) for runners running > 1 hours per session, I personally think most studies that downplay the necessitate of electrolytes might not apply to us. If it's 40 minute run, then the studies might be correct. I personally will just drink teh-siew dai for post run if it's a easy 40 minute.

I asked the latest GROK 4 Pro to search of counter argument, and below is it's reply.
This week I ran first 2km easy already sweat buckets.

Those experts that say no need replenish can go home **** spider. :s13:

Cometdevil

Is it me or is it ridicoulously hot tonight?
Think tomorrow early morning 5.30am need to change from run/cycle to solely cycle liao.
Dont think it is getting below 36 deg C heat index for my area

Sentosa
30.1 deg C 80% RH
Heat index = 38.1 deg C

Tai Seng 30.8 deg C 70% RH
Heat index = 37.1 deg C

ECP = 37.0 deg C heat index

AMK 37.6 deg C heat index

Clementi 37.1 deg C heat index
yes the its very hot tonight.
i was contemplating to whine here or not for my short jog.
lol

Ender

This "Electrolyte aren't neccessary, they are making money for sport drink giants" argument is not new. Every now and then some article will surface with this argument. Started well back in the 90s, where there a sport nutritionist wrote a book , Waterlogged or something, and spoke against sports drinks manufacturer, and drinking water is just fine. For mostly, i think it's correct, 40 minute easy run, calisthenic at fitness corner, there's no need for sport drinks. But > 1hour run, that's where I draw the line. And the study on hydration study I participate where they measure my sweat rate, the researcher taught us the importance of recovery with electrolytes.

There's one issue I have with their argument is they tends to downplay hyponatremia and up-play hypernatremia. The thing is hyponatremia is a more prevalent occurrence in endurance running than hypernatremia, which is almost unheard off. This to me is fear mongering to forward their argument.

A simple AI search on the importance of rehydrating strategy, will show more studies than the "electrolyte makes no difference" studies.

xllms

This "Electrolyte aren't neccessary, they are making money for sport drink giants" argument is not new. Every now and then some article will surface with this argument. Started well back in the 90s, where there a sport nutritionist wrote a book , Waterlogged or something, and spoke against sports drinks manufacturer, and drinking water is just fine. For mostly, i think it's correct, 40 minute easy run, calisthenic at fitness corner, there's no need for sport drinks. But > 1hour run, that's where I draw the line. And the study on hydration study I participate where they measure my sweat rate, the researcher taught us the importance of recovery with electrolytes.

There's one issue I have with their argument is they tends to downplay hyponatremia and up-play hypernatremia. The thing is hyponatremia is a more prevalent occurrence in endurance running than hypernatremia, which is almost unheard off. This to me is fear mongering to forward their argument.

A simple AI search on the importance of rehydrating strategy, will show more studies than the "electrolyte makes no difference" studies.
new knowledge, thanks for sharing

rarenick

Wondering riba got brief participants of traffic rules of not more than 10 in a group or not. Later sure cluster together.

Ender

Other than greatly improving your mitochondria health (hence metabolic health), running is a powerhouse for your circulatory system. Not all aerobic exercises are equal.

WussRedXLi

I think maybe can go by this way....... since you run late afternoons for suntan.

if you needed to replenish with 600ml of water (eg size of 1 normal bidon) during your session, then you'd need 600mg of sodium. Very rough ballpark, unable to know exact unless if go for sweat test with a sodium ion meter. You adjust accordingly in future.
If end of the session after replenishing with 600ml during session your pee is still very solid yellow, then that 600ml a bit insufficient but still nothing to worry about coz not extended. Replenish asap.

Last monday, i went toilet before going out to change my crankset.
1.4L of water, all consumed during the journey. That's like 1400mg of sodium. Before heading back, just in case i went to the SPC petrol station toilet to let go, nothing much came out (solid yellow). When returned, still no pee until like 1hr+, after i had chugged down cups of Pokka Fuji Apple diluted with 70% vol water.

I believe that session i lost ~1400mg of sodium, and ~ 300mg of potassium.

Moral of the story, 100 plus has 48mg of sodium, i probably needed at least 2L of 100 plus possibly 3L also believable (of coz nothing is for certain coz i do not have a sodium ion meter).
I too poor to be consuming 100 plus like this. So i just take it from my normal meals or that soba sauce that i pour into my eggs or gravy can liao. Mai hiam buay pai lah
:frown:

Oh yes, the chicken rice sauce + soup which i usually have for dinner, quiet a fair bit of sodium.
The ba chor mee gravy also pretty salty. But best is if 2hrs can go out for session liao (drink up just before heading out, sometimes i hoot a cup of my fav Pokka Fuji Apple which still has 10.9g of HFCS per 100mg)
For mornings weekends, is a packet of instant noodles shared with my kid, soup all drink. Plus the soba sauce + egg, plus a fair bit of water to wash it down before getting out.

Sadisticnoob

I think less than 1 hour dont need any electrolyte drinks , but most of the endurance athletes that I know consume very little water for some unknown reason

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.