Official StarHub SIM Only

firesong

Yup, slightly more expensive but sadly no CIS plan for the 5G Mobile+ SIM only plan.

Shall enjoy my CIS $34 for 110GB 4G 1yr SIM Only plan till Q1 of 2022 then sign up their CIS 5G SIM only plan if have as by then 5G NSA and SA network should be more than stable with more coverage.

Let 5G early adopters “beta” testing first 🤣
Check out the rollout plans for 5G first before you jump.

Nationwide coverage is only expected by end-2025. Next year means you're still 3 years early, at least. So anyone who signs up for it before the rollout date can still be considered an early adopter. Even at end-2022. they expect to cover only half the island.

At 50% coverage, I'd expect battery life to be crap since the phone will still constantly be trying to connect to 5G, making it a bad experience in general.

https://www.imda.gov.sg/news-and-ev...apore-Forges-Ahead-with-Nationwide-5G-Rollout
With Covid-19 delaying all the works (cos there aren't any workers), I'd expect the deadlines to be pushed back by at least a year. Note that the article was published in April 2020, so they did not anticipate the delays that the lockdown and pandemic brought.

Sambuca78

didnt port in. starhub user for more than 15 years.

coverage for me is more than enough. during ict go gedong got signal. did not face outage like m1/myrepublic or singtel

Existing Starhub user can switch to sim-only (with promo) meh? I called and was told the promo is for new port-in only leh

Bardiel

Existing Starhub user can switch to sim-only (with promo) meh? I called and was told the promo is for new port-in only leh

huh? my contract is over. i walk in starhub shop. ask for sim only 1 year plan CIS recontract. settle liao

firesong

My friend just switched her lines last week - from StarHub $75 plan to SIM-Only. Went down to the main Starhub shop to do it.

She managed to get CIS promo bundle by her NTUC membership, so $20/mo with free CallerID.

Sambuca78

My friend just switched her lines last week - from StarHub $75 plan to SIM-Only. Went down to the main Starhub shop to do it.

She managed to get CIS promo bundle by her NTUC membership, so $20/mo with free CallerID.

huh? my contract is over. i walk in starhub shop. ask for sim only 1 year plan CIS recontract. settle liao

Hmmm.... My contract with SH end on 25 Jul 2021, so I called them last mth to ask if I can switch to Sim-Only CIS plan after my contract ended and was told it is for new port-in only leh.

That's why I told him, I can port out to others and port back what, then he errr .... :rolleyes:

firesong

Hmmm.... My contract with SH end on 25 Jul 2021, so I called them last mth to ask if I can switch to Sim-Only CIS plan after my contract ended and was told it is for new port-in only leh.

That's why I told him, I can port out to others and port back what, then he errr .... :rolleyes:
I went down with my friend to the main branch. The Call centre sometimes gives wrong information. ;)

I know for Singtel, customers get Malaysian call centre staff at times, who don't even know what's happening locally. :mad: Not really surprising, since call centres don't need to be locally run, and the overseas ones are cheaper from a business cost perspective.

xiongzzz

So right now still have unlimited weekend data for SH sim only plans?

tuntun

I went down with my friend to the main branch. The Call centre sometimes gives wrong information. ;)

I know for Singtel, customers get Malaysian call centre staff at times, who don't even know what's happening locally. :mad: Not really surprising, since call centres don't need to be locally run, and the overseas ones are cheaper from a business cost perspective.
so are you able to convert to sim only plan now?

iStranger

Has anyone signed up for their SIM Only Plan 2 years back and opted to pay $25 for 24 months for the discounted handset? My service agreement stated $50 monthly plan and StarHub continued to charge me beyond the 24 months ... and their customer service is hopeless ... :mad:

GrizzlyBear

I’m encountering multiple issues with my 4G $25 SIM only mobile line.

Apart from it’s data coverage and speed, the rest of the service around phone calls is quite a mess.

1. Local missed call alert was supposed to be activated by default for users not subscribed to voicemail. Not the case for me, if phone is turned off or out of network coverage, I don’t receive an SMS for the missed call.
2. Tried to manually activate this local missed call alert feature by sending <Activate> to 2828 but sending of SMS message constantly fails.
3. Called 1633 for help on this issue using this SIM Only mobile line, and the call keeps disconnecting and dropping mid way.
4. Customer service rep will attempt to call back but the phone call comes in only for a split second and before the phone rings or I can answer, the line disconnects/drops again and it becomes a missed call

Anyone else experienced similar? And how did you troubleshoot this?

lohsenglte

I’m encountering multiple issues with my 4G $25 SIM only mobile line.

Apart from it’s data coverage and speed, the rest of the service around phone calls is quite a mess.

1. Local missed call alert was supposed to be activated by default for users not subscribed to voicemail. Not the case for me, if phone is turned off or out of network coverage, I don’t receive an SMS for the missed call.
2. Tried to manually activate this local missed call alert feature by sending <Activate> to 2828 but sending of SMS message constantly fails.
3. Called 1633 for help on this issue using this SIM Only mobile line, and the call keeps disconnecting and dropping mid way.
4. Customer service rep will attempt to call back but the phone call comes in only for a split second and before the phone rings or I can answer, the line disconnects/drops again and it becomes a missed call

Anyone else experienced similar? And how did you troubleshoot this?
Are you sure your device is not the issue?

Point 2 could be missing or incorrect SMSC number.
Point 3 and 4, unless reception is poor, should not be happening.

I make calls using StarHub VoLTE and VoWiFi frequently, didn't have much issues. 3G Voice on StarHub gives me more problems compared.

GrizzlyBear

Are you sure your device is not the issue?

Point 2 could be missing or incorrect SMSC number.
Point 3 and 4, unless reception is poor, should not be happening.

I make calls using StarHub VoLTE and VoWiFi frequently, didn't have much issues. 3G Voice on StarHub gives me more problems compared.

Issue in point 2 was specific to sending SMS to 2828 only (in attempt to activate local missed call alerts). I tried sending and receiving sms to and fro my other mobile no. it works, so doubt it’s to do with the SMSC.

Points 3 and 4 were experienced and reported by others too
Phantom of Missing calls on Starhub
https://community.starhub.com/t5/Postpaid/Unable-to-receive-incoming-calls/td-p/165766

https://community.starhub.com/t5/Po...ing-SMSes-Unable-to-receive-calls/td-p/164581

and it affects MyRepublic users on Starhub. Customers who sign up before 30 March 2020

firesong

Issue in point 2 was specific to sending SMS to 2828 only (in attempt to activate local missed call alerts). I tried sending and receiving sms to and fro my other mobile no. it works, so doubt it’s to do with the SMSC.

Points 3 and 4 were experienced and reported by others too
You could try and call StarHub, request for a SIM replacement, and that they reset your line on the backend.

It happened to me often enough while I was on StarHub, so I called in and the back-end level 2 tech reinitialised the line. A few times they replaced the SIM card. It helped a bit, but the problem recurred, so I eventually switched to Singtel last year.

GrizzlyBear

You could try and call StarHub, request for a SIM replacement, and that they reset your line on the backend.

It happened to me often enough while I was on StarHub, so I called in and the back-end level 2 tech reinitialised the line. A few times they replaced the SIM card. It helped a bit, but the problem recurred, so I eventually switched to Singtel last year.

Thanks! I’ve requested for the free 5G replacement SIM card, will monitor how it is for the local missed call alerts and dropped calls issues after the SIM change.

But not feeling too promising about it, reading about your case and also others.

With Singtel you went with their one-year SIM Only or the 2-year XO plan?
I find Singtel SIM Only pricier, 24 x [$25 + 0.5x5.35 (50% off Caller ID) ] plus cost of phone at RRP can be higher than 24 x CIS discounted XO plan + subsidized handset.

dgeralds

I just ported from starhub prepaid to starhub post paid (vis online). New SIM will be delivered on 12 Aug at 6 pm. When will the actual porting happen?

After porting, when can I port out from strahub to Gomo without any penalty from starhub?

Thank you.

tankee531

Any bro can kindly advise when will be the start date of a new contract?

- on the day I signed up online or

- on the day I received the new sim card, which can be a few days after I signed up online

Thanks

007Mi6

- on the day I received the new sim card, which can be a few days after I signed up online

Thanks
If you haven’t sign up, ask Starhub

if you already sign up but haven’t receive SIM card, ask Starhub

if you received SIM card already, check your StarHub contract

lohsenglte

Thanks
Based on my 2 year handset contract that I signed up in Sept 2019:

- If yours is recontract, the new plan and contract will take effect immediately, even if device collection/delivery can be days later.
- If yours is a new sign up, the plan and contract will take effect from the device collection/delivery date.

It should be the same for SIM Only Plan now, but do check in My StarHub app still or contact them to confirm.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.