Official Hermes Thread

charleslin

Nah...no choice...CC charges too high...bo hua..carry cash better.

Yeah wad...in case I see cheap Rolex or Birkins..just sweep them off the shelf lor

Sadly I can only sweep lollipops and biscuits. :(

Darkangle

Sadly I can only sweep lollipops and biscuits. :(

But I mean if go to places like Milan or Paris...easily 15k on LV already wad...normally my friend or cousin I tompang about 10k every round.

So dun hav much left actually

arayanna_a

I must first have enough money to shop then I will go.

Min 20 to 30k(max limit to bring out of sg) cash before going off. If not can go there no money to buy also sian..the rest of the payment in CC.

Lol, You have the same idea as me. I calculate I would need 15k at least for paris. I would need at least 6k euros to just buy a birkin lol!!

kirivin

Lol, You have the same idea as me. I calculate I would need 15k at least for paris. I would need at least 6k euros to just buy a birkin lol!!

I think I'll need at least 7-8k euros for myself in Paris haha. 4k for Hermes, 2k prolly for Louis Vuitton and another 2k for other stuff + foooooooood! :p

Have to start planning out my wishlist liao. Hehe.

meowcsj

I think I'll need at least 7-8k euros for myself in Paris haha. 4k for Hermes, 2k prolly for Louis Vuitton and another 2k for other stuff + foooooooood! :p

Have to start planning out my wishlist liao. Hehe.

I went to Europe in May 2009, spent S$20k for shopping.

I went again in June 2009, spent S$30k for shopping.

The spending is for uncontrolled shopping, I buy anything I like, thus if you shop with a list, the budget can be controlled.

The branded there is at least 20 - 30 % cheaper than in Singapore before the sales. With sales, it is about 50% cheaper than in Singapore. The choice of merchandise is wider, the new arrival is very up to date. I will go there annually to shop for branded, thus will not be buying in Singapore.

This year, the June sales starts on 24 June. Next year is either 23 June or 30 June, yet to be confirmed.

The January 2010 sales starts 27 January 2010.

Paris hotel is not cheap, I stay in a boutique hotel off Champs Elysees, about S$500 a night. As buying branded stuff, I request for no room services to prevent people from entering the room. Thus in Paris, cannot too sloppy hotel to prevent theft.

This May, I went to London, Paris, Rome, Florence, Pisa.
This June, I went to Paris & London only.

My annual shopping trip should cover Paris, Milan & London, perhaps Florence too. I like Florence.

meowcsj

Lol thats the total opposite of my ideals lol. My dream destination would be Paris, Milan, London and New York in order lol. All shopping havens!!!

The only place in my list that doesn't involve shopping is Tuscany!!! I have been wanting to go there since I watch Under the Tuscan Sun!!!

Yes, that is why, next year, I would include Milan and Florence in my Shopping trip.

I am heading for New York this September for shopping for apparel & Tiffany!

meowcsj

No need bring cash de mah. Just use CC all the way can liao. Moreover, bring cash still must worry about it being lost. Moreover where got people bring so many cold hard cash in luggage? :s13:

Ya, I used credit card, can earn points to redeem air tickets. My June trip I redeem a SQ First Class seat for S$600+ back from London and economy seat to Paris. My coming New York trip, I am redeeming a business class return trip for S$600+ too.

Not really safe to bring a lot of cash. Besides, London uses pound whereas Paris and Milan use EURO.

KohChris

lol I think the bare minimum for myself would be enough for myself in Europe...instead of Paris, i'll be staying at travellers inns and backpacking around....

meowcsj

Wow, sounds damn fun!

But 50k in just two months. :s22:

Ya, these 3 months is a shopping period. I come back I bought a Sony P, some diamonds, a Cartier Santos 100, today I bought a gold bar!

From May till today, spent S$70k on shopping already.

I seriously need to be a shopping ban.

Btw I feel not worth to buy branded watch in Europe, they did not give much discount to tourists as compared to the discount given to us in Singapore. Thus, I bought the Cartier Santos 100 when I came back in May 2009.

DaveBDT

okay i would set 12k euro for herme inclusive of birkin!!
4k for loewe man weekenders!
4k for bottega veneta!

clothes would be mad cool!
raf simons, cavalli!

24k would be mad ideal.

meowcsj

lol I think the bare minimum for myself would be enough for myself in Europe...instead of Paris, i'll be staying at travellers inns and backpacking around....

I will do that if I am backpacking for sight seeing. But if I am on a shopping trip, then it will be a different story. It is hard not to spend if you travel so far and see so many nice things at prices cheaper than in Singapore.

Branded orginated from Europe, will be the cheapest in Europe, especially after there is still VAT refund.

DaveBDT

yeah!

must buy a years supply of laduree back to sg too!

meow did u manage to snag some macarons on your trip?

meowcsj

but it is available for purchase when I want to?

Buying a Birkin in Paris is a hit or miss. It does not guarantee that if you go to Paris Hermes, you can definitely buy a Birkin.

Firstly, it depends on whether there are any Birkin available in the back room.

Secondly, it depends on whether the sales assistant will want to show you one.

Thirdly, it depends on whether you like the size, the colour, the leather of the Birkin that is available.

To note, 1 passport can only buy 1 Birkin and 1 Kelly a year. On 2 separate days, I saw mainly Asian buying the Birkins - Hong Kongis, Indonesians, Taiwanese and Japanese.

meowcsj

yeah!

must buy a years supply of laduree back to sg too!

meow did u manage to snag some macarons on your trip?

Ya, I ate some lauduree macarons during the trip. Some are nice, some I find too sweet or sour. And had a lauduree english breakfast on one day. Their english breakfast portion is very big.

DaveBDT

Most of the times there should be birkins in the back room.

must be pesky SAs!

DaveBDT

OH GOSH YEAH!
laduree is THE macaron and patisserie.

im totally craving for it now!

like how many dessert shops actually launches dessert with the season?!

KohChris

I must first have enough money to shop then I will go.

Min 20 to 30k(max limit to bring out of sg) cash before going off. If not can go there no money to buy also sian..the rest of the payment in CC.

bro, be careful with cash..a WatchUSeek mbr lost 4k usd while trying to shop for an Omega planet ocean...

Ya, these 3 months is a shopping period. I come back I bought a Sony P, some diamonds, a Cartier Santos 100, today I bought a gold bar!

From May till today, spent S$70k on shopping already.

I seriously need to be a shopping ban.

Btw I feel not worth to buy branded watch in Europe, they did not give much discount to tourists as compared to the discount given to us in Singapore. Thus, I bought the Cartier Santos 100 when I came back in May 2009.

70k on shopping??!!! Thats crazy but i guess its fine if your husband is rich..:D

I hope he didn't made any noise on it lol..

ate alot of fresh air and hawker food to recover my $$ gone after my omega purchase.. :(

I will do that if I am backpacking for sight seeing. But if I am on a shopping trip, then it will be a different story. It is hard not to spend if you travel so far and see so many nice things at prices cheaper than in Singapore.

Branded orginated from Europe, will be the cheapest in Europe, especially after there is still VAT refund.

Somehow i got immune to branded goods le when i take a look at some of the outrageous prices of the stuffs sold in Sg...haha.

Guess i may be tempted to spend on branded products if i'll be heading to EU but don't think i'll be going there for shopping..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.