said my fibre plan already out of contract since May
giving me some perks if i renew my ST TV as well
CSO was too eager to close the deal
kept asking me if i’m ok, so can proceed
i kept stalling since i was caught off guard by the offer
in the end i declined
i rather pay no contract for the next few months
bcoz covid has affected a lot of ppl’s livelihood
i thought it be unwise to commit to a 24-months contract again at old pricing ... and then regretting when fond out they slashing prices months later
so, please weigh the pros n cons
they offered me 50% off my STB subscription ... ST TV current package $$ no change
that’s what made me think twice
and yeah, i got the EPL package too at the moment

Looks like they will not reducing EPL pricing, because the near monopoly here. What you can do is to try to get other perks like SingTel Cast or SingTel TV Go benefits, and the TV box rental fee.

Still I think your strategy is okay, even though I myself will be happy to recontact at my current package price (S$39.9 for 1Gbps with 24 months contract, S$11.75 for Family Favorite pack with 12 months contract at 50% off the normal S$23.5 price), because they are unlikely to reduce the price further.

Telecom sector is one of the few sectors which are actually doing well during this COVID 19 crisis. So they may be reluctant to reduce the price. You can see Starhub keeps their internet and TV pricing. M1 actually raised their 500 Mbps internet plan by S$0.9 to match Starhub pricing at S$29.9.

Jas007

wow ! your contract looks good leh 🤣
1Gbps at $39.90
they wanna charge me $44.90 (today i saw new customers $43.90) 🤣

thanks for the suggestion.
will try get them improve on CAST and other aspects

loganrunning

Great sharing guys!

it's the information asymmetry that the telcos/isps exploit to raise prices, or use discriminatory pricing.

knowledge is power! return the power to the ordinary man-in-the-street!

Singrish

My singtel home broadband contract expires in sep 2020 but my singtel tv contract expires in feb 2021. Am planning to switch to m1 first in sep 2020 so i can use my own router & plan to unsubscribe from singtel tv eventually when it expires in feb 2021.

My understanding is that its possible to be singtel tv subscriber without being singtel broadband subscriber. Is this correct & is there additional charge? I know starhub allows non starhub broadband users to sign up for starhub tv but they charge $15 extra a month for fibre link access.

Also how will the set up be like? Singtel tv box connect to onr which connects to one port on termination point & no other router involved at all i guess since singtel ONR is already router. And then for M1 it will be my asus router to M1 ONT to the other port on the termination point? So totally separate in that sense.

xiaofan

My singtel home broadband contract expires in sep 2020 but my singtel tv contract expires in feb 2021. Am planning to switch to m1 first in sep 2020 so i can use my own router & plan to unsubscribe from singtel tv eventually when it expires in feb 2021.

My understanding is that its possible to be singtel tv subscriber without being singtel broadband subscriber. Is this correct & is there additional charge? I know starhub allows non starhub broadband users to sign up for starhub tv but they charge $15 extra a month for fibre link access.

Also how will the set up be like? Singtel tv box connect to onr which connects to one port on termination point & no other router involved at all i guess since singtel ONR is already router. And then for M1 it will be my asus router to M1 ONT to the other port on the termination point? So totally separate in that sense.

1. Yes you can have SingTel TV, without subscription to SingTel broadband. No extra charge, unlike Starhub.

But you do lose the bundling benefits if you have the benefits. For example, if you also have SingTel mobile, then you are entitled SingTel Circle benefits (discount on mobile, annual handset purchase, etc). You will lose SingTel Circle benefits after switching to M1.

And you will encounter NLT charges from the new M1 broadband.

2. Yes they are separate. There are quite some people who are using two ISPs. Your digital voice will need to connect to M1 ONT.

Singrish

1. Yes you can have SingTel TV, without subscription to SingTel broadband. No extra charge, unlike Starhub.

But you do lose the bundling benefits if you have the benefits. For example, if you also have SingTel mobile, then you are entitled SingTel Circle benefits (discount on mobile, annual handset purchase, etc). You will lose SingTel Circle benefits after switching to M1.

And you will encounter NLT charges from the new M1 broadband.

2. Yes they are separate. There are quite some people who are using two ISPs. Your digital voice will need to connect to M1 ONT.
Thanks. I have no bundle so no issue. NLT charge that one no choice lah switch ISP sure kena. I guess now is a good time to switch with the m1 national day promo.

VoodooKing

I had 2 CISCO STB non-DVR for about 2-3 years. One labeled MioTV and the other SingtelTV. I had an issue where only one box can watch one channel while the other shows error page on the same channel. Lets take CNN for exampble, if SingtelTV box has CNN on, then MioTV box cannot watch CNN. When SingtelTV box switches to other channel, then the MioTV box can watch CNN, if the SingtelTV box switches back to CNN while MioTV box has CNN on, the channel will freeze and show error page while SingtelTV box can watch CNN. Priority seems to go to the SingtelTV box.

When I reboot my router, both can watch CNN for about 30 minutes before the MioTV box shows error on the CNN channel. I had this problem for about a year or so and didn't do anything about it until I went down to change both boxes to the Tatung STB-3102 non-DVR just now. Now both can watch the same channels together.. Very strange problem.

RavenX

Has anyone encountered an issue that viewing the same channel with 2 SingtelTV STBs at the same time will cause freezing to happen intermittently on the channels?
My set up is an ONT with Asus router (RT-AX58U) and 2 STBs connected on LAN3 and 4 ports.

LAN Setup is identical to what has been provided previously:
Under LAN , Tab IPTV,

Select “ Manual Setting” for ISP Profile.

Use these settings :

Internet : VID: 10, PRIO: 0
LAN Port 4: VID: 20, PRIO: 4
LAN Port 3: VID: 20, PRIO: 4

xiaofan

Has anyone encountered an issue that viewing the same channel with 2 SingtelTV STBs at the same time will cause freezing to happen intermittently on the channels?
My set up is an ONT with Asus router (RT-AX58U) and 2 STBs connected on LAN3 and 4 ports.

Under LAN , Tab IPTV,

Use these settings :

Maybe you have to ask Asus to see if RT-AX58U VLAN implementation is the issue or not, since SingTel does not support 3rd party router. If confirmes by Asus, hopefully a FW update will fix the issue. If you ask SingTel to troubleshoot, they will ask you to check whether it works with SingTel issued wireless router.

For multiple SingTel TV box, the best SingTel supported way is to ask SingTel to switch to ONR and configure the ONR as following.

One port bridged port -- no vlan, for internet, just connect your RT-AX58U (remove the vlan profile).

Three ports for SingTel TV, no internet.

Knightoftheblackrose

Bro,

I confirm no such freezing issues on my setup.

I have 2 SingTel TV boxes connected to my ASUS RT AC 5300, using LAN 3 and LAN 4.

Under LAN , Tab IPTV,

Use these settings :

xiaofan

For recontract, not so sure what is the offer for now? Last year I got 50% off offer for 12 month contract for my Family Favourite pack (S$23.90 x 50% =S$11.95 per month), as well as free normal box rental.

josh_ong

I replaced my Singtel router to Asus AX88U.
Managed to work it with my SingtelTV, but I am having problem with the Netflix channel. Does anyone have the issue?

xiaofan

I replaced my Singtel router to Asus AX88U.
Managed to work it with my SingtelTV, but I am having problem with the Netflix channel. Does anyone have the issue?

Are you using ONT or ONR?

If ONR, connect SingTel TV box to the ONR.

But looks like you are using ONT. I do not use Netflix at all so I can not help.

Hopefully experts like miloaisdino or renfred89 can chime in and help you.

josh_ong

Are you using ONT or ONR?

If ONR, connect SingTel TV box to the ONR.

But looks like you are using ONT. I do not use Netflix at all so I can not help.

Hopefully experts like miloaisdino or renfred89 can chime in and help you.

Yes. I am using ONT currently. I do not mind try using ONR if it can solve the problem.
It is basically plug and play, right? Do I need to set something before it can connect to the internet?
I wanna try using my parents first.

xiaofan

Yes. I am using ONT currently. I do not mind try using ONR if it can solve the problem.
It is basically plug and play, right? Do I need to set something before it can connect to the internet?
I wanna try using my parents first.

For ONR it will be plug and play, as long as you connect SingTel TV box to the ONR.

You will regret if you switch to ONR since you buy the AX88U (you will lose features when switching to ONR, you have to configure it as an AP to avoid double NAT) unless you can convince SingTel to configure the ONR in the following bridge mode.

ONR bridge port -- AX88U in router mode
ONR port -- Singtel TV box

SingTel seems to be more and more accommodating to the request of bridging the ONR. Give them a call to see how.

josh_ong

Sound pretty complicated.
Shall skip then. I managed to watch NF on TV. Happened that my LG have NetFlix apps. Save my trouble now

xiaofan

Sound pretty complicated.
Shall skip then. I managed to watch NF on TV. Happened that my LG have NetFlix apps. Save my trouble now

That is great. Netflix should be of higher quality on your LG TV than from SingTel TV box.

Actually I was about to suggest the alternative of buying a Mi Box S if your TV does not support Netflix.

josh_ong

Yeah. Was glad that I can use it. Haha.
I was considering such box if it all failed.

Kyubi

Anyone know whether recontract tv, the normal setup box is free? As in do I need to pay additional fee per mth? I went online and it doesn’t state when try to check out? So ya confusing

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.