Knife sharpening services

FireEmblem

Zwilling makes Japanese knives in Japan, those like lousy too?! :oops:

I am talking bout German tech knife itself. In Japan, they surely bought over some Japan tech to make the Japanese knives.

Btw Miyabi can only impress the normal lay person and over priced for the normal home chef which is the target market for. There are much much better japanese knives out there at better price to performance.

German tech knives themselves are made of much softer steel and does not keep their edge too well, need more frequent sharpening. I have two of them myself bought long ago before japanese kitchen knife became easily available online and they are the top tier zwilling at that moment in time (Miyabi was not even available then)

FireEmblem

If your knife can slice through paper it is sharp alway remember a blunt knife is a dangerous knife cause you are using force to cut through if you accidentally cut your hand or finger it will be a very deep cut.

Too bad alot of people think a blunt knife is better say won't Kenna cut by it seriously.

Thus when they handle a real sharp knife, easily get themselves injured when they apply blunt knife cutting techniques with the sharp ones.

My mum used blunt knifes all her life and the first time she tried cooking at my house, sliced her finger real bad and she dun dare to use the knives at my house anymore

ghregular

Too bad alot of people think a blunt knife is better say won't Kenna cut by it seriously.

Thus when they handle a real sharp knife, easily get themselves injured when they apply blunt knife cutting techniques with the sharp ones.

My mum used blunt knifes all her life and the first time she tried cooking at my house, sliced her finger real bad and she dun dare to use the knives at my house anymore
ya me too
i use my old steak knife to cut or peel almost everything.

ghregular

Didn't know so many knife enthusiast here, I always thought not many ppl interested in such boh liao things. My wife always scold me for buying expensive knives 😂
ya i m surprised too.
i surely know nuts abt knifes after reading.

FireEmblem

Actually for the average home chef dun need to go for japanese knifes lah, really go to AliExpress search for a vg10 knife is way more then enough. Can get one for bout $40+ now, used to be 20+. Cutting performance is alot alot better then the average cheap knife most people are used to. (Vg10 is a type of steel that gives good edge retention of typically higher quality japanese knife provides)

The really good and expensive knife are so cause of their qualities that cater to full time professional chefs who needs to use the knife 30-50 times more then a occasional home cook.

Qualities like edge retention, balance of the knife (use it whole day will less likely get muscle ache), non stickiness of the blade (Damascus folded patterns helps to make knife less sticky as remove the very smooth surface that make food stick to it easily).

There are tons of knife tech that cater for this but the occasional home chef will not even notice them much or why they are priced such.

I have a hiromoto tenmi jyuraku aogami super blue steel no 1 knife by legendary knife smith master nagao who has since retired and his knives are in great demand by chef around the world , snapped up if ever one is on sale as no longer in production and he has no heir to continue his craft.

Mine now sits in storage as it is way above what I can handle, super razor sharp and especially cos it is carbon steel that will get rusty if dun maintain it well.

I bought it at a time when got interested in Japan knifes and did not know too much, just wanted to get one very good one.

ceestudent

I wonder if those shoppee $25 whetstone works?
Yes, it works. For starter can buy the 2 grit on the same stone for learning purpose. can choose 1000/4000 or 1000/3000 grit. Very cheap, only about 10-15$ with the rubber seating.

Also buy 1 cheap rougher stone about 400 or 500 grit to flatten your 1000 whetstone, else just buy few pieces of 80 or 120 grit sandpaper to flatten your whetstone. You don't need flatten your whetstone so often. Usually after few months of use will do.

FireEmblem

Yes, it works. For starter can buy the 2 grit on the same stone for learning purpose. can choose 1000/4000 or 1000/3000 grit. Very cheap, only about 10-15$ with the rubber seating.

Also buy 1 cheap rougher stone about 400 or 500 grit to flatten your 1000 whetstone, else just buy few pieces of 80 or 120 grit sandpaper to flatten your whetstone. You don't need flatten your whetstone so often. Usually after few months of use will do.

The average home cook may not even reach a stage need to flatten the whetstone. I cook semi regularly and sharpen my knife like once every 3-6 months and the whetstones I bought since 10+ years ago never even get wear down much

RyanJ

Recently went Tan Boon Liat Razorsharp.

53984153231_045aea48a8_b.jpg

53984469279_93be6440b2_b.jpg

light84

Nice thread ..

I bought knife from Taobao, it’s a brand called Xinzhuo. Damascus steel with 62-64 HRC, Santoku knife.

When it first came, it was super sharp. A simple flick and I accidentally cut myself but luckily din bleed much.

I tried to polish it myself after it’s blunt and I have a 1000, 3000 and 6000 whetstone. I use the angle attachment clip and clip to knife to polish at a fixed angle but somehow I can sharpen it but still not as sharp as when I first got it. Any tips?

ceestudent

The average home cook may not even reach a stage need to flatten the whetstone. I cook semi regularly and sharpen my knife like once every 3-6 months and the whetstones I bought since 10+ years ago never even get wear down much
Yeah, by right no need so often if use all surface equally. Usually newbie will use 1 side so often when flattening, at least i did that last time. Haha.

Btw, don't need to buy expensive japanese wetstone that cost 60-80$ when you just started. It is not gonna help at all. The key for knife sharpening is the consistent angle and don't apply too much pressure, just use 2 finger to press is more than enough.

ceestudent

Nice thread ..

I bought knife from Taobao, it’s a brand called Xinzhuo. Damascus steel with 62-64 HRC, Santoku knife.

When it first came, it was super sharp. A simple flick and I accidentally cut myself but luckily din bleed much.

I tried to polish it myself after it’s blunt and I have a 1000, 3000 and 6000 whetstone. I use the angle attachment clip and clip to knife to polish at a fixed angle but somehow I can sharpen it but still not as sharp as when I first got it. Any tips?
Is it sharp enough after you sharpen with 1000 grit? mean can cut paper cleanly at least. 3000 and 6000 grit is just for polishing purpose. Usually the last polishing step is using leather strop (apply green compound or autosol cream on top)

potato13

Is it facing the coffeeshop? I remembered passing by there and saw before, but everytime it's closed and I stay in the east. Any idea whats the opening hours?
he usually open 2pm to 8pm..
Try google for his number and let him know u going down.
He operate 1 man show.. sometime he travel to other Market to sharpen knife for butcher / fish mongor etc.

menthol28

he usually open 2pm to 8pm..
Try google for his number and let him know u going down.
He operate 1 man show.. sometime he travel to other Market to sharpen knife for butcher / fish mongor etc.
Thanx! No wonder the few times I passed by I see the shop closed

light84

Is it sharp enough after you sharpen with 1000 grit? mean can cut paper cleanly at least. 3000 and 6000 grit is just for polishing purpose. Usually the last polishing step is using leather strop (apply green compound or autosol cream on top)
Can cut paper after 1000 grit but not very sharp cos some part of the edge can cut but some part sometimes can and sometimes can’t. I also dunno how many times must run through the 1000 grit before it’s sharp enough and move to 3000.

ceestudent

Can cut paper after 1000 grit but not very sharp cos some part of the edge can cut but some part sometimes can and sometimes can’t. I also dunno how many times must run through the 1000 grit before it’s sharp enough and move to 3000.
Usually you can move to upper grit once it developed the burr. you can feel it by finger.

yperic

Home use just get a chef or santoku knife can already this 2 knife is multi purpose can cut everything except bone which you will need a cleaver to cut.

FireEmblem

Means you did not sharpen all the edges evenly, you need to get rid of the angel fixer and sharpen it freehand, only then you will feel which part of the blade you are sharpening and if all the edges are covered well

Sharpen one side till you can feel the burr (loose metal shavings) then turn over sharpen the other side till both side is even and this burr is minimized then move on to next higher grit and do the same thing.

When you are at the highest grit already then must ensure you sharpen very evenly already.

Final stage is one stoke front, one strike back to make it even

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.