*Official* MasterLeong Thread

Maeda_Toshiie

My side quite lucky as we will be issued iPads. My friends in private sector always say we waste taxpayers money :crazy:

We can exclude scholars as they are outliners. Their pay confirm good one.

For peasants like me, I entered Civil Service with $3.8K in 2012 and reached $6k in 2016. Next increment is Apr 2017. Bonus (if include AWS) is about 4 months every year. Almost 100k per annum at 29 years old.

Not a bad deal for someone like me with no special skill/talent. I confirm cannot survive in private sector one. This is the only route I can guarantee Financial Freedom in my lifetime. People say I jiak liao bee, I just laugh it off lor.

If join Uniform Group even better, pay u to exercise and got free food/accommodation. Retire still give you one lump sum. One of my friends takes this route. His portfolio expands sibei fast even tho got family and kids.

Curious, what is your degree in, where is it from, and which class of honours? These matter a lot for government service. You don't have to answer if you don't want to.

Science FCH from local uni. Doing unrelated admin work.
If you are a teacher, uniform group or engineer, pay will be even higher.

lewissac

I'm still skeptical of being working inside civil sector. Most of my friends who worked there jumped out after 2-3 years working. Primary reason: KPI. Secondary reason: pay grade and career advancement.

I still prefer to work with civil sector instead of working for civil sector. =:p
And which is why my current job is good. :s13:

madtari

care to share which scheme of service you are in? I'm thinking the 10% salary review helps a lot right? :)
For peasants like me, I entered Civil Service with $3.8K in 2012 and reached $6k in 2016. Next increment is Apr 2017. Bonus (if include AWS) is about 4 months every year. Almost 100k per annum at 29 years old.

wiz

GLC also good, first job and last job

Can't stress enough, if you have good grades stay in CS and GLC. For me which is BTC only choice is private sector

wiz

Also please look at total comp, bonus is almost nothing for private while CS and GLC is usually 16 months

Shawny88

Not all CS are jiak liao bee or stress free though majority are. CS starting pay and bonus are good but if want to be high earners, Private sector still better unless you are scholar

MasterLeong

I think you should explore as you have time and age to your advantage

exploring... got opportunities but I too scared to fail or lose what I already built up

last time when I have less, got less fear... dare to all in

now more and more scared as my age picks up... dunno why

madtari

She will definitely tell you hell no! Where got job in this world which pays you 28 mths salary for working 12 months?

Or you mean 16mths annual pay package? :D Anyway I can attest to this as well... its real. Can even be higher if you are in a specialized scheme or superscale.
16 month bonus? I go ask my sis real or not. Lol
If real she needs to contribute more at home liao.
Kekeke

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.