jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

I haven't bought any yet. Still exploring but leaning towards the taobao ones suggested by @xllms

Go for the xllms' cycling socks and wear with confidence ba.
This morning i also kena soaked from cycling, shoes all wet. Is only the typical wet socks and shoes feeling, no water retention.

Cycling is jin jialat for the lower parts ie shoes one. And also the chain. You will not believe the amount of splash being kicked up from the road until you've seen it, maciam like a running tap sprayed up with a nozzle one. And then add the foward motion of the bicycle, even at just 20-25kmh = a lot of water.

Coz the front tyre splashes water onto the downtube and also shoes / chainring / china areas.
And if water bottles are mounted on the downtube area (typical), is very very dirty one, asphalt run-off shiat, small rocks all have,

GlassDoor

I haven't bought any yet. Still exploring but leaning towards the taobao ones suggested by @xllms
did a 35k this morning. everything soaking wet but no ponding in shoes.
in the last 2 years+ XN is the ONLY shoe that I have worn that has serious ponding issues due to the vertical holes in the midsole acting like reservoirs. high socks may help delay the onset but if you do long runs .. i don't think it will help.

sph777

in the last 2 years+ XN is the ONLY shoe that I have worn that has serious ponding issues due to the vertical holes in the midsole acting like reservoirs.
I think it is probably the XN that causes my issues too. Hence haven't bought the socks

Ender

@sph777 bro you found a socks to alleviate your ponding issue yet?

Go for the xllms' cycling socks and wear with confidence ba.
This morning i also kena soaked from cycling, shoes all wet. Is only the typical wet socks and shoes feeling, no water retention.

Cycling is jin jialat for the lower parts ie shoes one. And also the chain. You will not believe the amount of splash being kicked up from the road until you've seen it, maciam like a running tap sprayed up with a nozzle one. And then add the foward motion of the bicycle, even at just 20-25kmh = a lot of water.

Coz the front tyre splashes water onto the downtube and also shoes / chainring / china areas.
And if water bottles are mounted on the downtube area (typical), is very very dirty one, asphalt run-off shiat, small rocks all have,

After seeing the translucent calf length cycling socks by WussRedXli. I went looking around PDD to see if there any quarter length alternative. Found these that may be it. I bought the 361 to try, now it's somewhere in China, not even on sea yet.
But you do know that once ponding, no socks can alleviate that discomfort of having a pond inside your shoe. It's a shoe problem rather than socks. Socks might help in the soak prior to ponding, for me it's most runs under 85 minutes.

Ender

I think it is probably the XN that causes my issues too. Hence haven't bought the socks
Til now, no shoes reviewers has ever flag this ponding issue. The ignorance of living in a low humidity and cold country.
Ponding is a recognised problem in performance sport. Nike alphafly or vaporfly all won't have ponding issues, but the lower range like pegasus, at least the 35 I had, pond like mad.

GlassDoor

After seeing the translucent calf length cycling socks by WussRedXli. I went looking around PDD to see if there any quarter length alternative. Found these that may be it. I bought the 361 to try, now it's somewhere in China, not even on sea yet.
But you do know that once ponding, no socks can alleviate that discomfort of having a pond inside your shoe. It's a shoe problem rather than socks. Socks might help in the soak prior to ponding, for me it's most runs under 85 minutes.

review please.. after you use (y)

Ender

in the last 2 years+ XN is the ONLY shoe that I have worn that has serious ponding issues due to the vertical holes in the midsole acting like reservoirs. high socks may help delay the onset but if you do long runs .. i don't think it will help.
High socks may delay the onset, but soak up the sweat that adds on to the weight. Fo those very neow on shoes weight.. LOL.

GlassDoor

Til now, no shoes reviewers has ever flag this ponding issue. The ignorance of living in a low humidity and cold country.
Ponding is a recognised problem in performance sport. Nike alphafly or vaporfly all won't have ponding issues, but the lower range like pegasus, at least the 35 I had, pond like mad.
you still running in pegasus 35??!! my idol :ROFLMAO:

Ender

@sph777 . This podcast may interest you. His strategy to drop weight before race day.
But I think during intense training block, Peak strenght phase, his CICO deficit can be dangerous. low margin of error. his solution is to eat normally or to full for quality days, like interval and long runs. Easy day is where he does his CICO deficit.

WussRedXLi

These look even better than mine.......really can try. Even on TB, rmb 18 can try many pairs already.

WussRedXLi

Have to really watch the whole video first for the nuances ie age, newbies vs advanced, dont jump to conclusions from the title.

eg
WDEZAHQ.jpg

WussRedXLi

This kind of pattern also got. Not sure if i would wanna try even for 1-2 reps, seems a bit risky for the wrists' tendons.

Really needs fast twitch explosivity as well, other than just strength.

Bonus

(actually, you can achieve it for way less duration, but lets just say it's still very achievable for normal folks even for girls or the elderly male with avg genetics)

sph777

@sph777 . This podcast may interest you. His strategy to drop weight before race day.
But I think during intense training block, Peak strenght phase, his CICO deficit can be dangerous. low margin of error. his solution is to eat normally or to full for quality days, like interval and long runs. Easy day is where he does his CICO deficit.

my coach angry that I keep gaining cause I never diet LOL. I think need to start soon which is what I keep saying but never DO lol

WussRedXLi

my coach angry that I keep gaining cause I never diet LOL. I think need to start soon which is what I keep saying but never DO lol

Actually morning just eat 4 eggs can already....there wont be any heath issues one and i confirm you wont be hungry till lunch time. Takes 2-3 weeks to get used to this and after that will be smooth sailing. If need something sweet/carbs, mix some milo powder and Nescafe Gold at the pantry (but not a big 600ml cup hor), put ice, tada that's your lifestyle beverage. Lunch and dinner normal portions of carbs since your volume avg not low (plus you swim also)....plus you need to fuel during your long days in which you really burn the cals coz that also affects how fast and how much you recover for the next session . Up your protein also with say 20-30g of powdered whey protein daily. Cut out ALL junk and lifestyle foods which has literally no nutrition, ok liao. (or you can eat them during your run lah......go eat your fav brownie(s) for kicks just before your long zone 2 sesh, wont vomit one)

And, "unfortunately", there is a need to strength train. As in, the strength training that i always post about, not the typical runner's strength training that does nothing at all in our context. Put on muscle mass. Make sure you get at least 1 to 1.2g/kg of protein intake......but no real need to pile it up towards 2g/kg.
You might want to start on Creatine when you get more serious about building muscle/strength and past the beginner's gains stage.

Tell him that you are putting on muscle mass and want to cut down BF % so absolute weight figure might not go down a lot, at least that would be more palatable. Once you have more muscle mass, it will be easier to target the weight aspect.
Actually you go look at during SRY's prime, his muscle mass is not low (can easily be seen simply coz his BF% is low), and is still significantly more than most of the Pack 1 fast running club runners.

WussRedXLi

One more thing, if solely plain water is too much, can try 1.5L Ayataka. Still keeps the mind happy.

WussRedXLi

Ender is correct, in the local context, the mindset about diet/nutrition must be very very very strong.

I used to be like that......but dont know why after that changed. maybe is also coz of age.

Nowadays totally no issue, you can put me in a food street and that does nothing for me. Maybe much 1 small snack and that is enough liao, i dont crave one. I think after a certain point, it gets much easier.

Tudo88

Unfortunately, we are Singaporean runners. Most of us is run to eat. Run a lot mileage, then justify to ourself we can eat all the durians and CKT.
Lol. That’s what I thought also. Running 70-80km per week, I thought I can indulge in any food I want. But without counting calories, I was actually eating way more than I was burning. Maybe too much fast food and bubble tea lol.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.