Median salary for degree holders in Singapore hits S$8,650

lls0101

That's why I don't understand why edmwers said housing too expensive for our next gen. Their salary so high, worry about yourself better
This median of $8650 only applies to 43% of the workforce who are degree holders.

To use 43% to speak for the entire population is not accurate.

The median income for the entire workforce is still $5500.

And if one thinks this $8650 looks good and high, then one need to think again. In the report, this group of degree holders actually experienced negative real income growth (-0.4%) for 2019-2024 due to higher inflation. This group purchasing power is actually eroded by the high inflation.

On the bright side, the salary growth for national median and the lower P20 group managed to outpaced the high inflation during the 2019-2024 by 0.7% and 1.2% respectively.

Tschuus

the article didnt state include employer’s cpf or aws/bonuses too. If it does include then dont u tink the median salary for degree holders in sg is actually quite low? :s11: :(

Maybe it will be clearer if they break it up into by age groups.

Include CPF but probably exclude bonuses. At 8656x12 = 103,872 =>
USD 76,408. Sg degree holder are earning way way higher than most people in the world

stats1-2024.png

stats2-2024.png

Balian

no. i'm just a numbers person. 0.54mil is seriously not a lot compared to the 1.8 Mil foreigners.

PRs actually also got huge % which are naturalised; hubbies or wifus who will not leave and are contributing to SG's economy, don't view them as adversaries leh. our fathers also migrants lor

issue is how much and how fast they are being assimilated. Too much and too fast they will bring in other countries' culture instead
Did u serve ns?

Its not that i want to view PR as adversaries.
But the system in place is one where i have to serve ns to protect these PR while they get to buy hdb and further jack up property price.

and many PRs that i know have hdb here and big landed in malaysia. And they dont intend to have their kids serve ns.

the system in place benefits PR and foreigners over male citizens

white_prince

Degree holders from which nationalities? Then TSL will tell us there are no data to show…
I know local Uni grads alot arr driving grab.

RinoaX

T
For the last time what is median

Median here is 5 in the middle

0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7 8,9,10

For sure u can find 11 people in singapore earning 0k to 10k

BUT.. its possible
1million people earn 1k as grab food
1 million people earn 2k as admin clerk
but only 10,000 people earn 5k

Understand how PAP is trying to smoke chu
To illustrate the smoking even more

11 people with below:

0, 1, 1, 1, 9*, 9, 9, 100, 1000

Median is 9.

So those earning 0 and 1s will believe Median is 9.

Akky85

if PAP dare, show the statistics of the salary breakdown and their percentile. dun use median. then u can see rich gets richer and poor gets poorer
This is the correct way to analyze actual stats that truly matters. But it bears them no benefits at all becuz the stats is quite damming. So have to creatively present stats in such a way that it looks good on the surface. Afterall, they are the only 1 with all the data and everyone else is pretty much left to deductive and educated guesses at best.

Need another party to break the monopoly in order to see the actual stats then the rest of sinkies will understand just how much complicit they have been enabling such stupidity.

daveteo88

That's why I don't understand why edmwers said housing too expensive for our next gen. Their salary so high, worry about yourself better
Cannot buy HDB if salary too high. Then buy condo will say housing expensive.

xLupDup

To use median, means the dataset have skewed distributions, with numerous outliers?

ksapple

Edmw still wins like median 20k
8k is fresh grad pay leh

HomeMommy

Include CPF but probably exclude bonuses. At 8656x12 = 103,872 =>
USD 76,408. Sg degree holder are earning way way higher than most people in the world

stats1-2024.png

stats2-2024.png

but not to forget sg property n car ish way higher too. And our pte ppty mostly are on 99yr lease. And our coe only lasts for 10yrs. I recently told an SA in paris that our basic car costs arnd eur $100k and she was kinda shocked.

Tschuus

Degree holders from which nationalities? Then TSL will tell us there are no data to show…
I know local Uni grads alot arr driving grab.
Makes sense. It is median. Half of the people earn lower than S$8.6k/month. i guess those are the uni grad drivers.

V-FORTY

last time i do research in school
i also cherry pick stats to back up my findings

junlove

Did u serve ns?
I'm born here, yes, in 40s and served longer than you think.

what has this got to do with the discussion? citizens need to understand there are indeed real purpose of the mix of PRs, Foreigners even, to propel singapore's economy. the issue is the % required, for sustainable growth without breaking the social fabric and adversely affecting our singaporean way of life and culture. We need a mix, but how much is the real qns.

So don't cast aspersion over them, ask the right questions instead.

Eliwood

Did u serve ns?

Its not that i want to view PR as adversaries.
But the system in place is one where i have to serve ns to protect these PR while they get to buy hdb and further jack up property price.

and many PRs that i know have hdb here and big landed in malaysia. And they dont intend to have their kids serve ns.

the system in place benefits PR and foreigners over male citizens

The govt's view is that ur NS obligation is because of the benefits u received from birth till 18.

That is why 2nd gen PR also have the same obligation, because they grew up in SG.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.