NUS Computing (Information Systems) Sem 1

mgx-alander

Nope, I am planning to take the module.

Provided that i have informed the school which i didnt.:s13:(never had a chance to as the uni application form for poly grads dun provide textbox for A lvl results.)

hor hor bruff nus

later kena caught ish expulsion 1 :crazy::crazy::crazy:

Jiaw3i

Nope, I am planning to take the module.

Provided that i have informed the school which i didnt.:s13:(never had a chance to as the uni application form for poly grads dun provide textbox for A lvl results.)

ummm u studied at poly as well as A levels? :s11::s11:

deathman91

Can Siam meh? Not a must to clear the MA1301 on first sem?
in nus, not suka suka take module 1

must 1st

1. See who is the lecturer (check 1st b4 u bid or else regret)
2. Mathematics module must siam semester 1 when all the tiongs take (unless its only offered in that sem)

lvestige

EC major does not require MA1301 anymore (since this current AY). u could say EC is free of maths even though there's still lv 1 stats

Hi guys, sorry I forgot to ask this, how is the curriculum like? Like how do they conduct lessons and all? Thanks!

Btw, If I choose to major in EC in year 2, will I still need to learn math in year 1? I am still quite confused so hope to clarify. :)

mgx-alander

Hi guys, sorry I forgot to ask this, how is the curriculum like? Like how do they conduct lessons and all? Thanks!

Btw, If I choose to major in EC in year 2, will I still need to learn math in year 1? I am still quite confused so hope to clarify. :)

Lecture tutorial style lessons

curriculum: EComm

curriculum: IS

i think u need to declare major at the start cos the curriculum between IS and EC is totally different

Jiaw3i

Hai Ivestige,

Like wad mgx said, u have to declare ur major before u start ur first semester. :) U can know more friends in SoC thru upcoming School of Computing camps coz u will be grouped together with ppl in your same major - eg. EC.

U can sign up for SoC Freshmen orientation camp. Check out this link - https://www.facebook.com/computingcamp2012

U can also sign up for SoC Orientation Week. Check out this link - http://www.facebook.com/SOC.OWeek12/info

:):)

MoxLotus

Hai Ivestige,

Like wad mgx said, u have to declare ur major before u start ur first semester. :) U can know more friends in SoC thru upcoming School of Computing camps coz u will be grouped together with ppl in your same major - eg. EC.

U can sign up for SoC Freshmen orientation camp. Check out this link - https://www.facebook.com/computingcamp2012

U can also sign up for SoC Orientation Week. Check out this link - NUS SOC O'Week 2012 Fun Intended - Sports/Recreation/Activities - Singapore, Singapore - Résumé | Facebook

:eek: makes me sad. cannot mix with ppl from other major liao loh... what is the chance of meeting a chio bu in CS? :(

Jiaw3i

:eek: makes me sad. cannot mix with ppl from other major liao loh... what is the chance of meeting a chio bu in CS? :(

I have seen chio bu in compewter science, so dun gib up hope of meeting one in ur OG. :s13::s13:

lvestige

Lecture tutorial style lessons

curriculum: EComm

curriculum: IS

i think u need to declare major at the start cos the curriculum between IS and EC is totally different

Hai Ivestige,

U can also sign up for SoC Orientation Week. Check out this link - NUS SOC O'Week 2012 Fun Intended - Sports/Recreation/Activities - Singapore, Singapore - Résumé | Facebook

Thanks! Does that mean that I won't get to explore what are IS and EC like first? :(

napsterz

No, you don't have to confirm your major in year 1 .

You can take either modules but once you confirm your major, those not under the programme requirements will be treated as UEs.

Switching of stream within the same department is easy. Don't worry. If you want to explore, just take those common ones and 1 or 2 from either major. And these 1 or 2 will either be considered as your UEs or core modules after you confirm your major. :)

Jiaw3i

You can take either modules but once you confirm your major, those not under the programme requirements will be treated as UEs.

Switching of stream within the same department is easy. Don't worry. If you want to explore, just take those common ones and 1 or 2 from either major. And these 1 or 2 will either be considered as your UEs or core modules after you confirm your major. :)

need to declare SoC major before first semester start leh, implemented for some time already. Switching major last time is easy, now is difficult. chiu old school rah.

mgx-alander

u old batch different

new batch must confirm upon matriculation, thats what happen for me

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.