MyRepublic fibre - Part 4

alamakazim

Guys

Let us assume my rt-n56u got problem

I want to buy another router for my 1gbps plan.... What non Asus router should I get ... Less than $200

I don't need powerful wireless, I use wire

And of cos for bukit timah

And then if still got problem............ MR....

Sensational

i experience extreme spiking man. i cannot even move from my spawn position since it just keeps lagging and then spike. wtf is wrong with myrepublic these days? i am gonna cancel the plan already since my contract has ended. this is totally unacceptable service.

Still say what smooth streaming and gaming experience even in peak hours. i just experience lag and spike every single time i try to play a game. try to seek help and answers from them also no one answer.

LoneTraveller

Guys

Let us assume my rt-n56u got problem

I want to buy another router for my 1gbps plan.... What non Asus router should I get ... Less than $200

I don't need powerful wireless, I use wire

And of cos for bukit timah

And then if still got problem............ MR....

well, you can try apple AEBS but it may be above your budget by a bit unless you can get the old model at or below your budget. It doesn't have so many functions but it's serve me well over the years with the understanding that my hardware is all apple.

btw, have you tried plugging direct to the ont to isolate your problem?it may not be your router problem, it may be MR's problem or a combination of issues. You won't know for sure til you try to isolate problem step by step.

Like 2 nights ago when i couldn't stream from netflix but can do so now.

Cheers:)

alamakazim

well, you can try apple AEBS but it may be above your budget by a bit unless you can get the old model at or below your budget. It doesn't have so many functions but it's serve me well over the years with the understanding that my hardware is all apple.

btw, have you tried plugging direct to the ont to isolate your problem?it may not be your router problem, it may be MR's problem or a combination of issues. You won't know for sure til you try to isolate problem step by step.

Like 2 nights ago when i couldn't stream from netflix but can do so now.

Cheers:)

the problem is intermittent,, come and go... want to simulate also cannot

ERT

This is the result of MR's ******* cheapshit choice of upstream provider to PRC.

Tracing route to login.gds.taobao.com [42.156.172.20]

1 2 ms 3 ms 2 ms 172.21.0.1
2 2 ms 5 ms 2 ms 40GE-103-6-148-45.myrepublic.com.sg [103.6.148.45]
3 2 ms 2 ms 2 ms newmedia.ge9-8.br02.sin02.pccwbtn.net [63.218.107.154]
4 3 ms 2 ms 2 ms ge9-8.br02.sin02.pccwbtn.net [63.218.107.153]
5 181 ms 181 ms * chinatelecom.pos9-0.cr02.hkg04.pccwbtn.net [63.218.61.190]
6 * 263 ms 264 ms 202.97.60.17
7 * * * Request timed out.
8 * * 320 ms 202.97.33.169
9 * * * Request timed out.
10 * * 99 ms 220.191.135.114
11 94 ms * * 183.136.160.130
12 95 ms * 93 ms 42.120.253.89
13 * * * Request timed out.
14 * * * Request timed out.
15 * * * Request timed out.
16 * 210 ms * 42.156.172.20
17 * * * Request timed out.
18 112 ms * 103 ms 42.156.172.20

Trace complete.

Tracing route to alipay.com [110.75.143.33]

1 * * * Request timed out.
2 24 ms 2 ms 1 ms 40GE-103-6-148-45.myrepublic.com.sg [103.6.148.45]
3 1 ms 2 ms 2 ms newmedia.ge9-8.br02.sin02.pccwbtn.net [63.218.107.154]
4 2 ms 2 ms 1 ms ge9-8.br02.sin02.pccwbtn.net [63.218.107.153]
5 34 ms 34 ms 35 ms 63-218-210-210.static.pccwglobal.net [63.218.210.210]
6 * 185 ms 183 ms 219.158.32.109
7 182 ms 182 ms 184 ms 219.158.25.141
8 * 194 ms * 219.158.97.33
9 * * 283 ms 219.158.23.1
10 * * * Request timed out.
11 * 229 ms * 124.160.82.6
12 * * * Request timed out.
13 91 ms * * 42.120.254.206
14 * 103 ms * host-33.alipay.com [110.75.143.33]
15 105 ms 102 ms 100 ms host-33.alipay.com [110.75.143.33]

xRenol

i experience extreme spiking man. i cannot even move from my spawn position since it just keeps lagging and then spike. wtf is wrong with myrepublic these days? i am gonna cancel the plan already since my contract has ended. this is totally unacceptable service.

Still say what smooth streaming and gaming experience even in peak hours. i just experience lag and spike every single time i try to play a game. try to seek help and answers from them also no one answer.

You can consider the "dark" side for a switch.

tiong78

Currently in buangkok green area. Experiencing intermittent connection to the Internet on both my wired PCs. 1st time in a year of service.

I Have already restarted my router a couple of times and can't get thru the line to your customer care.

Pls advise on network status.

nestorvie

everything man. like i am just playing right the ping will suddenly go to the 1000 plus range then drop back all the way to normal. this occurs very frequently. it makes it totally impossible to play fps like that man. one moment I aim my scope next moment i died cause of the spike and lag.

wire or wireless?
anyone else sharing the Internet?
any other program using the Internet automatically (i.e. auto start update etc...)?

When you have some problems that the other don't, look at yourself first.

tuckloong

Currently in buangkok green area. Experiencing intermittent connection to the Internet on both my wired PCs. 1st time in a year of service.

I Have already restarted my router a couple of times and can't get thru the line to your customer care.

Pls advise on network status.

spiking in paya lebar also :(

coolwater100

everything man. like i am just playing right the ping will suddenly go to the 1000 plus range then drop back all the way to normal. this occurs very frequently. it makes it totally impossible to play fps like that man. one moment I aim my scope next moment i died cause of the spike and lag.

Hahahaha.me too:)
I change my router AC 68U still lag.
I change my cpu/mb i7 4930k oso Buay Sai .
I bo beh liao .i Surrendered:)

YouKilledKenny

i'm having problem with netflix as well. it seems like they have a limited connections for teleport to work.. and it's currently over subscribed. so during peak period, it'll depends on luck whether it works. this itself is disappointing. it's like they are not even able to sustain the number of connections.

i'd tried switching the pri and sec dns around and did a flushdns, it didn't help.

Nice conjuncture, I've not considered that.

The only reliable way to fix it for me is to connect to Netflix through my paid VPN service, then disconnect when House of Cards start streaming =:p. Most of the time that will resolve the region error and I can continue to watch other shows with the VPN switched off.

Binaries

wire or wireless?
any other program using the Internet automatically (i.e. auto start update etc...)?

I am pretty sure if you read the last few pages, a reasonable amount of people have came posting about spikes and latency problem including myself.

hahaha, your gateway got mouse, need to set mouse traps :D

Perhaps I am on Mouse Republic :s8:

Just an update for people that actually have went through my posts, I know how you feel and how helpless it is but the spikes are here to stay for now. So far I have got no further updates since my conversation with Justin the supervisor last week and I just spoke to Robin the manager from MR a minute ago. Looks like it will take awhile more since the network engineers are supposedly 'still troubleshooting' and have no concrete explanation for what is going on with the spikes.

I have raised it up several times to the people (csos, supervisors, managers) of the spiking issues from other users on HWZ but they are seemingly oblivious to it. If you guys want to save yourself the explanation, call MR up and tell them this guy from hardwarezone have repeatedly provided findings for you guys since the ticket was opened on the 27th of July and this is exactly the problem you guys are facing just that I took it to a next level to dissect it for you guys. Ticket number #40033.

I have a mixture of emotions these days, I am finally relieved that I have come into contact with people like Justin and Robin that isn't talking to me like an automated machine and giving me empty promises and they are seemingly ready to help me out however they can. I am however really tired of waiting without an update of some sort, I always have to chase and call MR up only to know that "oh.. we don't know if there are any updates..etc for you"

Robin have promised to get someone to call me back on Monday and I will as magnanimous as I am continue to wait again and hopefully to get a resolution soon.

PS: Just for sharing purpose, ping output taken at the time of this post.

MR_09_08_2014

Solkarnar

Just wanna give Binaries a thumbs up for his efforts to get to the bottom of this. Im not affected by the ping spikes, but MR should come clean at least on the forums on what they have been doing to help the affected users.

wilflare

I am pretty sure if you read the last few pages, a reasonable amount of people have came posting about spikes and latency problem including myself.

Perhaps I am on Mouse Republic :s8:

Just an update for people that actually have went through my posts, I know how you feel and how helpless it is but the spikes are here to stay for now. So far I have got no further updates since my conversation with Justin the supervisor last week and I just spoke to Robin the manager from MR a minute ago. Looks like it will take awhile more since the network engineers are supposedly 'still troubleshooting' and have no concrete explanation for what is going on with the spikes.

I have raised it up several times to the people (csos, supervisors, managers) of the spiking issues from other users on HWZ but they are seemingly oblivious to it. If you guys want to save yourself the explanation, call MR up and tell them this guy from hardwarezone have repeatedly provided findings for you guys since the ticket was opened on the 27th of July and this is exactly the problem you guys are facing just that I took it to a next level to dissect it for you guys. Ticket number #40033.

I have a mixture of emotions these days, I am finally relieved that I have come into contact with people like Justin and Robin that isn't talking to me like an automated machine and giving me empty promises and they are seemingly ready to help me out however they can. I am however really tired of waiting without an update of some sort, I always have to chase and call MR up only to know that "oh.. we don't know if there are any updates..etc for you"

Robin have promised to get someone to call me back on Monday and I will as magnanimous as I am continue to wait again and hopefully to get a resolution soon.

PS: Just for sharing purpose, ping output taken at the time of this post.

MR_09_08_2014

thanks for the effort
hopefully the resolution of your case would lead to a smoother experience for all of us too

roborovsky

Is MR doing something behind?
These few days got disconnected a few times & had to restart the modem in order to get connected again. What's happening?

Sensational

Yea thanks binaries for doing such a detailed write up n contacting those myrepublic guys. It's really damn frustrating man. For e past 2 years of my contract everything was good. But now it seems like it's gng downhill n yet there is no one to help fix this prob. Zzz.

Sensational

wire or wireless?

Well I m pretty sure there r no prob on my side. My com is e only one using e Internet in my home plus I have done all e necessary checks alr.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.