[Maylyn's Review] ASUS RT-AC87U

renfred89

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2007
Messages
17,509
Reaction score
4
Dear all,

RT-AC87U: 3.0.0.4_378_5134 Unofficial beta

Changelog:
Update: QIS ver. 1.5
Update: traffic monitor
Fix: reduce media server memory usage
Fix: [Media Bridge] Can't connect to P-AP by 5GHz DFS channel
Fix: [USB Application][Media Server - Windows media player
Fix: WAN Status LED

* No hard reset require from build 4950

Download: http://goo.gl/ppJuct

Best regard,
JK

5134 is pretty much stable, i encourage all users to try..

But for the wireless-professional page, you will have a floating support bubble:

Screen%20Shot%202015-04-16%20at%2010.06.20%20am_zpsbcez0zmk.png


Most likely an UI glitch. tested on mac 10.10.3, with safari and google chrome browser.
 

thiamhui

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2001
Messages
644
Reaction score
0
5134 is pretty much stable, i encourage all users to try..

But for the wireless-professional page, you will have a floating support bubble:

Screen%20Shot%202015-04-16%20at%2010.06.20%20am_zpsbcez0zmk.png


Most likely an UI glitch. tested on mac 10.10.3, with safari and google chrome browser.
The actual content of those "floating support" are still downloading. It will goes away once it is done.

Previous version also had this issue.
 

renfred89

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2007
Messages
17,509
Reaction score
4
Ehy, the change log doesn't say anything about fixing wireless issue - just mostly usb media server fixes

flashing it now

hahas i also never say it fixes your wireless problems.. just saying its a stable beta for users to try.. :s13::s13:
 

seller4

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2004
Messages
15,678
Reaction score
21
I called Myrepublic and escalated the issue. They claimed they are aware of the issue and is looking n fixing it. ETA for fix in 24 to 48 hours. If 48 hours still like that, we can all call in n give them a peace of our mind. :s13:
MR fixed the issue liao. Upload speed is back to normal for all my Android devices. :D
 

ho_kuku

Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2009
Messages
187
Reaction score
8
hahas i also never say it fixes your wireless problems.. just saying its a stable beta for users to try.. :s13::s13:

Ya hor..... think I am too obsessed with the problem already. Giving it some time before selling it
 

ho_kuku

Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2009
Messages
187
Reaction score
8
MR fixed the issue liao. Upload speed is back to normal for all my Android devices. :D

Ya, notice that too. Just surprised that they have the ability to restrict speed on devices based on their OS....
 

thiamhui

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2001
Messages
644
Reaction score
0
Dear all,

RT-AC87U: 3.0.0.4_378_5134 Unofficial beta

Changelog:
Update: QIS ver. 1.5
Update: traffic monitor
Fix: reduce media server memory usage
Fix: [Media Bridge] Can't connect to P-AP by 5GHz DFS channel
Fix: [USB Application][Media Server - Windows media player
Fix: WAN Status LED

* No hard reset require from build 4950

Download: http://goo.gl/ppJuct

Best regard,
JK
DDNS issue reported at http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/i...]-asus-rt-ac87u-4781419-183.html#post92964726 is still not fix.
 

thiamhui

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2001
Messages
644
Reaction score
0
Dear Thiamhui,

We can confirm DDNS is working fine.

Tested by many user.

Please do not use restore settings

Best regard,
JK
DDNS itself is working, just that the DDNS hostname would become corrupted after backing up the router configuration.
 

ov2rey

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2005
Messages
12,657
Reaction score
0
DDNS itself is working, just that the DDNS hostname would become corrupted after backing up the router configuration.

Hi thiamhui,

Did you restore the configure setting before 4950 firmware?
 

ov2rey

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2005
Messages
12,657
Reaction score
0
Err… I didn't restore any configure setting onto the 4950 firmware.

JK already said if you restore configure settings save before 4950 then you cannot restore.

I don't recommend use restore configure settingws.
 

thiamhui

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2001
Messages
644
Reaction score
0
JK already said if you restore configure settings save before 4950 then you cannot restore.

I don't recommend use restore configure settingws.
I have a habit to make a backup of configuration in case I need to reset and restore on the same firmware version.

Anyway, this issue was also discovered on Asuswrt-Merlin firmware and was fixed.
http://asuswrt.lostrealm.ca/changelog said:
378.52_2 (5-Apr-2015)
- CHANGED: Updated AiCloud prebuilt binaries for MIPS models
- CHANGED: Applied kernel patch for MIPS kernel ported from 376_3861,
related to CTF support
- FIXED: AiCloud would fail to start unless you had HTTPS enabled for
the webui (causing the key/cert to be missing)
- FIXED: DDNS hostname would become corrupted after backing up
your router configuration (Asus bug)
 

ASUS@SG

Suspended
Joined
Jul 26, 2011
Messages
7,582
Reaction score
3
I have a habit to make a backup of configuration in case I need to reset and restore on the same firmware version.

Anyway, this issue was also discovered on Asuswrt-Merlin firmware and was fixed.

Dear Thiamhui,

Please take note: If the firmware required hard reset and please do not use restore feature, due to some coding may change and it will cause the router unstable.

Best regard,
JK
 
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.
Top