MoCA Network Setup | Ethernet over TV cable

XiaoFu99

Hi
I just bought the ASUS MA-25 MoCA 2.5 but failed to connect.......so cannot access the net
Only 2 SCV points in my HDB unit. One in the hall and the other in the master room
After setting them up I get the power and Ethernet lights on but the MoCA lights failed to turn on. I even opened the SCV boxes and connect the coaxial cables directly (bypassing the splitter) to the ASUS MA-25 but result still no MoCA connection light. This is to ensure that there's no compatibility issue between the SCV cables and the provided coaxial cables.
The adapters were tested ok when I connected them together earlier using one of the provided coaxial cable and the download speed was 703Mbps for a 1Gbps broadband
Any help?
Speed test with 2 adapters side by side with provided coaxial cable
P-20231218-150711.jpg

Side by side testing and all 3 light were on strongly. It means the provided cables and the adapters are working fine
P-20231218-145207.jpg

there should be an incoming (e.g. previously starhub) signal feeding to your 2 points located within your home.

you need to find out where is that point (maybe outside your unit) and disconnect the incoming cable to your splitter.

Apparatus

there should be an incoming (e.g. previously starhub) signal feeding to your 2 points located within your home.

you need to find out where is that point (maybe outside your unit) and disconnect the incoming cable to your splitter.

Hi

Just did what you said. The incoming is outside my unit. But still no MoCA connection

P-20231219-093011.jpg

P-20231219-095024.jpg

I think the incoming splitter outside my unit is not working? Need to replace with new and same one?

Lexng88

Please take out all splitter before you do any testing. Not recommend to do with splitter.

Apparatus

thiamhui

Then how to connect the 2 coaxial cables outside my house?

P-20231219-093011.jpg

As for inside my house I did previously tested with the splitters removed. See post #740
Since there's only 2, you can use a Female To Female Coax Cable Extender. I think...

XiaoFu99

Hi
Just did what you said. The incoming is outside my unit. But still no MoCA connection
P-20231219-093011.jpg

P-20231219-095024.jpg

I think the incoming splitter outside my unit is not working? Need to replace with new and same one?

if you have a laptop with ethernet connection (or via USB dongle) and an extension cord, you can position one unit of MoCA outside your home connected to one of the cable removed from the splitter while the other MoCA unit connected to your room.

if you tried both coaxial cables outside your unit disconnected from the splitter and still cannot establish a connection to the MoCA unit inside your home, means the cable laid maybe an issue.

Apparatus

if you have a laptop with ethernet connection (or via USB dongle) and an extension cord, you can position one unit of MoCA outside your home connected to one of the cable removed from the splitter while the other MoCA unit connected to your room.

if you tried both coaxial cables outside your unit disconnected from the splitter and still cannot establish a connection to the MoCA unit inside your home, means the cable laid maybe an issue.

Yup, that's a good test.

However, I think I'll go with connecting the 2 cables outside my unit with a coupler first. If this don't work means either one or both the coaxial cables is faulty

Apparatus

It seems from reddit below the ASUS MA-2.5 MoCA adapter has the same IP address as the ASUS router. I'm using ASUS ZenWiFi Pro ET12.

Changing the router IP address might solve my problem

Alternatively, getting a non-ASUS MoCA 2.5 adapter with a different IP address should solve the issue, huh?

EDIT - With the same setup just tested by changing my router's IP address......still no go. Looks like cables issue liao

Archuke

Hi

P-20231219-093011.jpg

P-20231219-095024.jpg

huh? your connection is wrong leh. lol. of course it wont work. you dont need to touch anything outside your house.

1. find the scv starting point in your house.
2. disconnect main incoming coax cable(the 1 that route from outside your house).
3. connect the coax from your moca adapter to the coax hole that you disconnected in step 2.
4. connect 2nd moca adapter to which scv you wants the ethernet.
5. tada you now have a moca connection.

Apparatus

huh? your connection is wrong leh. lol. of course it wont work. you dont need to touch anything outside your house.

1. find the scv starting point in your house.
2. disconnect main incoming coax cable(the 1 that route from outside your house).
3. connect the coax from your moca adapter to the coax hole that you disconnected in step 2.
4. connect 2nd moca adapter to which scv you wants the ethernet.
5. tada you now have a moca connection.

The attached top photo already shown that I have disconnected the incoming coax cable. The splitter is located outside my HDB unit

Archuke

The attached top photo already shown that I have disconnected the incoming coax cable. The splitter is located outside my HDB unit
no man... which photo? the top or bottom? if bottom is the 1 in your house, then yes your connection seems wrong.

blurnard

Then how to connect the 2 coaxial cables into one outside my house?

P-20231219-093011.jpg

As for inside my house I did previously tested with the splitters removed. See post #740

https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/moca-network-setup-ethernet-over-tv-cable.5675388/page-37
Can i have you try something difrerent?

connect one of the bottom cable to the top single incoming connector...

then you connect both moca adaptors to see if it works?

If this works...

Then you would need to a double sided female coaxial connector to link both bottom coaxial cables together.

Apparatus

Can i have you try something difrerent?

connect one of the bottom cable to the top single incoming connector...

then you connect both moca adaptors to see if it works?

If this works...

Then you would need to a double sided female coaxial connector to link both bottom coaxial cables together.

Should be connecting the 2 coax cables to my house as one using the purchased female-to-female coax connector below. Just came back from SL Tower

If connect to the top incoming then how to test? Top incoming still got signal meh? Don't know where the top incoming cable goes outside my unit.

P-20231219-153428.jpg

Wil do the connection and test once rain stops. Heavy rain now and can hear those lightning siren goes off in the nearby blocks.

Scared tio tian leh

blurnard

Just came back from SL Tower with this

P-20231219-153428.jpg

Wil do the connection and test once rain stops. Heavy rain now and can hear those lightning siren goes off in the nearby blocks.

Scared tio tian leh
pls wait till Cat 1 is over haha...

In your indoor splitter, connect the bottom 2 coaxial together with this adaptor.

Should be able to work.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.