New Computer in feb

Phelan

I sorta know about the taxi stand but its so out of the way. Thats y i was asking if theres any 'sweet spots' where regulars find it easier to flag down a cab XD

Everywhere else, CBD. Do the math.

Kince86

2k???? Go for 1440p gaming experience liao lo.

Your best bet.

Msi b85m g43 + I5-4570 ~ $347
Gskills ripjaws 1600mhz 2x4gb kit ~ $110
WD blue 1tb ~ $76
Plextor m5s 128gb ~ $128
Gigabyte r9 290 4gb 3x windforce ~ $630
Superflower hx600 600w ~ $108
Fractal design arc midi ~ $129
Samsung ODD ~ $21
Qnix q2710 evolution ii 1440p monitor ~ $349 from qoo10

Total ~ $1898

I saw in a review of the Q2710 frm this seller that they only provide a short dvi cable, no 240v adapter. Do we need this adapter? And does it supply display port cable?
Reviewers says that the stand is filmsy. It is bad?

shadow84

I saw in a review of the Q2710 frm this seller that they only provide a short dvi cable, no 240v adapter. Do we need this adapter? And does it supply display port cable?
Reviewers says that the stand is filmsy. It is bad?

- Can always buy a longer DVI cable.
- The monitor can run is 240v, so no need 240v adaptor. You only need a travel adaptor to convert their 2-pin to 3-pin.
- If you want DP, you need get the multi-input model which costs more, and cant overclock.
- The stand is flimsy in the sense that it is slightly shaky/loose, sad to say. But it would be okay if u dun touch it, or best, wall mount it.

Kince86

- Can always buy a longer DVI cable.
- The monitor can run is 240v, so no need 240v adaptor. You only need a travel adaptor to convert their 2-pin to 3-pin.
- If you want DP, you need get the multi-input model which costs more, and cant overclock.
- The stand is flimsy in the sense that it is slightly shaky/loose, sad to say. But it would be okay if u dun touch it, or best, wall mount it.

Thanks for the answers!
Qns part 2.

- for DVI i will need dual-link dont i? Im alittle confused with that. Does chosing dvi-i or dvi-d port matter since they both have dual-link cables? And what about the wire? I doubt the old dvi cables that i used for cards like 9800GTX is gonna work hahaha.

- what about hdmi? I read many conflicting reports of how hdmi 1.4 can support 1440p while some says that it actually doesnt. And the cables? Is there any change in the cables? Im using a generic one for my samsung syncmaster atm and wondering if i will need to get a new hdmi cable.

- wall mounting? Is there a wall mount bracket provided?

Sorry for the noob qns.

shadow84

Thanks for the answers!
Qns part 2.

- for DVI i will need dual-link dont i? Im alittle confused with that. Does chosing dvi-i or dvi-d port matter since they both have dual-link cables? And what about the wire? I doubt the old dvi cables that i used for cards like 9800GTX is gonna work hahaha.

- what about hdmi? I read many conflicting reports of how hdmi 1.4 can support 1440p while some says that it actually doesnt. And the cables? Is there any change in the cables? Im using a generic one for my samsung syncmaster atm and wondering if i will need to get a new hdmi cable.

- wall mounting? Is there a wall mount bracket provided?

Sorry for the noob qns.

1. Go wiki abt the diff between DVI-D and DVI-I. Both can be used. Either 1 is fine. But make sure its Dual Link.

HDMI cant support 1440p at the moment. Only DVI and DP, until HDMI 2.0 comes out.

You have to buy a wall mount. I bought the AV607-T. Only 4.4cm frm wall, very sleek. But once mounted, make sure u plan properly.

Kince86

1. Go wiki abt the diff between DVI-D and DVI-I. Both can be used. Either 1 is fine. But make sure its Dual Link.

HDMI cant support 1440p at the moment. Only DVI and DP, until HDMI 2.0 comes out.

You have to buy a wall mount. I bought the AV607-T. Only 4.4cm frm wall, very sleek. But once mounted, make sure u plan properly.

Yeah i wikied. Thats y i know both can Have dual-link.

More googling showed me that it housea a dvi-d port so i guess that is what i would get IF i get that tv.

Doubt i will wall mount it. Attractive option but im not really comfortable opening the case up to remove the stand stem. And theres no way i will just let it dangle there.

shadow84

Yeah i wikied. Thats y i know both can Have dual-link.

More googling showed me that it housea a dvi-d port so i guess that is what i would get IF i get that tv.

Doubt i will wall mount it. Attractive option but im not really comfortable opening the case up to remove the stand stem. And theres no way i will just let it dangle there.

Let what dangle there? The monitor? AS long as ur wall mount is secure, it wun drop.

Kince86

Let what dangle there? The monitor? AS long as ur wall mount is secure, it wun drop.
The stand stem which is secured inside the casing of the monitor according to a website i found with a de-stemming tutorial for this monitor

and_who

after all the effort put into this thread, cant wait to see pics of your new rig! please post so every guru here can see the effort translated into reality :)

ps. why wait till feb? counting on cny red packets to pay for rig? perhaps save what you can and go 2nd parts - as long as they come with wty and are in decent condition, arent they better bang for buck?

Kince86

after all the effort put into this thread, cant wait to see pics of your new rig! please post so every guru here can see the effort translated into reality :)

ps. why wait till feb? counting on cny red packets to pay for rig? perhaps save what you can and go 2nd parts - as long as they come with wty and are in decent condition, arent they better bang for buck?

New year bonus XD thats the thing i completely spend every year and this year it will be on this. My 1 spending spree per year lmao.

I seldom go for 2nd hand items. Especially expensive items. And for me, part of the fun in DIY coms is the unboxing of sparkling new parts.

If i DO get QX2710 the only 'old' parts of my setup will be my table *cough*, razer widow ultimate (the first version), armaggeddon G7, random razer mousepad, and a set of crappy 2.1 speakers XD.

Too lazy to wire 5.1, too cheap for wireless 5.1, and cant be bothered in general to get a better set of speakers since i usually wear my steelseries diablo 3 headset.

and_who

I wired a z906. Daunting at first but became fun over time. Easier also cos I had speaker stands

Kince86

guys. any experiences with bizgram @ #05-50 ?
apparently it have cny promotions coming up and a check of the price list shows some pretty competitive prices. apparently they dont have MSI motherboards so i doubt im getting my rig from them, the promotions~~~

any other shops that might have cny promos? i might push my purchase to before cny if theres promos XD

genetic_ares

guys. any experiences with bizgram @ #05-50 ?
apparently it have cny promotions coming up and a check of the price list shows some pretty competitive prices. apparently they dont have MSI motherboards so i doubt im getting my rig from them, the promotions~~~

any other shops that might have cny promos? i might push my purchase to before cny if theres promos XD

not very competitive lehz :s13: but can try lor. no harm asking for quotation :)

Kince86

Decision!

I have locked down my thoughts. finally >.>

im not going for 1440p seeing the recent reviews of qnix, i rather save up and go for a g-sync 1080p monitor maybe Q4 2014 or maybe even Q1 2015 with my next year's bonus. (talk about planning ahead -_-)

im going with a unlocked I5. i wish to get into entry level OCing. nothing hardcore, nothing real top end. i reckon i will try for maybe 4.1ghz with 1.15v? im not too sure about this.
for this slight oc, i shall go with a corsair h60 push pull config. hopefully everything will run cool.

since im not going for 1440p my headache about 780 is gone. im getting a MSI N770 Lightning. the 4gb ram on the tf 4gb model is attractive but since im going 1080p for around a year, i reckon i will go with lightning.

final decision is:
MB: MSI B85-G43 (aesthetics)
CPU: I5-4670K
GPU: MSI N770 Lightning
RAM: G.Skill RipjawsX 2x8GB (aesthetics and i still feel like getting 16gb even when i know that i dont need it.)
SSD: Samsung 840EVO 250GB (i will buy this from amazon. price have increased from the USD160.99 i saw earlier so i will be keeping an eye on when and if it drops)
HDD: W.D 2TB Green
CPU cooler: Corsair H60
Casing: Fractal Design Arc Midi R2
PSU: Superflower HX-600M

p.s. wellllll i DID say final but. I'm still open for advices XD. especially on the cpu cooler and the actual OCing of the cpu.

My profuse and sincere Thank You to every that have advised, suggested, debated, posted and helped in this thread. I am very glad i decided to post here.

end rant: my led for my a button on my razer black widow ultimate just flickered and died. colour me sad ToT

Rogue

im going with a unlocked I5. i wish to get into entry level OCing. nothing hardcore, nothing real top end. i reckon i will try for maybe 4.1ghz with 1.15v? im not too sure about this.
for this slight oc, i shall go with a corsair h60 push pull config. hopefully everything will run cool.

MB: MSI B85-G43 (aesthetics)

You need a Z87 motherboard to overclock CPU and the CPU must have a "K" suffix which is fine since you picked 4670K....

Kince86

You need a Z87 motherboard to overclock CPU and the CPU must have a "K" suffix which is fine since you picked 4670K....

really? i read about that a little but it felt like they were suggesting that it was just not recommended and not unable.
back to the drawing board. sigh

GxDaniel

A cooler master hyper 212x would be sufficient for ur rig. I have both 212x and h80i and in terms of performance. Both are pretty equal.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.