MyRepublic Big Launch

Henry Ng

If you need the new internet urgently then go for ST as they can install quite fast and as fast as 10 days from signing up but only 500Mbps plan. If you can wait for v long time then can sign MR.

xRenol

Thanks Henry. Do you mean it's good enough to enjoy a max of 1gbp?
If my siblings are using wifi, what kind of speed can they expect?

Edit: I haven't actually signed up yet, will do so tomorrow after I terminate my current service.

You can expect around 700-900+ Mbps on wired connection with N56U but depending on your computer hardware specifications including the Ethernet adapter.

Magickiller9

That page pop up claim that it is special hulu vpn for Singapore user and it look a bit strange and too good to be true so I dare not give my detail. Never heard of such special vpn for Singapore user before. Let me try to search again.

This guy flip prata damn fast sia. First say why sign up with MR when you can sign up with other ISP, esp Singtel(For some reason he loves singtel a lot) have a VPN and pay a one time fee, no monthly sub for life time.

Then say too good to be true bla bla bla..wtf sia..really.. Want slam other company and promoting singtel but no evidence no nothing. Anyhow google a VPN service and copy paste here to keep up with the lies.

dirtytrunks

Thanks to everyone who replied. If I'm sharing the connection with my siblings I wouldn't be able to get the full 1gbps for each connection anyway, right?
In total we have 4 computers and 3 mobile devices. If we split the bandwidth 700 odd would be plenty am I right? Sorry but really clueless about networking hehe.

And thanks for your advice, I will terminate my current service only after they install then.

Spyder7756

If you need the new internet urgently then go for ST as they can install quite fast and as fast as 10 days from signing up but only 500Mbps plan. If you can wait for v long time then can sign MR.

pearl...lis lah... unless you are dirty rich that no where to spend... stinkytel..suckhub..at 500mbps?!?!?! Go and check their price.. MoreOne has some humanity at $39 / 200mbps if you don't need that fast...such as 1gbps (though at $10 more...)

my MR start up was a breeze in fact... you cannot expect it to be green/cheap/big n n/near your house.... mine has issues in the starting but my needs only for streaming..soccer..movie.. Hulu sometimes... now watching MR stunt on china website handling.... so case by case.. not only stinkytel...

Spyder7756

So now need to wait how long? Existing customer also need to wait?

MR is charging $49 /1 gbps.. that is the crux of the 'problem' that has so many people waiting to sign up. At this stage, you can try but be prepared to wait.. just my opinion

Maybe MR can advise you better but like I say, be prepared to wait and has to spend a little (after contract) to wait for the MR...

Magickiller9

Thanks to everyone who replied. If I'm sharing the connection with my siblings I wouldn't be able to get the full 1gbps for each connection anyway, right?
In total we have 4 computers and 3 mobile devices. If we split the bandwidth 700 odd would be plenty am I right? Sorry but really clueless about networking hehe.

And thanks for your advice, I will terminate my current service only after they install then.

Just ignore the speed. Who cares if u get 500 or 1000 or 1000000000. Can use and it's fast + cheap can liao. People who do speed test every hour has no life.

imacbie

Users really need to understand how this 1Gbps thing works.
Doesn't mean u sub to a 1Gbps plan u WILL get a 1Gbps download speed.
And you dun split bandwidth :s22:

cyberet

under good conditions, you should be able to touch 700+mbps..
shared among 7 devices, thats quite alot, unless one of the computer is capable and decides to download tons of files at one time and max out the 700+mbps.
Only then will the other devices feel the slowdown.

However at 700+mbps, it doesn't take long for your downloads to complete.

but if all the devices are using wifi, then of course wifi is the limitation, which ranges from 20mbps to 100+mbps in your case.

Knight_Rider

Hola Unblocker yes I know. But thats totally free.

So what's that nominal fee you are talking about to get to watch lifetime?

So do you mean that you can pay one nominal fee and watch paid content on Hulu for lifetime? Like stuff from the Criterion Collection? Please share it with us I am very interested in that myself.

Unlock hulu doesn't work for chrome. :(

dirtytrunks

Just ignore the speed. Who cares if u get 500 or 1000 or 1000000000. Can use and it's fast + cheap can liao. People who do speed test every hour has no life.

Users really need to understand how this 1Gbps thing works.
Doesn't mean u sub to a 1Gbps plan u WILL get a 1Gbps download speed.
And you dun split bandwidth :s22:

I understand. I don't have to get 1gbps. I just hope to reasonably get what I paid for, otherwise what's the point of subbing this plan right. :)

And oops, I didn't know bandwidth can't be split. As I said, I'm pretty noob about networking. Just that my past experience was that my game started lagging when my brother was downloading heavily, so i assumed that the bandwidth was split between users in a network.

under good conditions, you should be able to touch 700+mbps..
shared among 7 devices, thats quite alot, unless one of the computer is capable and decides to download tons of files at one time and max out the 700+mbps.
Only then will the other devices feel the slowdown.

However at 700+mbps, it doesn't take long for your downloads to complete.

but if all the devices are using wifi, then of course wifi is the limitation, which ranges from 20mbps to 100+mbps in your case.

Thanks cyberet. when you say 700 mbps, do you mean the whole network? Or for my wired pc?

sallywss77

Home Voice and AC68u

Can any MR staff answer my question?

My ref is C1016571

I believe I have opted for home voice but the installer didn't know anything about it so nothing was done concerning it.

When my internet was installed, I was told you ran out of stock for ac68, he said that n56u will be installed first and will replace with ac68u when the stock comes. When will the stock come?

I tried leave a PM, have a ticket with MR but so far no response.

Henry Ng

Unlock hulu doesn't work for chrome. :(

Not using other vpn then can work. Disable other vpn first. Unblocker and not unlock.
If can not work then u have to quickly click any country then quickly click back to USA. As long as the setting is USA. You can play directly by accessing hulu. Need not specifically use the unblocker feature to unblock hulu. Then u play the movies. Enjoy.

Henry Ng

I understand. I don't have to get 1gbps. I just hope to reasonably get what I paid for, otherwise what's the point of subbing this plan right. :)

And oops, I didn't know bandwidth can't be split. As I said, I'm pretty noob about networking. Just that my past experience was that my game started lagging when my brother was downloading heavily, so i assumed that the bandwidth was split between users in a network.

Thanks cyberet. when you say 700 mbps, do you mean the whole network? Or for my wired pc?

May get 400-500Mbps but it is sufficient to support 8 notebooks video streaming.

Henry Ng

for your whole network. but one device via wired if capable can utilize all of it, although its unlikely/seldom.

Understand that wired will not affect wireless speed. If 4 notebooks wired and 4 notebooks wi fi still ok to have video streaming.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.