jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

Warning : influenza content

Not so easy one lah....... i wont even dare to think about such things (nevermind that i cant swim freestyle for nuts).
Even just completing is a monumental challenge. Fitness gets you to the start line but completing it is about mental. Just think about it, the required amount of calories is like 3X that of a FM, which also means that your required nutrition is 3X. (some pax 1X FM already starting to merlion)

Other than the required higher levels of technical aspects in cycling (both bike handling, and repairing/fixing bike mechanical issues and generally way more things to tinker with. plus aerodynamics for performance) plus the neuro/skillset dependent required in swimming (also hydrodynamics) vs running.

WussRedXLi

now i dont wear slippers anymore, prefer to wear shoes cos i scared slip and fall.

BTW bro, i share with you hor....... last Sunday on a social ride with my kid, was at Sentosa stalking peacocks and stuff (saw 3 white albinos!!!) , we were a toilet break at Imbiah station monorail station and i was u-turning very tight radius when my kid called me and i lost balance coz i turned my head back to look at him.

Fell off the bike but heng at ultra low speeds and my right leg already stomped on the ground for balancing but still lost balance.
Both my hands/wrists hit the ground for support, heng no fracture at such low levels of impact (not sure if my past 2 years calisthenics routines got help in this area of strengthening or not). But still hard enough to significantly bruise the outer ball at the top of my fibula leg bone, the outer side of my patellar tendon at the fibular bone.

So even at low speeds and generally pretty decent bike handling skills (i do heckloads of riding around my estate and areas for errands), these things can happen.

If in clipless pedals and shoes, much higher chance of gg, esp for my age.

Ender

BTW bro, i share with you hor....... last Sunday on a social ride with my kid, was at Sentosa stalking peacocks and stuff (saw 3 white albinos!!!) , we were a toilet break at Imbiah station monorail station and i was u-turning very tight radius when my kid called me and i lost balance coz i turned my head back to look at him.

Fell off the bike but heng at ultra low speeds and my right leg already stomped on the ground for balancing but still lost balance.
Both my hands/wrists hit the ground for support, heng no fracture at such low levels of impact (not sure if my past 2 years calisthenics routines got help in this area of strengthening or not). But still hard enough to significantly bruise the outer ball at the top of my fibula leg bone, the outer side of my patellar tendon at the fibular bone.

So even at low speeds and generally pretty decent bike handling skills (i do heckloads of riding around my estate and areas for errands), these things can happen.

One Japanese ex olympian just died after a crash during a race.
https://www.facebook.com/share/p/1DmS3vLZj9/

WussRedXLi

One Japanese ex olympian just died after a crash during a race.
https://www.facebook.com/share/p/1DmS3vLZj9/

Track can get up to nearly 80kmh one.

Today WFH, just now went out to get lunch chop chop and then it started to turn dark fast and droplets started to drop. So cheonged back. Also not say fast speeds lah.......how fast could i have gotten around the roads around my estate man..... but coz of due to the rain starting , one fella also decided to suddenly dash out onto the road without checking. Luckily i had my front lights and BT speaker switched on and he saw/heard me and i also saw his umbrella sticking out......he came out from a blind area blocked by bushes, then 1 x 1.2m pathway and then ran onto the road. And yeah he had his mobile phone raised, ie distracted.

Luckily i managed to brake and avoided collision. I also didnt have to unclip and just hopped onto the top tube and both feet onto the ground.

F....basically is a sideways knock onto the head...... Not like frontal impact against a hard object @ 70-80kmh or what. But i think also has some solid twisting forces at play.....maybe neck got twisted or what.

WussRedXLi

Check out her gluteus maximus and medius engaging. Quite clear in this vid coz of her low % BF

Your glutes engage during a pull-up primarily for core stability. By contracting the gluteus maximus and gluteus medius, you create a rigid foundation from your pelvis down to your feet, preventing your body from swinging and allowing your upper body to transfer pulling force efficiently.

Ender

F....basically is a sideways knock onto the head...... Not like frontal impact against a hard object @ 70-80kmh or what. But i think also has some solid twisting forces at play.....maybe neck got twisted or what.

Ya, looks like there neck twisting there. Assuming it's the yellow rider.

WussRedXLi

This type of track accidents craziest one.

Anyway i was a bit wrong with the speeds earlier. Speeds are in the 63-65kmh range for these Keirins and team pursuits, not 80kmh range that i said earlier. For it to reach 80kmh is those like 200m sprints with a flying start.

bbbbbw

thank you for sharing bro. i get your kind intentions and meaning. yeah we dont need clipless to enjoy a ride. luckily you are safe...

WussRedXLi

Tanaka. Give you a visual sense of comparison of her standard vs the world

Their 2.4 split is like around 6:45, but of coz this is a 3k race

Jessical Hull is 2k WR holder

WussRedXLi

The standard of parkruns there absolutely crazy one.

You run a low 17 mins and you are merely like top 40. (a couple of them running faster actually went the wrong way and not turn into the ending point funnel, so actually not even top 40)
Also got some seniors (55-59) and Pri/lower secondary (11-14) at the same level.

WussRedXLi

I haven't bought any yet. Still exploring but leaning towards the taobao ones suggested by @xllms

Go for the xllms' cycling socks and wear with confidence ba.
This morning i also kena soaked from cycling, shoes all wet. Is only the typical wet socks and shoes feeling, no water retention.

Cycling is jin jialat for the lower parts ie shoes one. And also the chain. You will not believe the amount of splash being kicked up from the road until you've seen it, maciam like a running tap sprayed up with a nozzle one. And then add the foward motion of the bicycle, even at just 20-25kmh = a lot of water.

Coz the front tyre splashes water onto the downtube and also shoes / chainring / china areas.
And if water bottles are mounted on the downtube area (typical), is very very dirty one, asphalt run-off shiat, small rocks all have,

GlassDoor

I haven't bought any yet. Still exploring but leaning towards the taobao ones suggested by @xllms
did a 35k this morning. everything soaking wet but no ponding in shoes.
in the last 2 years+ XN is the ONLY shoe that I have worn that has serious ponding issues due to the vertical holes in the midsole acting like reservoirs. high socks may help delay the onset but if you do long runs .. i don't think it will help.

sph777

did a 35k this morning. everything soaking wet but no ponding in shoes.
in the last 2 years+ XN is the ONLY shoe that I have worn that has serious ponding issues due to the vertical holes in the midsole acting like reservoirs.
I think it is probably the XN that causes my issues too. Hence haven't bought the socks

Ender

@sph777 bro you found a socks to alleviate your ponding issue yet?

Go for the xllms' cycling socks and wear with confidence ba.
This morning i also kena soaked from cycling, shoes all wet. Is only the typical wet socks and shoes feeling, no water retention.

Cycling is jin jialat for the lower parts ie shoes one. And also the chain. You will not believe the amount of splash being kicked up from the road until you've seen it, maciam like a running tap sprayed up with a nozzle one. And then add the foward motion of the bicycle, even at just 20-25kmh = a lot of water.

Coz the front tyre splashes water onto the downtube and also shoes / chainring / china areas.
And if water bottles are mounted on the downtube area (typical), is very very dirty one, asphalt run-off shiat, small rocks all have,

After seeing the translucent calf length cycling socks by WussRedXli. I went looking around PDD to see if there any quarter length alternative. Found these that may be it. I bought the 361 to try, now it's somewhere in China, not even on sea yet.
But you do know that once ponding, no socks can alleviate that discomfort of having a pond inside your shoe. It's a shoe problem rather than socks. Socks might help in the soak prior to ponding, for me it's most runs under 85 minutes.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.