Official MIO TV Thread.......

kenny_sn

i mean singtel will auto update the firmware from their side to our homes, we just don't need to do anything..they should do this instead..maybe in future..

Jas007

ehhh.... i asked the tech why he flashed the firmware during onsite visit... according to him, it's a must to flash to the newer firmware for every house visit with f/w 1603 for the aztech modem... if they never willingly, they must be lazy?:s11:

eh that tech which area one ?

mine the first tech i think really no have the firmware ...
cos he bothered to update my MioBox firmware (even though it was probably the same .. via hard reset lah :s13: )
2nd one .. maybe pressed for time ... say no need ... can go singnet website to DIY :s11::s11: :s13:
but nvm lah ... he went out of his way to bring me my cherished v5 modem :D

Francis85

you will expect more of this "encounters" coming Saturday...All hell breaks lose....

ST better be prepared for the avalanche of complaints flooding in.

Technicians will be on standby till 12am on sat, so dun worry.....

Jas007

12am !!! :s13:
how soon can they get to someone's place in times of need :s13:

lucky United (fans) match is postponed a day back from the original fixture date :D

weiwen2000

I have a minor problem for MIO TV. Whenever I change the channel, the channel will freeze a while and back to normal or occasionally i need to hard reset. I heard from the forum that there is update in the Aztech modem. My current modem FZ is 140.6.3 I am currently using COMTREND wireless adapter. May I know can I ask the technican to update my firmware of the router

Francis85

I have a minor problem for MIO TV. Whenever I change the channel, the channel will freeze a while and back to normal or occasionally i need to hard reset. I heard from the forum that there is update in the Aztech modem. My current modem FZ is 140.6.3 I am currently using COMTREND wireless adapter. May I know can I ask the technican to update my firmware of the router

Hm...... Using Comtrend, I would advise ya to use RJ45, rather then Comtrend, also might want to ask can change the aztech modem to a new one or not also.....

kloozo

no hate or anything...:D but why isit so hard for some people's minds to process the fact that with torrent, your internet slows or wont even load(if you're using the mio modem only) due to the fact that bw is taken by torrent? i've known friends who are so persistent and blame isps for their slow internet whilst they are downloading media on mega fast speeds.. how to get it to their heads? anyone got any idea?:D

Hi, i'm suffering from the typical problems, miotv screen freezes, internet connection dropping etc.

Today the technician came down (3rd time) and said that my problems could be due to my torrent software.

As quoted above, I understand perfectly that heavy downloading may suck dry all my bandwidth, but what the technician told me was that the torrent software will change the settings in my 2wire router, hence screwing up all my miohome connections.

I can't entirely rule this out but it sounds like bull to me. Is this true or even possible?

i'm using utorrent only sporadically, and my average total download b/w is only 20-30 kbps, u/l b/w at max 20kbps, on a 6mbps plan.

:s22:

kloozo

I've got another question about the micro-filters (the white dongle, 1-in 2-outs)

Originally when the fella installed my miohome, he installed the filters, even though i had no need to split the line. 1 in 1 out, leaving the other port free.

Phone socket --> filter --> 2wire --> internet/tv/phone

when my miohome started dying, i figured the filter doesn't seem to serve any purpose so i took it out, since that's one additional possible failure point. but my problems continues.

Phone socket --> 2wire --> internet/tv/phone

Through one of my many calls, their technical assistance hotline told me to put back the micro-filter because it 'filters' the line and shd give me a cleaner connection. so i put it back. still no diff.

Phone socket --> filter --> 2wire --> internet/tv/phone

today another technician came down but i was at work, and he removed the filters saying that it's not necesary.

Phone socket --> 2wire --> internet/tv/phone

so what the hell is the filter for!

liangtam

In most user case, the phone remain as a fixed analogue service/
However, becos u opted for mio Voice, or the socket no phone, hence no MF is needed

kloozo

sorrie, i think i phrased my question wrongly.

What is puzzling to me is that 2 out of 4 of their technical staff put or told me to put the microfilter on even though they know i'm on mio voice.
it's very worrying when they evidently do not know what a simple microfilter is for.

everytime i call the hotline or when the technicians come down, i hear different things from them as to what caused my miohome problems.

liangtam

In mioVoice case, the helpline CANNOT see how ur line is wired!
Some is direct phone to the ATA output, some is ATA output back into the existing line(loopback)

Becos some contractor do things differently, sometime the wiring is change internally, to the laymen user - cannot tell which wiring style is used, and hence they cannot tell you exactly if a MF is needed until the tech comes down.

Besides, adding a MF to a socket with no phone wont make a diff for end result, unless it spoils.

Houdineer

in the case of loopback, MF is needed... if not got echo... just put the filter... even if it makes no diff... just one question, from your modem, the telephone port(not the phone line port), is there a wire going back to your phone socket? if no then just ignore the filters... if yes, put back the filter.... simple..:D

Jas007

one of the technicians told me that SingTel doesnt allow Microfilter loopback (MioVoice) ...
claims will damage copperwires ...

loopback is instead of connecting your phone to the 2wire modem directly ...
one connects a line from the telephone socket via a microfilter to the modem instead ...
thus enabling the user to connect his telephone to any other telephone socket that is in the same loop ...

savior75

Just to get a clearer picture of the miotv problem.
Can we tally up our connection speed.
I'm using 15mbps SNBB with BPL plan.

Using Speedtest.net
When I put my miotv set-top box to standby. Speed is 14.xx
When I watch Standard Definition channel. Speed is 11.xx.
When I watch High Definition channel. Speed is 9.xx.

So when we watch HD channel, it takes a way 5mbps.
For people with 6mbps plans, might it be a problem?

1. savior75 - 15mbps - BPL - no problem.

Jas007

1. savior75 - 15mbps - BPL - no problem
2. Jas007 - 8mbps (FOC MioTV only dedicated 2nd line) - BPL - no problem
(except for the momentary freezing or distorted feed within the first 8 secs after channel change)

seeyourhead_jiejie

I'm using 15mbps SNBB with BPL plan.

Using Speedtest.net
When I put my miotv set-top box to standby. Speed is 14.xx
When I watch Standard Definition channel. Speed is 11.xx.
When I watch High Definition channel. Speed is 9.xx.

So when we watch HD channel, it takes a way 5mbps.
For people with 6mbps plans, might it be a problem?

1. savior75 - 15mbps - BPL - no problem.
15mbps ur miotv dun have a seperate line ? :s11:

chunlianghere

1. savior75 - 15mbps - BPL - no problem
2. Jas007 - 8mbps (FOC MioTV only dedicated 2nd line) - BPL - no problem
(except for the momentary freezing or distorted feed within the first 8 secs after channel change)

3. chunlianghere - 10mbps (2nd line FOC for miotv) - no problem on hd, distorted, or freezing.

but now donno y the "miotv" word stuck on the screen for very long liao. any idea? jus installed ytd. ytd tried no problem.

*edit: problem lies on the "hot" aztech modem:mad:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.