LG G4

maur_james

even for ppl who kena bootloop 2nd time? I think those who kena 2nd bootloop will have a case (even if their warranty already expire), as it would mean they didn't fix it properly the 1st time round
Arbitrary, they can also say it was working fine when they return the phone back to you.

Save yourself the hassle, sell, trade-in, whatever, just get rid of it. It's a time bomb waiting to go off...good while it lasted.

looper1994

Arbitrary, they can also say it was working fine when they return the phone back to you.

Save yourself the hassle, sell, trade-in, whatever, just get rid of it. It's a time bomb waiting to go off...good while it lasted.

I plan on getting oneplus 3 but oneplus don't have service centre here. So I guess warranty side of oneplus will surely be worse than lg.

Should I risk getting another lg phone? Lg seems to have bootloop issue on every phone so v10, g5...

mungenx

I plan on getting oneplus 3 but oneplus don't have service centre here. So I guess warranty side of oneplus will surely be worse than lg.

Should I risk getting another lg phone? Lg seems to have bootloop issue on every phone so v10, g5...

don't do it la. already kena one time by lg leh. once bitten twice shy. i'm looking at xiaomi 5 but like even more riskier sia buying from third party places which are almost twice as cheaper than the official store. lol i still can't believe a flagship from one of the major brands in the phone market is so jialat

twinbaby

@twinbaby
There's an inherent risk in carrying out that method as condensation might trigger the moisture indicators on the phone thus possibly voiding the warranty altogether.

Not a concern. Data is more important.
I replaced my phone at LG service center already.
I not care if the phone warranty is void, at most I just change to Xiaomi or Oppo after that.

chiaRH

according to them, they won't honour it after warranty. and the cso said it specifically for the bootloop problem as well. so it's a pretty huge risk for any lg g4 user currently playing pokemon go right now if you ask me - if the g4 user has no more warranty. Hope g4 users who have replaced their mobos can clarify if their servicing is solid or is it really prone to relapsing into a bootloop again.

Mine got serviced in late Dec/Early Jan and its still fine, didnt encounter 2nd bootloop. But I understand it is on the tail end of the serviving period where a lot of the people who serviced their devices didnt get a proper fix hence 2nd bootloop, so i also am a bit wary although nothing went wrong after 6 months past.

For now at least to get my money's worth I hope to at least be able to use this device for a full 2 years, then around early 2017 switch out to something else.

J*Squared

My phone got into a bootloop (phone hanged) on Monday while travelling to work playing Pokemon Go.

Went home to try the freezer method for 15 mins, 30 mins, 3 hours and it didn't work. Only managed to boot to login screen but restarted shortly after. It worked again during the thawing process :s13: Quickly backed up my photos.

Pokemon Go was still running in the background. Checked the temperature with CPU-Z and it was at 84 degrees C despite being in the freezer. After shutting down the app and putting to airplane mode, the idle temp was 50-60 degrees C.

Went to service centre this morning for replacement and CSO said can expedite my repair within an hour but I didn't wanna wait. Please bring along your receipt or contract. Without any of those, the warranty will take effect from the manufacturing date. Also disable your password once manage to bootup. Overheard another CSO telling a customer that still might have chance to retrieve data if its not password locked (need to specifically request but no guarantee. Be nice to them though). Good luck :D

First LG and android user -.-
S/N: 510

looper1994

My phone got into a bootloop (phone hanged) on Monday while travelling to work playing Pokemon Go.

Went home to try the freezer method for 15, 30, 3 hours and it didn't work. Only managed to boot to login screen but restarted shortly after. It worked again during the thawing process :s13: Quickly backed up my photos.

Pokemon Go was still running in the background. Checked the temperature with CPU-Z and it was at 84 degrees C despite being in the freezer. After shutting down the app, the idle temp was 50-60 degrees.

Went to service centre this morning for replacement and CSO said can expedite my repair within an hour but I didn't wanna wait. Please bring along your receipt or contract. Without any of those, the warranty will take effect from the manufacturing date. Also disable your password once manage to bootup. Overheard another CSO telling a customer that still might have chance to retrieve data if its not password locked (need to specifically request but no guarantee. Be nice to them though). Good luck :D

First LG and android user -.-
S/N: 510

Lucky u still have warranty then

maur_james

Huawei? P9Plus, Mate8?

dreamz13

tmd..kena 2nd bootloop playing pokemongo. warranty expires 2 month ago, wonder if they will entertain.

mungenx

this is exactly what i said was going to happen. to everyone playing pokemon go out there with the g4.... beware! :|

looper1994

this is exactly what i said was going to happen. to everyone playing pokemon go out there with the g4.... beware! :|

Well the thing is avoiding Pokemon go may extend the life of your g4, but for how long? Even if you don't play the game, chances are it will spontaneously fail on you. I think the best way to proceed is just play Pokemon go after all millions are playing and so far nothing have surface (except correlation of g4 ) to suggest it damages phone.

If the phone fails well at least it dies now when you are expecting it. Bring it in for repair? If denied free repair, free yourself from the shackles of Lg and the constant threat of bootloop, get a new phone.

J*Squared

Got back my phone yesterday afternoon with S/N: 607. Screen not changed. Realised my screen also have minor image retention at the notification bar but not noticeable.

Phone does not heat up significantly like the previously, neither does playing Pokemon Go but I'm only playing it only once every 30 minutes. Everything looks good now so shall continue to observe for any symptoms.

dreamz13

Ok managed to get free repair even though my warranty expired in June. They say it's the last free repair. I also overheard the cso telling the same thing to someone earlier. Can collect 3 to 5 days later.

Well I guess u can do what u suggested in ur previous post. Do tell us how it goes.

mungenx

Ok managed to get free repair even though my warranty expired in June. They say it's the last free repair. I also overheard the cso telling the same thing to someone earlier. Can collect 3 to 5 days later.

oh... but then after the last free repair. then it kena again. then how. :eek:
when did you have your first repair? was it in the Nov/Dec period in 2015?

dreamz13

oh... but then after the last free repair. then it kena again. then how. :eek:
when did you have your first repair? was it in the Nov/Dec period in 2015?
Yes my first repair was in Dec. If still kena again, then forget it lor.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.