MyRepublic Big Launch

Magickiller9

My MR was installed last sat with ac68u.
Initially speed test showed only an average of 350mbps. Upgraded the firmware and still no use. Tech mentioned once email from him been send out will throttle full.

After a week.. still the same as await for my 1 week M1 to be terminate.
Now sat evening 5th, decided to swap with my M1 router and do a LAN test on my cheap esr9850. It is able to throttle up to 700mbps.

What is this!?!?! Recommended high end router and yet unable to fulfill your 1Gb download.

You mention your ancient router capable of hitting 700Mbps. Means MR capable of hitting 1Gbps.

But router is by Asus. not MR. Go blame Asus la.

xRenol

My MR was installed last sat with ac68u.
Initially speed test showed only an average of 350mbps. Upgraded the firmware and still no use. Tech mentioned once email from him been send out will throttle full.

After a week.. still the same as await for my 1 week M1 to be terminate.
Now sat evening 5th, decided to swap with my M1 router and do a LAN test on my cheap esr9850. It is able to throttle up to 700mbps.

What is this!?!?! Recommended high end router and yet unable to fulfill your 1Gb download.

After you upgraded the firmware, did you perform a reset on the router?

queks

8th day without internet service and counting.... Let see how many months this will drag on..and i foresee the next episodes will be on billing me $$$ yet NO service provided.

Cust No.C1003429

14th day without internet service and counting.......
Still go on to bill me for service that i never used. I email their billing department but they do not even have the basic courtesy to reply me back. Got a call from them say contractor coming tomorrow to check. Let see whether this "contractor" will even appear tomorrow....

Cust No.C1003429

misato

Finally on the fourth attempt wasting me 4 half day leave... the service is finally installed. The main bulk of the work seems to be with MR as ON guys were on time for the appointment did their own test and confirmed everything was fine in 30 minutes time and reverted to me that they did no find any issue and asked me what was the issues for the previous FTO attempts.

MR installer came about 1hr+ later after all the ON left, promptly started to Install their ONT but could not bring up the service. He gave MR backend some calls and only after 30 minutes later was he able to bring the link up. This just tells me that MR was no following up to the installation and only after escalation from their field then they completed the work that could have been done much earlier given that the service has already been disconnected since early morning around 8.30am.

Quick test shows about 670mbps down and 400+mbps up. Considering that my cable were all aged and CAT5e only, its well within expectation. Maybe I will crimp some 15m CAT6 to see if the this speed is due to limitation of my in house cabling or due to ON end since the signal level isn't too optimal @ about 22.3dbm. Given my house distance estimate of max 30km for BP exchange, a SC fiber should pile up about 0.35dbm/km, it should amount to less than 15dbm if you factor in splicing and connector loses.

This simple calculation also surface an overlooked fact that the ON infrastructure might be spread too wide to properly support GPON max allowable speed. Thus it is very possible that even on the ON level a sizeable number of subscribers will never be able to reach even 90% of 1Gbps even on top of the line enterprise router and workstation equipped with SSD and CAT7 internal cablings.

Phen8210

Misato, that was very informative.. it was good that yours only took 30mins as mine took a whole 3 days.

I've also been aware of the 1gbps issues, it's not just about MR in that case.

misato

What I did not mention is ON and MR records patch were wrong as well. My original MR service was provisioned on port 2 of the TP but somehow the world though it was on port 1. ON guys thought that port 1 was being using by a previous ISP and today installation is for a new service instead of a FTO. From this simple conversation, I can see major gaps on documentation for MR/ON and information chain between MR and ON as vital provisioning information was not passed to the field engineers.

queks

14th day without internet service and counting.......
Still go on to bill me for service that i never used. I email their billing department but they do not even have the basic courtesy to reply me back. Got a call from them say contractor coming tomorrow to check. Let see whether this "contractor" will even appear tomorrow....

Cust No.C1003429

My 15th day without internet services. Contractor come and left. Repeat exactly what the installer did...still no connection. Then come the words that i been expecting to hear. "Its open net issue. Will make an appointment to get them down". There goes my another day of leave. "World class service"...

queks

It really shock me to see that a provider do not have even the basic tools for the ground ppl to trouble shoot whether its MR issue or ON issue.
This is like a fly by night company, all rely on guessing. At least have something for their ground engineer to login and see the signal level or ping the ont box. At least the installer can determine on the spot whether need to log case with ON or is it a MR issue.
I am very sure to ditch them after the contract is up. No matter how good they are. I simply do not have any confident with them. I rather go back to cable if i have to. Sign up at your own risk.

misato

My 15th day without internet services. Contractor come and left. Repeat exactly what the installer did...still no connection. Then come the words that i been expecting to hear. "Its open net issue. Will make an appointment to get them down". There goes my another day of leave. "World class service"...

Sometimes.. this opennet issue is pretty gray. It may or may not be ON fault. Like my case where it took 4 attempts for them to finally provision, I only really see ON guys once. For my case, the root cause is most likely due to poor documentation thus causing the implementation to fail.

Raident

I have no network since 28 Apr till now still no network.

CSO say wait till mon then got tech to look into it. I mean wtf?! They dun have tech on 24/7 standby? Even singtel have it....

Lol bro. I have no network since 29 Mar. Haha. Every week you call them, they will get "someone to get in touch with you by the end of the week". Then you call them again the following week, same thing. You call again the NEXT week, they tell you they give you one month off your subscription to apologise for the delay. I'm calling them this week to say bye bye.

Raident

Same thing happened to me man. You won't ever see anyone come down ever again. At least for me that is. You call ON, they will tell you that no one raised a ticket for them to come down. You call MR, they tell you that they ask "someone" to get in touch with you by the end of the week.

ntec66

It makes no sense for consumers, at least for me to go chase them and find out who is telling the truth, why:

1)In what capacity are we chasing them for? As a consumer that's infringing in their work/company policy process, and are we from IDA? or some NGO?

2)Are the average consumers well equipped with the knowledge of their work process to critic and judge who is telling the truth? I don't think the average consumers can just read agreements posted by IDA, assume they understand the real meaning, and infer from it to judge. What the agreement says, might be different from things being done on actual ground when many other cock ups might arise.

I think you missing the point. It may make no sense for you to ask questions. But as we can see nowadays, more and more consumers are recognizing they need to do some work to protect themselves which is a good thing.

Why did they share online for us to see this two conflicting reply from MyRepublic and Opennet?

It is simply because these very unhappy customers don't believe what MyRepublic are telling them and have decided to make an effort to check with Opennet. Now that they got two totally opposite reason for the delay, obviously they will continue to pursue both companies to find out which one is telling the truth or which one is a totally dysfunctional organization wasting everyone's time.

Lehnsherr

I think you missing the point. It may make no sense for you to ask questions. But as we can see nowadays, more and more consumers are recognizing they need to do some work to protect themselves which is a good thing.

Why did they share online for us to see this two conflicting reply from MyRepublic and Opennet?

It is simply because these very unhappy customers don't believe what MyRepublic are telling them and have decided to make an effort to check with Opennet. Now that they got two totally opposite reason for the delay, obviously they will continue to pursue both companies to find out which one is telling the truth or which one is a totally dysfunctional organization wasting everyone's time.

If the consumer knows about how it all played out, go ahead and seek out the truth from Opennet or MyRepublic. If not, one will not be able to make correct judgment, or worse get smoked even further, and then what happens in the end? Come online and propagate their own "findings and conclusions"?

So if the consumer is well versed in the whole Singapore FTTH network, like I said in what capacity will the consumer be going in? To get the key personals in Opennet and Myrepublic involved to answer the consumer's questions?

They ask opennet because they don't believe what MyRepublic said, yes plausible reason.

They share online (take note u said share online) the conflicting replies is not indicative of the disbelief of Myrepublic, but rather confused and attempt to seek answers to whom is telling the truth.

This is hence indicative that these consumers are perhaps not well versed in the FTTH network in Singapore, how would they be able to question Openent and Myrepublic further without drawing a wrong conclusion or worse, being smoked?

Therefore once again I see this as a futile effort. Then again I really don't think anyone would go all the way, and be so free to go do a through investigation. and I stress through investigation is not just email or phone correspondence with their customer officers but with those running the passive infrastructure from opnenet and those network engineers at Myrepublic.

IDA should be the ones do all these, and not us consumers. If not what is the point of Public Service?

ComPuiTer

If the consumer knows about how it all played out, go ahead and seek out the truth from Opennet or MyRepublic. If not, one will not be able to make correct judgment, or worse get smoked even further, and then what happens in the end? Come online and propagate their own "findings and conclusions"?

So if the consumer is well versed in the whole Singapore FTTH network, like I said in what capacity will the consumer be going in? To get the key personals in Opennet and Myrepublic involved to answer the consumer's questions?

They ask opennet because they don't believe what MyRepublic said, yes plausible reason.

They share online (take note u said share online) the conflicting replies is not indicative of the disbelief of Myrepublic, but rather confused and attempt to seek answers to whom is telling the truth.

This is hence indicative that these consumers are perhaps not well versed in the FTTH network in Singapore, how would they be able to question Openent and Myrepublic further without drawing a wrong conclusion or worse, being smoked?

Therefore once again I see this as a futile effort. Then again I really don't think anyone would go all the way, and be so free to go do a through investigation. and I stress through investigation is not just email or phone correspondence with their customer officers but with those running the passive infrastructure from opnenet and those network engineers at Myrepublic.

IDA should be the ones do all these, and not us consumers. If not what is the point of Public Service?

Probably MR want us the consumer to stir big big and add pressure to IDA:s22:

ComPuiTer

So many debates but I only have one question for MR

I had signed up in Jan for the 1Gbps Plan, what is the longest time MR can afford to let your customer "wait" for an installation? 6mths? 1 yr? Don't know?

Lehnsherr

Probably MR want us the consumer to stir big big and add pressure to IDA:s22:

I don't believe they don't know about it, thought quite big liao its in the newspaper liao right that day? But so far never read that they going to do anything.

Lehnsherr

I had signed up in Jan for the 1Gbps Plan, what is the longest time MR can afford to let your customer "wait" for an installation? 6mths? 1 yr? Don't know?

Looking at the current situation now getting it installed means u will have high chance of kena problems.

I am waiting as well for a call but just as well, no point taking the risk. So I didn't chase them at all. Buy some time until contract over and hope situation improves.

ZarakiKPC

just to share my 2 cents - i had no issues whatsoever regarding my installation...technician came on time, called/sms me to let me know his whereabouts, came by to install and set up, made sure everything was fine. showed me the speed on his laptop before leaving. everything was chop chop settled in 15-20 minutes. was quite a smooth experience for me :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.