MyRepublic fibre - Part 4

fuzzybear

Only if you have AC devices? Otherwise N66 is good, the range difference is obvious.

unless he plan to upgrade this device to 11AC standard in soon
like myself i hoot ac66 first and i get new haswell retina mbp and i enjoy mine fibre with same speed on wifi as in on a wired internet
:s12:

ngbc

All mainstream download sites and browsers display bytes. The only place that display bits are speed test sites.

Are you sure ?

3196877771.png

ComPuiTer

What the **** is wrong with MR ****** up residential fibre service?

f2ubitu.png

132.6MB of 192.1MB - (3.1Mb/sec) 2 minutes remaining

so this file still need app. 60MB more to complete the download and it only need 2 minutes? WOW?! Is that consider fast?

Just a benefit of the doubts, that probably is 2 minutes and 50 seconds to complete the download. I will just round off to 3 minutes.

3 minutes to complete 60MB is still consider eh fast!?

junclot

Same situation here. Can't watch youku stream at all. Even opening a normal size .gif file on weibo.com takes more than half minute!

The most disappointing thing is that sometime I can't even connect to the blizzard new game "Heathstone" via china server.

I'm using 150mb gamer with Account No. C1011481. I'd be grateful if someone could help me on this.

ya lo, my 百度影音 still down leh cant connect and dl anything

but access to china sites seems ok liao (buffering wif acfun.tv is still slower than usual though)

only thing comforting is dl fr direct host site fr China is still "ok"
1st is fr 城通网盘 400gb, 2nd is fr pan.baidu

but pan.baidu at usual time is can get to ~2 to 3MB/s de...so not 100% as per normal also

xo7Pg1P.png

Phen8210

I wouldn't say its that simple. Mbps, MBps, KB/s, Kb/s and even MiB/s. These are not exactly some common layman stuff that I would call basic knowledge.

No offence but 3 pages back u are asking what's home voice.

Well of course Apple probably won't make this mistake, but Demori was saying what "All mainstream download sites and browsers display bytes" and you were saying "Cannot blame them since apple wants to trick them haha xD"

I am hence curious, or u are telling me I misread?

Yeah.. I'm asking what i don't know before i apply for stuff like addons..

but since most people here are already subscribers of MR or others... shouldn't it be classified as basic knowledge?
When u sign for internet, u ought to know the difference between byte and bits?

for the clarification of my other sentence, it was referring to people that thought he was getting fast speeds but wasn't since it was bits, no other intentions.

so we don't blame them either, that's why i made facts clear at my previous post.

just didn't want more unnecessary flaming going on.

Henry Ng

so this file still need app. 60MB more to complete the download and it only need 2 minutes? WOW?! Is that consider fast?

Just a benefit of the doubts, that probably is 2 minutes and 50 seconds to complete the download. I will just round off to 3 minutes.

Speed look ok, I can not even download at all and just watch online. Do not know why I can not DL. I ST user.

imacbie

i would humbly say it depends on the brand and model (also the gener of tech on that model) also quality and load of the power line inuse.

i am on pure-hd plan. using a N66U. ONT aand router is sitting at far end of living room.
ps3 sitting in bedroom on ther other end of living room. about 3 walls blocking.

wireless d/l at max 6+-mb/s
bought a pair of 500Mps plug with pass-thru
console now d/l at about 40+-mb/s (just about a third of what i'm subscribing to, not complaining cuz aint direct connection)

summersky1986

i would humbly say it depends on the brand and model (also the gener of tech on that model) also quality and load of the power line inuse.

i am on pure-hd plan. using a N66U. ONT aand router is sitting at far end of living room. ps3 sitting in bedroom on ther other end of living room. about 3 walls blocking.
wireless d/l at max 6+-mb/s
bought a pair of 500Mps plug with pass-thru
console now d/l at about 40+-mb/s

Can SIC the brand and model please?

11 days to MR installation, gonna prepare in advance :D

imacbie

Can SIC the brand and model please?

11 days to MR installation, gonna prepare in advance :D
i did a bit of reading b4 i went ahead to buy.
got myself a pair of Sineoji 500Mbps with pass through. (YMMV)

there are newer one with higher speed.
and also other brands that some people stand by..
read a little around this sub-forum and make your decision ;)

Solaride

i did a bit of reading b4 i went ahead to buy.
got myself a pair of Sineoji 500Mbps with pass through. (YMMV)

there are newer one with higher speed.
and also other brands that some people stand by..
read a little around this sub-forum and make your decision ;)

I got pretty close to 100% of 100Mbps connection using TP-link 551; before that, I receive only max 45Mbps on TP-link 4010 (AV500).

TP-link 551 is rated at AV500+ while your's rated at AV500. Anyone knows what is the difference between between these 2 ratings?

micheloving

Maybe itunes server sucks or congested .Never used itunes to dl any crap besides OS updates which is pretty slow too.

videoloader

looking for 2 myrepublic connections for home

hi. I am looking to get 2 myrepublic connections for my home .awaiting some deals and promotion . when is the next deal promotion expected to launch ? :s22:

snoopy168

Wa then the early adopters like me who sign up most early at 59/mth and got the early lousy router must be all so sad:s22: . Sianz , at current situation will switch once my contract ends no incentive to stay on in myrepublic one.

for all you know, it could drop to $28.88 by mid next year. seriously, i dun mind not having anything free or hidden, tell meexactly what's the true product & nett price.

creator88

for all you know, it could drop to $28.88 by mid next year. seriously, i dun mind not having anything free or hidden, tell meexactly what's the true product & nett price.

My sentiments exactly. All the bundling of free months, free teleport service, free Home Telephony etc etc is primarily to make it difficult to compare with their competitors.

If you strip away the Teleport (which MR has extended the free subscription repeatedly), the free months etc, the basic 100mbps service is probably only worth S$25-$30 per month.

With all the competitors already raising their minimum plan to 150mbps, of which I think M1 is the most price aggressive, I think MR has no choice but to further cut their prices to retain existing customers.

I was one of the early adopters and am stuck on the two year $59 plan. thankfully it will be expiring soon. Have to seriously reconsider whether it makes sense to continue with MR in view of the premium prices.

nivleK1985

My sentiments exactly. All the bundling of free months, free teleport service, free Home Telephony etc etc is primarily to make it difficult to compare with their competitors.

If you strip away the Teleport (which MR has extended the free subscription repeatedly), the free months etc, the basic 100mbps service is probably only worth S$25-$30 per month.

With all the competitors already raising their minimum plan to 150mbps, of which I think M1 is the most price aggressive, I think MR has no choice but to further cut their prices to retain existing customers.

I was one of the early adopters and am stuck on the two year $59 plan. thankfully it will be expiring soon. Have to seriously reconsider whether it makes sense to continue with MR in view of the premium prices.

Although the price has drop over the years. We provide free month for our earlier customer. Hence, it balance out to be actually the same cost over the years.

25-30dollar per month will only be possible if there's a large amount of customer base as there's need to buy routes, peering, data center, manpower and hardware infrastructure cost. But we would't know what will happen in the near future.

nivleK1985

And here visiting everyone a happy 2014...May this year be the best year yet. Exciting plans coming up soon =)..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.