Mid Life Reflection

rider83

With the depreciation in AUD, what is your return on investment in SGD?

I am curious because i am also keen into buying a property in Perth (near King’s park) but thinking between investment (rent out) or vacation home (run away from SG heat)

Coffeelix

I can't buy 2 at one go. The 20% absd is crazy. I would be buying a bigger apartment if I'm gg to.
Split between your wife n you lah.
Best not to put all eggs in one basket
Not unless your wife isn’t sg and absd kenna gao gao.
Sg is a FINE city… too fine that all zao buay hu

Coffeelix

My wife already own a private. Same absd applies.
Not sure sg rental market will hold for the foreseeable future.
I met many sg foreign workers relocating to lease at jb.
Businessmen and factories also relocating / relocated

MoeLanYong

With the depreciation in AUD, what is your return on investment in SGD?

I am curious because i am also keen into buying a property in Perth (near King’s park) but thinking between investment (rent out) or vacation home (run away from SG heat)

My ROI, returns on investment, is 6% at the moment. It will be 7% next year in my next contract. Because the rent in my precinct has risen. Don't think you will even find 4% in Sg.

Yes, there is some depreciation due to currency loss. Take a long term view. Look at the last 20 years. Sometimes A$>S$. Sometimes S$>A$. Property is long term game. The alternative is you pay Sg garment 20% ABSD or be subject to the whims and fancies of the Malaysian govt/market.

Perth is experiencing a big housing crisis now. Shortage of supply. Google it. Means the rents will keep going up. One unit available for rent, one long queue of Aussies applying to rent.

How long will it take to solve a housing shortage problem? I reckon many many many years ... >10 years?

Kings Park is a nice area.

Coffeelix

Ur foreign workers referring to bangalas?
No lah…
Mostly professionals from other states of MY, Indonesians, British, Russians, japaneses and even have met S Korean recently …
India also have …
Some are commuting to sg to work daily while others relocated to jb offices / factories

HushiePuppies

Just sold off my FH 3 bedder. 45yr old.

Now sitting on $1.1m in cash and $0.815m in cpf (500k ordinary, 75k medi, 240k special)

Am I doing ok?

Any good advice on how to invest my cash+cpf?
you sell liao then stay where? streets?

buy and pay finish the new house first then say.

Airplane88

Sounds like you have no kids. Why the heck are you hoarding so much money? Give to niece and nephew? Just splurge lah
If I don’t have kids, I will be loaded too. But what for to have so much money if no kid? Some ppl said money is only worth it when it is spent.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.