Nov 2012 BTO

chuan chuan

If your windows are double glazing glass with an air gap, helps a little. I dont know if HDB even has that as an option. In temperate countries, these type of windows keeps the heat in and also helps with noise.

I rented a room close to the MRT and about 10 floors up, it was annoying to have the MRT wake me up every damn morning in the wee hours with that wooooo-ing noise...I had a one year lease and just had to bear with it for a year. Absolutely drove me up the wall. I was short tempered from lack of sleep. But I am a light sleeper.....unless u are a deep sleeper, then nothing would wake u up even in massive thunderstorm.

292 and 310 are very nice view..can see bukit timah hill and infront no tall building...alot of wind...

Tandoor

Ok i have found the HDB website which will display the different estates and the units being taken up each day once selection begins. The prices for the units are also all there.
HDB InfoWEB: Flats Available for Selection (For Invited Applicants) : Buying A New Flat

Made one observation that the units on the same floor on the lower floors are all the same. But above a certain floor number, the different units on a similar floor differ in price, probably due to the different views of the units.

So with all that essentially decision on exactly which unit we want can be made before we go down to select the flat.
Unfortunately, nothing is posted for the Nov BTO. But good find....at least we can do our homework before the appt.

twinklingstars

Don't be surprise that the wan facing the city will have higher taker..

Don't worry so much. When is yours is yours...

yup.. i also tell myself just take whatever its left over which are within my budget. but this is a huge purchase and i intend to stay in this unit for life, so i hope to get a unit which i really like. oh wells. if i meant to be, it will be.

twinklingstars

try not to choose near the mrt track , 310 also not bad..

yea these are the 2 better units.. but i guess when it comes to my turn, only left low floors. so im thinking of back up choices.. looks like i can only settle for 290, 288, 298 of block 32 and unit 304 of block 33 if i dont want those facing the mrt track. can anyone advise on these units?

Tandoor

don't worry ! maybe some people don't like to take high floor..
99% will want high floor and view if they can get it, they will snatch it in an instant.....dont know if regardless or irregardless of budget. All the praying, begging deities or promising the church a bunch of monies if your prayers are answered, going thru a kavadi ritual, wont help if u have got a bad q#. Life sucks, doesn't it ?

Those with lousy q# will likely have to make do, be practical and be realistic.....in short, in the end, if u are going to get a lousy unit in a lousy location, then dont plan on spending too much. And make the best of things. Ho hummm......

duplexcom

I don't go for view and high floor...mid floor maybe.I'm looking for the most quiet unit i can get cos light sleeper.high floor with view got a lot of noise and dust pollution.

currently living level 23 unblock unit.

Tandoor

I don't go for view and high floor...mid floor maybe.I'm looking for the most quiet unit i can get cos light sleeper.high floor with view got a lot of noise and dust pollution.

currently living level 23 unblock unit.
Ditto. Quiet for me is priority too. But I am not willing to walk 23 floors if the elevator does break. So I will probably target a low floor quiet unit. The dust and vicinity developments will also be a big consideration. These can go on for years and you have to live with the piling and dust for many years to come.

star06moon

Hi, people with bto Q no. Is within the range of total available units , can opt to apply SBF IN MARCH 2013 ? Will the first timer 2 chances will be jeopardize ?
Thanks .

lzjlee

how do you guys check the appoinment date for flat selection? i went to the hdb webpage but which link do you guys click?

also for the models and OCS, can we go down to see on weekends?

lastly, are there show flats for the BTOs?

thanks!

There r show flats located at 3rd storey of hdb hub for the different room type. It's called the habitat forum n is open on weekdays from 8-5 n sat 8-1. If u dun have time for it, u can jus go to YouTube n see. Some kind hearted ppl have also uploaded lots of photo in the web. U can jus google for it. But the floor layout may not be identical.

I think the showflat design have been there n remain unchanged for many years as I saw someone uploaded a video in 2007 which has the exact same design as the showflat they have this year.

jizzbunny

Hi, people with bto Q no. Is within the range of total available units , can opt to apply SBF IN MARCH 2013 ? Will the first timer 2 chances will be jeopardize ?
Thanks .
I think your question is very interesting.
if your number was within range, I'm certain they will invite you down for selection.
This will ensure all applicants who have a number has an appt date/time to pick the available units.

If there are no available units left, then the applicant(s) will not be penalised on their first timer status.

star06moon

I think your question is very interesting.
if your number was within range, I'm certain they will invite you down for selection.
This will ensure all applicants who have a number has an appt date/time to pick the available units.

If there are no available units left, then the applicant(s) will not be penalised on their first timer status.

We are on paying rental house charges monthly and BTO completion is more than 4 years. Preferbly we would like to have SBF and move in ASAP to save high cost of rental charges. Our Q no. is 1XX and we would like to seek advise from experts. thanks.

jizzbunny

We are on paying rental house charges monthly and BTO completion is more than 4 years. Preferbly we would like to have SBF and move in ASAP to save high cost of rental charges. Our Q no. is 1XX and we would like to seek advise from experts. thanks.
I agree with your views on high rental charges.
My GF used to pay rental for her house, until Sept this year when the rental lease expired.
The landlord has been increasing rental by 10-20% each time the lease expires.

Lucky for her (and myself), I had a spare bedroom, so now she bunks in with my parents and I. That way, we save up more money for our future home, also helps a lot on transportation costs too on weekends:)

star06moon

Currently we are renting a house and paying for rental charges.Would like to have a house ASAP with applying SBF.We applied GM BTO and Q is 1xx, but completion time 4 yrs is long.Preferly wanna have a house asap to save the costly rental charges. Would like to seek advise from experts. thanks.

star06moon

I agree with your views on high rental charges.
My GF used to pay rental for her house, until Sept this year when the rental lease expired.
The landlord has been increasing rental by 10-20% each time the lease expires.

Lucky for her (and myself), I had a spare bedroom, so now she bunks in with my parents and I. That way, we save up more money for our future home, also helps a lot on transportation costs too on weekends:)

thanks for reply.Ya, Me too.The landlord has been increasing when every years lease expire.That's y, if we can apply march 2012 SBF without affecting our chances, would like to try :-(

the_diplomat

Ha.. I can see u r really excited. Wad noel13 said is jus an example n an average figure. U can't jus simply take 30appts a day n extrapolate. There can be no appt on certain days n not everyday has the same number of appt. Usually it will start slow with less appt at the earlier date as they need to clear the previous launches. It will start to pick up n serve more appts in a day at a later date. I think this is because most of the good units have been taken up n they expect more rejects. So they r more or less attending to the same number of selection even with more appts per day. Also since the previous launches r almost or alrdy cleared, more manpower can be assigned to clear the current launch.

The selection for the different room type will proceed concurrently. It doesn't have to finish one room type first before they start with another room type.

So it's very difficult to guess the appt date. Best is to jus wait for another few days for the release of the date. Hang in there bro...

My queue number is 1xx. Appointment in jan. I think they released all queue number for cck bto. There are even appointment dates in may. Cck bto selection scheduled to start in end dec/early jan.

Appreciate a voice of absolute experience.

I am only ansy because I will need to go out of town in Jan, and possibly need to assign a proxy....that means if he screws up the selection, it is a one time and one and only one chance for the selection and also means I need to live with the screw up for the rest of my life. And this is my first time too, and first time making such a big purchase. Or push out my trip, which is another option. I am also near retirement age and look forward to retire in my little hovel.

Yes, I have been quite anal about extrapolating and interpolating and what nots to make some basic assumptions and logical guesses. Like u said, there are some non ideal conditions to such things and things that we cannot logically guess because we are dealing with humans not machines alone. Yes, maybe I should just wait for the notification.

Thx for the valuable input that you have provided for us newbies !!

My queue number for Keat Hong 5-room is in the lower 1**, but my selection date is 4 Feb 2013. For me, I just hope that the date and the queue number follows, and I will be fine with that ie. If I am queue #100, regardless of when or which date I select my unit, I just want there to only be 99 5-room units selected before me. :)

Tandoor - I've been anxious too, because I am working overseas and have to book tix back haha!

wAt3v3r - Thanks for the PM :D

lzjlee

thanks for reply.Ya, Me too.The landlord has been increasing when every years lease expire.That's y, if we can apply march 2012 SBF without affecting our chances, would like to try :-(

Alamak.. U missed the sep SBF? Ya.. Agreed that u should get a house ASAP for ur case. Ur chances should not be affected as only those who rejected 2 chances to select a flat will have their FT privilege removed for a yr.

So far there haven't been any news of the next SBF exercise. Although it is likely to have one in Mar 2013, note that the SBF will only be launched as and when HDB has accumulated sufficient flats for sale.

bearine

Alamak.. U missed the sep SBF? Ya.. Agreed that u should get a house ASAP for ur case. Ur chances should not be affected as only those who rejected 2 chances to select a flat will have their FT privilege removed for a yr.

So far there haven't been any news of the next SBF exercise. Although it is likely to have one in Mar 2013, note that the SBF will only be launched as and when HDB has accumulated sufficient flats for sale.

My bf also living in rental.. Not under HDB cant get extra chances. And bcos, he's a guy.. bunk in with me becomes weird... We've tried Sep SBF, but didnt manage to get any Q no. And the application rate is really high for SBF..

And my number for GM 9xx.. zzz need wait for next round le... :(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.