Office Bully

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

Iamnobodyla

Would you stay with a company that doesn't pay you your salary on time? Or without bonuses or annual increment? :unsure:
True…
I also facing some little problems at work.
My supervisor is 打压我。 keep on dont want to delegate work for me to do and learn. So my appraisal i dont have anything to show.. and i wont learn. And she dont want to put in good words in front of hod for me.. sian.

i think i have to go eventually

Spike

True…
My supervisor is 打压我。 keep on dont want to delegate work for me to do and learn. So my appraisal i dont have anything to show.. and i wont learn. And she dont want to put in good words in front of hod for me.. sian.

I do not mean to be sarcastic here. If you are not irreplaceable, you are disposable. With the same salary, not difficult to hire someone. Without profitability, how to afford to hire anyone?

If I were a business owner, I would focus on revenue, business sustainability, the rest are mainly noise.

Iamnobodyla

I do not mean to be sarcastic here. If you are not irreplaceable, you are disposable. With the same salary, not difficult to hire someone. Without profitability, how to afford to hire anyone?

If I were a business owner, I would focus on revenue, business sustainability, the rest are mainly noise.
Ya. Everyone is a cog in the machine only.
But i feel if one use some politics, they can be seen as irreplaceable. I have seen it. They stayed 10 years at their job then they ensure ppl around them quit after a few years. The only constant is themselves. After some time, other departments and bosses depend on them only because they know it all. How to hire a newcomer to replace a person with ten years knowledge? And also, why would u replace something that is not broken? If the person play politics but keep the business going, as a boss, would u care who right who wrong? No! Cause as long as politics isnt serious dont affect business, u will keep the person for 30 years also possible!

Spike

Ya. Everyone is a cog in the machine only.
But i feel if one use some politics, they can be seen as irreplaceable. I have seen it. They stayed 10 years at their job then they ensure ppl around them quit after a few years. The only constant is themselves. After some time, other departments and bosses depend on them only because they know it all. How to hire a newcomer to replace a person with ten years knowledge? And also, why would u replace something that is not broken? If the person play politics but keep the business going, as a boss, would u care who right who wrong? No! Cause as long as politics isnt serious dont affect business, u will keep the person for 30 years also possible!
After all these years of working, you should have realized that "perception" is important. How your boss, colleagues or customers perceive you as an individual or professional.

Most work are repetitive with the same FAQs. It should not take long for anyone to master their basic responsibilities.

Suppose this old bird is dismissed today, can a newcomer replace her without affecting operations? If so, this means that ten years of knowledge is immaterial.

It is always easy to raise problems. Bosses look at solutions. Siding with you doesn't resolve anything. Giving you more time will not reduce the ten year advantage.

XiaoChilli

Actually, why can't you be honest and talk about the toxic culture in your prior company (that you just left)?
Have you done this before in interviews?
@Spike Can u advise on this.
I dunno and I dun think its good to badmouth ex company. I myself wouldnt

Spike

I wouldn't add anything extra if I were not told to elaborate.

Just focus on need-to-know basis.

Iamnobodyla

After all these years of working, you should have realized that "perception" is important. How your boss, colleagues or customers perceive you as an individual or professional.

Most work are repetitive with the same FAQs. It should not take long for anyone to master their basic responsibilities.

Suppose this old bird is dismissed today, can a newcomer replace her without affecting operations? If so, this means that ten years of knowledge is immaterial.

It is always easy to raise problems. Bosses look at solutions. Siding with you doesn't resolve anything. Giving you more time will not reduce the ten year advantage.
The old bird is irreplaceable. Because newcomer just simply dont have that knowledge. Unless someone is training that newcomer. But smart ppl will know not to teach everything that they know. If u boss, why would u bother who do the job?

so xiaochilli, one politics u can play is to make yourself competent to be irreplaceable

XiaoChilli

What is the reason he is not firing me though.
Given there are ppl picking on me and some are seniors in the company 30 years.

Isnt it easy to fire someone and state as performance issue?

Lchlch

True…

Very bad , toxic, evil hearted Mgr.
Try to take own initiative to learn yourself how other do.
Record it down by documents it.

Spike

1. To him, this politicking could be at a tolerable level.
2. Time is not right yet.
3. He wanted to see if the situation will deescalate over time.
4. He got more important things to handle at this point of time.

Lchlch

Oic where you standing in yr coy.
It's all probably due to dinosaur age staff of 30 years. They are the worst colleagues that always assume their working methods are the best in the world.
They will not listen to junior staff suggestions.
Whatever junior staff suggestions, they usually brush the suggestions off.
They won't listen.
They are living too comfort in their comfort zone.
They are stagnant.
Yet they stay longer n longer.

Iamnobodyla

Very bad , toxic, evil hearted Mgr.
Try to take own initiative to learn yourself how other do.
Record it down by documents it.
Thanks for ur advice 🙏🏻
Ya i try to figure out things on my own lor.. but a bit like i dont know what i dont know. But i try.

anyway i will find a new job after some time lor, dont want me to stay then i dont stay lor… the world is so big after all. 🤣

Lchlch

The old bird is irreplaceable. Because newcomer just simply dont have that knowledge. Unless someone is training that newcomer. But smart ppl will know not to teach everything that they know. If u boss, why would u bother who do the job?

so xiaochilli, one politics u can play is to make yourself competent to be irreplaceable
This is very true.
I quote my example , experience.
I hv the ex jhk lead.
He won't teach you important tasks.
He will do himself n always tell me he is also not irreplaceable, but my 1st gut feel told me he is indirectly telling me he is irreplaceable.
He won't teach nor let me handle it.
Very restricting.
When he tender, he told me out of the blue, he won't share his docs with me.
He actually delete every docs before he left.
See how toxic n evil hearted this jhk lead is..

Lchlch

Thanks for ur advice 🙏🏻
Ya i try to figure out things on my own lor.. but a bit like i dont know what i dont know. But i try.

anyway i will find a new job after some time lor, dont want me to stay then i dont stay lor… the world is so big after all. 🤣
Yes one door close, another door open for you.
But try to officially hv a job b4 throw letter.

Lchlch

That is Exit Interview.
It's I would say pointless.
HR just follow their protocol .
To Interview you why leaving.

My ex coy , the HR hod came n look for me n hv a closed door Interview for 1 hour plus.

Then fee days later, HR Mgr Interview me for exit interview.

I pour out everything , that time I dmt really care. But I know HR won't do anything to that Mgr. But I still tell the truth.

Cos the ex coy is just a pivoted coy.
After that, I return to my industry in my field.

Burn Bridge? Probably yes.

Lchlch

Bro, can I say something on yoir last 2 paragraph?
My experience ya.
The ex jhk lead left.
Leaving many issues nvr taught us nor hand over
No docs.
He burn bridge.
I told hod about this.
I told hod we will do a full reset.
I told hod dnt worry.
Currently I hv my team mate, he loves to control.
I let him control.
Cos I dnt want any more stress.

Iamnobodyla

This is very true.
I quote my example , experience.
I hv the ex jhk lead.
He won't teach you important tasks.
He will do himself n always tell me he is also not irreplaceable, but my 1st gut feel told me he is indirectly telling me he is irreplaceable.
He won't teach nor let me handle it.
Very restricting.
When he tender, he told me out of the blue, he won't share his docs with me.
He actually delete every docs before he left.
See how toxic n evil hearted this jhk lead is..
Dont teach u dont let u do already very jialat..

but still delete the docs before leaving 😱😱

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.