NUS Computing (Information Systems) Sem 1

Buaya_Hunter

Thanks guys! napsterz,What did you take/what are you taking now? Not IS? Yea I think I am gonna struggle quite a bit for the common modules.:s22: What's OS??? Does that mean I don't have to take it??

Napster doing cs....

Just fyi, OS stands for operating system... Quite hard to explain it without getting too technical but I likened it to like the study of an computer system's anatomy (specifically the portion that manages the various software and hardwares that makes up a computers)...

Can be quite interesting, but seriously boring to many people....

MoxLotus

Napster doing cs....

Just fyi, OS stands for operating system... Quite hard to explain it without getting too technical but I likened it to like the study of an computer system's anatomy (specifically the portion that manages the various software and hardwares that makes up a computers)...

Can be quite interesting, but seriously boring to many people....

layman term: your everyday microsoft windows.

napsterz

Thanks guys! napsterz,What did you take/what are you taking now? Not IS? Yea I think I am gonna struggle quite a bit for the common modules.:s22: What's OS??? Does that mean I don't have to take it??

I'm taking CS now. Last time, I intended to choose IS or CM but then, the recognition of those majors were not as well known as CS that time.

OS is Operating System module CS2106. It's now elective module for IS, which mean you have a choice to take or not. For the module, it's quite dry and boring. You'll learn the more hardware related stuffs and need to use C programming for your assignments. If you don't choose this, you'll probably learn and use C programming for one of your basic programming module only :s13: So can say goodbye to C programming after that :)

napsterz

I am also considering taking the test and bypass this. I am afraid of not doing well for the module.

I wanted to take the test too with the same reason. I believe many would. But I chose not to because after 2 years of mud and 3 years of poly with hardly any math work, I think I'll need it to refresh my memory :s13:

It's 80% A math stuffs and 20% JC stuffs if still the same but teacher different :s13:

napsterz

yes its programming methodology. the most common computing module in NUS. not just in SoC. Engineering students have to take too

It comes in a few variations with different languages used. C, Scheme and Java if i m not wrong?

IS won't touch Scheme. For CS, you have a choice to choose Scheme instead of Java.

MoxLotus

I wanted to take the test too with the same reason. I believe many would. But I chose not to because after 2 years of mud and 3 years of poly with hardly any math work, I think I'll need it to refresh my memory :s13:

It's 80% A math stuffs and 20% JC stuffs if still the same but teacher different :s13:

I took A lvl H2 Maths 2 years ago. after 2 years of NS, bearly remember anything. going to attend revision course and hopefully do well in MA1301 lol.

lvestige

Sheesh, posting this from work.

Anyway, my experience is that if you (and also the rest who are eligible to take this proficiency test) can't solve most of the standard A level H2 maths/Maths 'C' syllabus exam qns now, you are destined for the ma1301 classes, with or without attempting the july test. (Unless you are going to EC or not coming to Computing/Engineering at all)

But if you find the standard A level H2 maths/Maths 'C' syllabus exam qns to be no kick, then by all means take the test and get yourself exempted.

And if you have a pass in H2 maths @ GCE A level, the test does not concern you at all

mei mei from poly :s22:

and anyway looking at the teacher for ma1301 now hor better to siam.. last batch got alot of ppl kena F :s13:

3 years of no math in poly + already weak in math ever since sec school.. I dk whether to siam this module or not.. I get this feeling that I will do bad even if I take it for the sake of building my foundation. :(

mgx-alander

in nus, not suka suka take module 1

must 1st

1. See who is the lecturer (check 1st b4 u bid or else regret)
2. Mathematics module must siam semester 1 when all the tiongs take (unless its only offered in that sem)

napsterz

I took A lvl H2 Maths 2 years ago. after 2 years of NS, bearly remember anything. going to attend revision course and hopefully do well in MA1301 lol.

Got simi revision course one meh ? :eek: So good?

napsterz

3 years of no math in poly + already weak in math ever since sec school.. I dk whether to siam this module or not.. I get this feeling that I will do bad even if I take it for the sake of building my foundation. :(

Not so easy siam one !

If don't take, calculus will cry :(
If take, calculus can smile :)

MoxLotus

if only u have asked earlier lol. I would have recommended u to join the same revision course as me at SP(registration just closed on last Monday). they actually have a 2 months preparatory course on Maths for those who are going to uni. Although the course is not targeted at beginners without poly Eng Maths foundation, still it is a gd crash course for anyone who has nvr touched maths in their 3 years of poly education. This will give u a brief overview of what you will expect in the first maths module in uni. =)

lvestige

in nus, not suka suka take module 1

must 1st

1. See who is the lecturer (check 1st b4 u bid or else regret)
2. Mathematics module must siam semester 1 when all the tiongs take (unless its only offered in that sem)

1. In case we get a strict one and get marked harshly?
2.you mean the foreign students will usually take math modules in sem 1?

Not so easy siam one !

If don't take, calculus will cry :(
If take, calculus can smile :)

haha i think take or dont take I will also cry because I really have no aptitude for math. :(

if only u have asked earlier lol. I would have recommended u to join the same revision course as me at SP(registration just closed on last Monday). they actually have a 2 months preparatory course on Maths for those who are going to uni. Although the course is not targeted at beginners without poly Eng Maths foundation, still it is a gd crash course for anyone who has nvr touched maths in their 3 years of poly education. This will give u a brief overview of what you will expect in the first maths module in uni. =)

I didn't know they have such a course! I took calculus/a-math (being applied in biz scenarios) for my dip plus and I ended up dropping because I just couldn't do well. :X

MoxLotus

1. If i am not wrong, a wrong lecturer means he dunno how to teach.
2. Only students without A lvl H2 Maths or equivalent will need to take. so majority are poly students.

mgx-alander

1. some lecturer are extremely screwed up.. best to avoid but of cos i cannot say name in public chiu want chiu pm me or gib moi chiur msn :s13:

2. yes

Jiaw3i

Bro, if u had taken A lvl H2 Maths, u are exempted from MA1301.

MoxLotus

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.