jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

I believe during bike fitting, the tester also usually does this.

For me, no such biomechanical imbalance.

GlassDoor

Even for me, is 1 time max per training week. And sometimes that training week might be 10 or even 11 days due to some other stuff (usually 9 days tho). At times i might skip also, due to more focus on strength / cali stuff. But at least for me, it needs to be done "all year round"....as a general focus coz i prefer to let it maintain and no detrain, and then slowly progress again when time is right. (sort of tortoise and hare story, with me being the tortoise).
same.. weekly one max out workout. we old liao cannot recover as fast.
thinking back.. VO2max was the training I needed for the break through last year. taught me and my body that we can run MUCH faster and can hold that pace for MUCH longer. But threshold workouts are much more sustainable

WussRedXLi

WOW

Explosive and very wide muscle ups. wtf (more difficult than shoulder width)

WussRedXLi

thinking back.. VO2max was the training I needed for the break through last year. taught me and my body that we can run MUCH faster and can hold that pace for MUCH longer. But threshold workouts are much more sustainable

Yep velocity @ vo2max impt sia.

WussRedXLi

How I Got Him To 60KG Dips (at 47 and With Heart Issues)​

"I am too old for this"

"I have heath issues, i cannot do this"

"Nope, not in this life, not possible"

WussRedXLi

2 sets per exercise.

At least now i know/can confirm that this method which i have been doing for the past year really can work and is possible. Not psuedoscience. More like Mike Mentzer mentality.
Getting to failure is number 1 priority. (can get close to failure as well, but issue with most esp beginners is that, you say he say but who confirm and how do you know).

And yes, as mentioned before, solid explosive movements. Really good for strength gains.
Seems like AI agrees.
Explosive reps are generally better for developing raw strength and power by maximizing neural drive and recruiting fast-twitch muscle fibers, while slow reps are superior for muscle hypertrophy (growth) due to increased time under tension. Optimal strength gains often come from using explosive, intent-driven movement on the concentric phase and controlled, slower eccentric phases.

Hope one day i can motivate my kid to do the same too.

"Lacking progressive overload"
"Lacking recovery between sets and between sessions"

Rbb4emv.jpg

euhVuRH.jpg

vXicg8P.jpg

rECKleSSfElla

Wah didn't knew Hougang stadium so happening. What's up with the hand holding workout? :s13:

The girl not bad. Already salivating. :s13:
Its serangoon stadium btw.....one of the designated venues for NS Fitness Improvement Training which is the rebranded IPPT preparatory/RT programme so yeah....whatever the PRC saw in the video should be those NS men undertaking the training.

WussRedXLi

Its serangoon stadium btw.....one of the designated venues for NS Fitness Improvement Training which is the rebranded IPPT preparatory/RT programme so yeah....whatever the PRC saw in the video should be those NS men undertaking the training.

What the....... nowadays the IPT / RT folks very satki looking. Last time not like this, i can confirm.

I need to buck up and not lag behind the youngsters. 🤣

Low res, but you get the drift.

ps. Doing/training for dips (1 fella in the pic) actually not that easy for the regular exercising joe. I remember last time yeah.... i could get below 20 for 5k ok sure it was just GPS timing (19 mins ++), but my dips were zero. I started with 5 push ups btw. Of coz, upper body and running (not at a super fast level) not much correlation.....but still.
And yea, i MR-ed 2 decades ago so that's why i really flunk push ups one....no touched upper body at all.

tldr - dips (down to 90 deg bend at elbow, doesnt matter if chest or tricep dip) more difficult than push ups.

POKnkUo.jpg

rECKleSSfElla

What the....... nowadays the IPT / RT folks very satki looking. Last time not like this, i can confirm.

I need to buck up and not lag behind the youngsters. 🤣
Nowadays IPPT prep and RT training damn flexible. Alot of outside venues to choose from so you are not limited to just within army camp. The training programme also more HIIT focused instead of of die die train for the station(s) you fail at aka if you fail 2.4, they just make you run run run non-stop. Also if you dont know, now IPPT test also simplified to just 3 stations nia.

DulanMax

The ones she mentioned are all fit zai leh

Cannot be the ones who cannot even pass IPPT...

rECKleSSfElla

That PRC never see topless man b4 lar. She say all 6-8 packs but honestly i took a gander at the video dont see all 6-8 pack leh. Also even if 6-8 pack also boh bao can run 2.4 or do push ups.

rECKleSSfElla

If those grp of men not from NS Fitness Improvement Training then i scared liao becuz i live in the area and do my runs at Serangoon stadium but in the mornings. However i will worry about going out in the evenings🤒.......

DulanMax

That PRC never see topless man b4 lar. She say all 6-8 packs but honestly i took a gander at the video dont see all 6-8 pack leh. Also even if 6-8 pack also boh bao can run 2.4 or do push ups.
Trust me, she wont be so excited if its the people from NSFIT

Have you seen the physique of the avg person who cant pass IPPT?

basic___

I do Norwegian Singles Method nowadays. No VO2 max session, just 3 threshold sessions per week. Your body recovers pretty fast provided you maintain discipline on your threshold paces while keeping easy run easy.

WussRedXLi

is this intermediate?

Unfortunately, some calisthenic exercises are very skills (a general term) focused.

I tried before, gave up, could not master. Since for me i just going for more strength based, i am happy with dips and just progress with weight. Good enough. For me if i handstand and then i fall, my flexibility and mobility is not there (i cannot bend forward "sit n reach" and my fingers cant even touch my ankles), and kena some disc herniation, serious muscle pull or something.......terok liao. I not young also.

Handstand is "unfortunately" one of those. Is it an intermediate grade calisthenic exercise, yes.....in terms of pushing strength it seems not that dissimilar to pull ups (pull), but then we must also see the muscle size that you need to train. The muscles involved in pull ups are generally stronger/can get stronger than overhead pushing that HS uses. However, for HS no range of motion is involved.......it's just a HS and then lock out with some isometric strength. A good fair amount of skills is need. With skills meaning balance, coodination and esp proprioception.

So HSPU is considered to be even harder to train for than pull ups or dips requiring more time/effort even if thinking about core strength + push strength and assuming you are gifted with balance. coordination and especially propioception which HSPU relies heavily on......proprioception i mentioned quite a few times before - it's how your body perceives itself in space without looking, based on inputs from sensor receptors in muscles. Nice to train that for middle aged folks, eg do a blindfolded single leg squat and see if can do 1 rep or not, or just try to one leg stand blindfolded and see how many seconds can hold.....or similarly i believe got blindfolded cross legged sit down and then stand up tests. Got longevity tests based on this kind of proprioception also......anyway i digress lah.

Or put it this way, one might not be able to do 1 pull up. But i think even those never really train folks can do a chin up isometric hold at the top of the bar or even 90 deg elbow bent part where the eyes or forehead is at the bar.

But handstand push up (HSPU) is not, that one need a lot of strength (and sufficient skills). There are also different patterns of HSPU, some significantly more difficult than others. HSPU is 100% considered a high -intermediate or advanced calisthenic exercise generally, but if you check youtube vids, the calisthenic influencers (expert ones, some are damn pro like Andry Strong) they grade them into 5-6 different categories.
Or maybe view it like this, got novice (noob), beginner, intermediate, high-intermediate, advanced, elite or full pro. And possible "God" level.......
The same goes for running/cycling, got simi S tier, god tier. 🤣

I know and have seen 1 lady at my area's fitness corner a few times. HS no issue, do like pro....... But her push ups, barely 30, albeit not knee ones and decent form. Still rather strong for a lady of coz, but 30 push ups for a guy, even elderly guy who trains, not really anything special. That means she quite possibly cant even do more than 1 or 2 full ROM elbows 90 deg dips, to be honest. Of coz, technically there is a diff between push forward (push ups) and overhead push (HS), but still......both are push exercises

Sorry, type too much again. But hope you get the drift. 🤣

WussRedXLi

Something like this, but with propioception difficulty added in, you do it with eyes closed. That is the easiest to do, shd be possible for the vast majority of the middle aged folks here.

The one leg stand one or one leg squat/hops is the difficult one.......eyes closed. I can do both, just not very good results (barely passed......definitely not pro). For squats/deadliffts/dips, i am in the intermediate or advanced range as per strengthlevel.com

Yes, got vid, ths ione.

sph777

I know some fit ppl do ipt for free money to exercise then on the 10th session go and get their gold.

Those that have to do NSfit, diff story.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.