Office Bully

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

shin89

Yes not another thread by the small chilli.

Nowadays it has progressed into office bullying.

- Scapegoating of me to push the blame to me when there is a mistake. Origin of mistake was a person who input wrong price but they gang up to make it seem as though its the person (me) who perform the second last step cause the mistake.

-Snide remarks made about me when customers call the office.

-Non-coverage of my work while Im away on leave

-Not handing over properly the things she is supposed to guide me on. Which more blame will be shifted to me later on.

Of couse you can say find another job, quit your job, but the thing is... if hiring company were to call my company.. this frigging auntie who dare to make snide remarks abt me when customer call confirm will make snide remarks when they call.

So how? Wait until she retire, lah?
Hiring company doing the employment verification does not care about their feedback. They only want to know if you are employed during this period of time that you stated. Unless you are talking about reference contact, then you shouldnt put any of them.

XiaoChilli

If I had seen the colour of these people, I wouldn't continue to wait for things to happen, and will replace them over time.

Many ways to force someone to leave voluntarily.

I'm running a business after all.
Dun need to force .. they will probably retire in a few years if they have a good life ..
If not maybe need to wait a decade .. or if natural death happens .. whichever comes first .. šŸ˜…

Notbbfa

Black and white trails are useless..

At some point, your big boss is going to get sick of this office politicking and ask you to leave because this is unproductive, not helping business, and causing division within factions within the company.

No matter how capable, it's better to lose one person than to lose four. At least I would have done it that way if I were the big boss. Then take my time to replace the troublemakers.
Curious if boss does that can get hoot by HR or not, if victim voices out or make formal case to TAFEP:s11:

SmokeBomb

Black and white trails are useless..

At some point, your big boss is going to get sick of this office politicking and ask you to leave because this is unproductive, not helping business, and causing division within factions within the company.

No matter how capable, it's better to lose one person than to lose four. At least I would have done it that way if I were the big boss. Then take my time to replace the troublemakers.
Agreed... in my previous company, I had seen how two siao eh, always play email war over seemingly small issues.

Boss buay tahan... ask the two siao eh, go inside meeting room, talk it out. His point... both of you are professional adults... I expect you two to sort things out over conversation and not sending emails like that.

End up... 6 months later, one of the siao eh quit.

Spike

Dun need to force .. they will probably retire in a few years if they have a good life ..
If not maybe need to wait a decade .. or if natural death happens .. whichever comes first .. šŸ˜…
You are missing an important point. Their exit timing is not determined by them. It's determined by your big boss. At their age, their options are limited.

Spike

Curious if boss does that can get hoot by HR or not, if victim voices out or make formal case to TAFEP:s11:
In theory, you can make life tough for your subordinate without violating any laws. Not difficult to put this as a performance issue.

Iamnobodyla

If I had seen the colour of these people, I wouldn't continue to wait for things to happen, and will replace them over time.

Many ways to force someone to leave voluntarily.

I'm running a business after all.
Sometimes those management chose not to do anything as long as work is done. They get rid of the person they bullied instead cause easier to fix 1 person vs 1 group

Spike

Sometimes those management chose not to do anything as long as work is done. They get rid of the person they bullied instead cause easier to fix 1 person vs 1 group
Business is business.

Short term solution is to get rid of the source of immediate problem.

Long term solution is to correct the culture by eliminating the incumbent.

Business should not drop as a result in the meantime. Right or wrong doesn't matter compared to business sustainability. :o

Nuclear Boy

Of couse you can say find another job, quit your job, but the thing is... if hiring company were to call my company.. this frigging auntie who dare to make snide remarks abt me when customer call confirm will make snide remarks when they call.
Actually, why can't you be honest and talk about the toxic culture in your prior company (that you just left)?

Nuclear Boy

cause easier to fix 1 person vs 1 group
I hate to say this, but I've done this before during a school project, because it simply is easier to fix that one problematic person (actual) that everyone also picks on.

But of course, this isn't to say TS is an actual problematic colleague. But such power dynamics still apply, unfortunately.

SmokeBomb

Unless the boss is bodoh enough to off-board the person using such nonsense reasons or if he / she off-board using obvious discriminating reasons - which most times, HR will actually 'remind' the boss that his / her action is off.... unless the HR also has an axe to grind with the boss... Then just nice... Hor Yi Si.....

Generally, as mentioned already, these type of issue... usually will tagged as performance issue. Which is broad and vague as F....

zamowk

normally they buay gan that why bully you :ROFLMAO:

no need waste time on buay gan ppl

Elfblade

Yes not another thread by the small chilli.

Nowadays it has progressed into office bullying.

- Scapegoating of me to push the blame to me when there is a mistake. Origin of mistake was a person who input wrong price but they gang up to make it seem as though its the person (me) who perform the second last step cause the mistake.

-Snide remarks made about me when customers call the office.

-Non-coverage of my work while Im away on leave

-Not handing over properly the things she is supposed to guide me on. Which more blame will be shifted to me later on.

So how? Wait until she retire, lah?
You're younger than Auntie, outlast her!

Iamnobodyla

Business is business.

Short term solution is to get rid of the source of immediate problem.

Long term solution is to correct the culture by eliminating the incumbent.

Business should not drop as a result in the meantime. Right or wrong doesn't matter compared to business sustainability. :o
Sadly everything is about profit and sustainability to the boss.. doesnt matter who right who wrong :frown:

jackiehuat

On the other hand, I have lotsa of complaints about the Gen Z. Extremely entitled and always talked back to seniors. Think fully of themselves when they have no substance. They also ungrateful and selfish, who are always tried to backstab colleagues. If I am not careful, they will ride over my head and shxt on me.

Are you one of the Gen Z? Just listen to your manager and do your work diligently. Complain less and work harder.

Mclairs83

everything documented down.

if she whatsapp u.. tell her to send via email. whatsapp messages can delete.. email cannot delete unless administrators give permission to manager to access to your mailbox.

if she don't want to send, just drop an email to her what you converse with her and correct you if there is anything wrong. if there is no reply and she use that email to fire at you.. u can tell her.. i did check with u.. but since u didn't reply, means there is nothing wrong right.

then make her life difficult also. whatever things she ask u to do.. always ask her to check and constantly follow up with her.

you are younger than her.. your energy level can outlast an auntie.. no need to worry.

Spike

Sadly everything is about profit and sustainability to the boss.. doesnt matter who right who wrong :frown:
Would you stay with a company that doesn't pay you your salary on time? Or without bonuses or annual increment? :unsure:

Iamnobodyla

I hate to say this, but I've done this before during a school project, because it simply is easier to fix that one problematic person (actual) that everyone also picks on.

But of course, this isn't to say TS is an actual problematic colleague. But such power dynamics still apply, unfortunately.
Life is unfair :frown:
i believe TS is not a problematic person judging from her posts in edmw 🤣 but such is life… always will meet some bullies along the way

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.