Parc Greenwich EC

Senayan

I went to visit OLA before PG launch. Bonus for OLA is beside LRT but minus point is that it is located beside SKG hospital and community hospital which personally totally don't like it. If the stack is facing the hospital, can look directly into the wards.

There are some points to consider based on my personal lifestyle and it depends on everyone lifestyle too.
So there is no right or wrong getting your preferred EC, OLA or PG, or even any other locations.

For someone who love to go supermarket, OLA is not within walking distance which is at least 1.1km walk to Compassone (although there is LRT beside but it's wasting money for 2 way flow. :p.) But for PG, there is a cold storage opposite and walkable distance to ShengShiong at Fernvale Woods and Seletar Mall less than 1km. Traffic is considerable lesser at PG's Fernvale Lane to Seletar mall compared to the junctions at Sengkang Hospital to Compass One. Bonus for PG.

I do drive, but it doesn't matter which expressway is nearer because I don't use expressway to workplace.
Be it OLA or PG, both can easily access via all the expressway through TPE/CTE. How far can we get to since SG is so small only. For bus/LRT/MRT, each of them has their own advantage to the commuter. Nothing much to comment on this.

As for units facing which direction is also everyone's preference. Personally, I prefer the unit to face internally to the pool side so I will feel like I am in a resort everyday.:ROFLMAO: I also dislike unit facing the road, not that it is noisy, but I prefer a slow pace in life not like busy road.:unsure:And high floor unit is also not my concern, because to be honest, the view for both OLA and PG arent fantastic. PG facing to landed reminds me of KSL hotel facing lots of landed properties. So again, its my preference too. No right or wrong of anyone's preferred unit. Happy can already lah.

Anyway Both locations definitely has their own market in future. For medical staff, they would prefer to stay beside the work place, so OLA will be suitable for them. Where, PG located beside Sengkang Industrial Park, which will benefit those workers working there if they wish to locate there.

If OLA is not build beside the hospital, it would be my first choice considering the attractive price point before the increase of the price. So in the end I got PG. Looking forward to the new Industrial Park, hope it can be like Taiseng area where there are mix developments with MRT. Bonus if it really happen one day. :cool:
Probably something that you missed out that your agent didn't share with you, for quick fix there are actually 2 supermarket within 400m vicinity block 330 and 338, shengshiong and u stars supermarket. Not necessary need to go to compass one to get it. Beside that there will be a new integrated bto anchorvillage that will have supermarket, Hawker Centre and neighbour centre located within 500m.

For the hospital site it's pretty subjective just like in fengshui living near cemetery is considered bad, but you see bidadari projects are still selling pretty well eventhough it sit on top of former cemetery probably due to proximity to city fringe. And also modern hospital already look much better than the old kind.

Just like Parc Greenwich, the outer facing are usually less desirable. You belong to majority that prefer pool view pool And developer know it, many are willing to pay a premium for it.

And for the industrial estate you should be hoping it wont be materialised. With the industrial estate around the corner there will be increase in the number rof heavy duty vehicles, such as lorry van etc. If u bought because of serenity very soon it will be affected.

skpuppy

I think senayan give a very unbias views. Drpanda view is a bit bias. If we want to help potential buyers, we have to be neutral.

(1) Parc Walking to Seletar Mall is 10 min and Ola walking to Compassone is 13 min (based on Google map). Also both have nearby supermarkets. If you don’t know, Sengkang hospital has a food court, got convenience stall. Opposite HDB got sheng siong, food court. Another hdb (still under construction) is like mixed development.

(2) I agree transport is quite similar. Question is you like bus or LRT/ MRT. My parents would have chosen bus any day (they retired already and don’t mind long rides). My point is about consistency. On rainy days or if currently bus interchanges have Covid19 cases, be prepared to wait for buses. LRT and MRT are driverless. Traffic also won’t affect them. Don’t believe you try to squeeze on bus 50 with truckload of NYP students? If you drive, both are same la. No such thing as you faced massive jam at Ola and smooth traffic at Parc. All using same expressway and Seletar area also well known for jam in the morning.

(3) Near hospital vs near industry. See what kind of neighbours you want. Industry maybe foreign talents? Hospitals maybe scare these staff bring viruses back? For me; I am not someone bias against hospital staff. They are in the frontline protecting us. If we think superstitious, cannot stay in Singapore already. During Japanese occupation, almost whole Singapore full of dead bodies; ppl kana raped and killed. Men kana murdered by Japanese soldiers. Japanese also took over Seletar airbase (how many die brutally in this process and there is a Japanese cemetery in Singapore, situated in the middle of a high-end residential estate along Chuan Hoe Avenue, off Yio Chu Kang Road). https://remembersingapore.org/japanese-cemetery-park/

To be honest, doesn’t matter if you have a clear conscience.

Talking about Taiseng, it is a shitty area. Weekend = ghost town, weekday = roads (trucks, vans), coffeeshop jam like mad. And the MRT, no one still can pinpoint to me the location. A lot of talking talking (not sure whether those are property strategists) and nothing shown here. Will be great if someone can pinpoint a possible location in the masterplan. If the MRT is inside the industrial area, then also doesn’t benefit Parc residence a lot (guarantee packed like sardines). Bus also packed like sardines (ask those who worked in Paya Lebar, Taiseng). The roads there are killers (most ppl fail their driving test in ubi). I took my driving test in the morning. Lol! In the end didn’t even manage to finish the whole route. Everywhere jam till tester angry and say “ooei! There jam like mad still want to go into that road. In the end pass because didn’t manage to drive much. However, one good thing about being in this kind of industrial area is you may find cheap stuff. Like furnitures etc…direct from suppliers

(5) Masterplan 2019. I didn’t really see any location marked for MRT. Near Parc Greenwich got some empty land. Directly opposite is a transport area. These are areas used or intended to be used mainly for the parking of vehicles and transport facilities including garages and at-grade structure of underground road tunnel and rapid transit system. It is the parking facilities. It mentioned MRT/ LRT yard/ depot. Not sure whether this is the piece of land?

1. Car Park
  2. Heavy Vehicle Park
  3. Trailer Park
  4. Bus Depot/Terminal
  5. Transport Depot
  6. MRT/LRT Marshalling Yard/Depot
  7. Driving Circuit/Test Centre
  8. Petrol Station/Kiosk
Whether you are buyer or property agents, best to be neutral la.

skpuppy

Sorry, missed out 1 point about Ola is too many ECs there. If I am a buyer and paying same price, I confirm 100% chop buy The Vales. So near LrT. Next maybe Ola because newer. Bellewater is a straight no because more ulu (further in) and also older. Treasure crest is the most **** (neither here nor there). But if Bellewater and Treasure Crest sells at 10% lower, ah….then I will prioritise them over Ola and Vales. But knowing sellers, they will say…aiya! Next door sell $1200psf, lim peh also worth $1200psf.

Many of the hype caused by property agents la. Why now ppl like Sengkang, Punggol, Sembwang etc is because of work from home. Will this continue? I don’t know. What I know is no way for Sengkang to hype till $2000psf one la. In order for them to do that, Hougang, Potong Pasir condo needs to hype till $2500psf. Then whole Singapore hype together. Unless all the developers wants to all hype together, not a great idea. Property investment is non value add. You create a lot of millionaires doing simple things like buy/ off/ market properties etc…Not good for the country. Singapore need entrepreneurs etc to make us competitive. Property strategists talking and marketing some news to hype the property earning a cut of 2-3%, I think not sustainable and not good for Singapore as a whole

skpuppy

A
For whether ec will always make money, i find the data in this site quite informative. https://stackedhomes.com/editorial/executive-condo-analysis-53/#gs.b48chj
awesome post. Also the BS of all EC sure make money is squashed. Bellewater making average gross profit of $66k over 7 year period is pathetic. If you leave ur $300k in cpf compounded 2.5% over 8 years (3 years to TOP and 5 years to MOP), you get $66,000 returns (0 risk). Lol! Topiary fares better. So district 19 a bit risky. No baojiak meal like what property agents says
Those buyers please keep those sms with agents. Lol! If after that no profit, can consider a joint lawsuits with all residents

Falafell

Hopefully in 2040s autonomous electric vehicle will be cheap enough to be viewed as public transport. Cathy Wood from Ark Invest did some research previously to show that the cost of autonomous electric vehicle trips to be almost as Low as existing public transport.
Singapore Budget 2020: Push to promote electric vehicles in move to phase out petrol and diesel vehicles
https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...te-evs-in-move-to-phase-out-petrol-and-diesel

https://www.lta.gov.sg/content/ltagov/en/industry_innovations/technologies/electric_vehicles.html
The govt has already set a timeline of 2040 to phase out petrol and diesel vehicles and convert them into EVs. Singapore’s intention of doing this is to make Singapore a showcase model to the world that we have successfully done it. Actually in fact, current vehicles were never meant to be expensive as well, its the petrol taxes, road taxes and COE which really hiked up the prices. It was the govt intention all the while to shun vehicle ownership and promote public transport that made owning a car in sg really expensive.

I am definitely sure that even in the EV future, the govt will definitely continue to hike up costs and increase the hurdles for private transport (ie. road pedestrianisation) while pushing incentives for public transport (Unless our ruling party changes).

drpanda

Probably something that you missed out that your agent didn't share with you, for quick fix there are actually 2 supermarket within 400m vicinity block 330 and 338, shengshiong and u stars supermarket. Not necessary need to go to compass one to get it. Beside that there will be a new integrated bto anchorvillage that will have supermarket, Hawker Centre and neighbour centre located within 500m.

For the hospital site it's pretty subjective just like in fengshui living near cemetery is considered bad, but you see bidadari projects are still selling pretty well eventhough it sit on top of former cemetery probably due to proximity to city fringe. And also modern hospital already look much better than the old kind.

Just like Parc Greenwich, the outer facing are usually less desirable. You belong to majority that prefer pool view pool And developer know it, many are willing to pay a premium for it.

And for the industrial estate you should be hoping it wont be materialised. With the industrial estate around the corner there will be increase in the number rof heavy duty vehicles, such as lorry van etc. If u bought because of serenity very soon it will be affected.

Thanks for the info. Yes thats quite personal preference at the end of the day. For me, is a no no beside hospital, of course others dont mind at all, so it is subjective as you mentioned. Every EC projects got their pros and cons, if got lots of money, should have buy sentosa cove condo already. :(

For the Industrial estate should be quite confirm I guess as I already saw there are some constructions building at the farmway side. I will relocate my office to the new industrial if there is vacant. haha.

drpanda

Sorry, missed out 1 point about Ola is too many ECs there. If I am a buyer and paying same price, I confirm 100%
I think senayan give a very unbias views. Drpanda view is a bit bias. If we want to help potential buyers, we have to be neutral.

(1) Parc Walking to Seletar Mall is 10 min and Ola walking to Compassone is 13 min (based on Google map). Also both have nearby supermarkets. If you don’t know, Sengkang hospital has a food court, got convenience stall. Opposite HDB got sheng siong, food court. Another hdb (still under construction) is like mixed development.

(2) I agree transport is quite similar. Question is you like bus or LRT/ MRT. My parents would have chosen bus any day (they retired already and don’t mind long rides). My point is about consistency. On rainy days or if currently bus interchanges have Covid19 cases, be prepared to wait for buses. LRT and MRT are driverless. Traffic also won’t affect them. Don’t believe you try to squeeze on bus 50 with truckload of NYP students? If you drive, both are same la. No such thing as you faced massive jam at Ola and smooth traffic at Parc. All using same expressway and Seletar area also well known for jam in the morning.

(3) Near hospital vs near industry. See what kind of neighbours you want. Industry maybe foreign talents? Hospitals maybe scare these staff bring viruses back? For me; I am not someone bias against hospital staff. They are in the frontline protecting us. If we think superstitious, cannot stay in Singapore already. During Japanese occupation, almost whole Singapore full of dead bodies; ppl kana raped and killed. Men kana murdered by Japanese soldiers. Japanese also took over Seletar airbase (how many die brutally in this process and there is a Japanese cemetery in Singapore, situated in the middle of a high-end residential estate along Chuan Hoe Avenue, off Yio Chu Kang Road). https://remembersingapore.org/japanese-cemetery-park/

Talking about Taiseng, it is a shitty area. Weekend = ghost town, weekday = roads (trucks, vans), coffeeshop jam like mad. And the MRT, no one still can pinpoint to me the location. A lot of talking talking (not sure whether those are property strategists) and nothing shown here. Will be great if someone can pinpoint a possible location in the masterplan. If the MRT is inside the industrial area, then also doesn’t benefit Parc residence a lot (guarantee packed like sardines). Bus also packed like sardines (ask those who worked in Paya Lebar, Taiseng). The roads there are killers (most ppl fail their driving test in ubi). I took my driving test in the morning. Lol! In the end didn’t even manage to finish the whole route. Everywhere jam till tester angry and say “ooei! There jam like mad still want to go into that road. In the end pass because didn’t manage to drive much. However, one good thing about being in this kind of industrial area is you may find cheap stuff. Like furnitures etc…direct from suppliers

(5) Masterplan 2019. I didn’t really see any location marked for MRT. Near Parc Greenwich got some empty land. Directly opposite is a transport area. These are areas used or intended to be used mainly for the parking of vehicles and transport facilities including garages and at-grade structure of underground road tunnel and rapid transit system. It is the parking facilities. It mentioned MRT/ LRT yard/ depot. Not sure whether this is the piece of land?

1. Car Park
  2. Heavy Vehicle Park
  3. Trailer Park
  4. Bus Depot/Terminal
  5. Transport Depot
  8. Petrol Station/Kiosk

My views is pretty neutral as I stay nearby both projects but as shared its based on my lifestyle hence I made my decision. If not for hospital, I would have gotten OLA. So what is your conclusion? OLA or PG? Or nothing at all. Lol

skpuppy

I can’t buy but Ola any day. Between hospital and industrial, I choose hospital because I will grow old and eventually need medical treatment. Stay industrial park go there be security guard?

drpanda

I can’t buy but Ola any day. Between hospital and industrial, I choose hospital because I will grow old and eventually need medical treatment. Stay industrial park go there be security guard?
😂 that’s bias comment. Look down on security guard job? But seriously better to be able to work as security guard than go hospital for treatment.

CaptainSGP

Singapore Budget 2020: Push to promote electric vehicles in move to phase out petrol and diesel vehicles
https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...te-evs-in-move-to-phase-out-petrol-and-diesel

https://www.lta.gov.sg/content/ltagov/en/industry_innovations/technologies/electric_vehicles.html
The govt has already set a timeline of 2040 to phase out petrol and diesel vehicles and convert them into EVs. Singapore’s intention of doing this is to make Singapore a showcase model to the world that we have successfully done it. Actually in fact, current vehicles were never meant to be expensive as well, its the petrol taxes, road taxes and COE which really hiked up the prices. It was the govt intention all the while to shun vehicle ownership and promote public transport that made owning a car in sg really expensive.

I am definitely sure that even in the EV future, the govt will definitely continue to hike up costs and increase the hurdles for private transport (ie. road pedestrianisation) while pushing incentives for public transport (Unless our ruling party changes).
Autonomous EV shared rides will be a form of public transportation in the future. The biggest variable cost component of Taxi/Grab is Petrol & labour cost. Autonomous EV ride sharing will eliminate these 2 components

skpuppy

Autonomous EV shared rides will be a form of public transportation in the future. The biggest variable cost component of Taxi/Grab is Petrol & labour cost. Autonomous EV ride sharing will eliminate these 2 components
Still takes time. The slow adoption in Singapore, I think just based on 2050. We can’t even go full digital. Want to follow China and US into full EV, continue waiting la. Lol! During then, I think regulators will think of various policies. Cannot must one la

CaptainSGP

Still takes time. The slow adoption in Singapore, I think just based on 2050. We can’t even go full digital. Want to follow China and US into full EV, continue waiting la. Lol! During then, I think regulators will think of various policies. Cannot must one la
It will take time, this is more for buyers who want to own their properties for the next 10-20years. Something to keep in mind of the value of road connectivity to the desirability/demand of a house

skpuppy

This autonomous driving will help everyone. By then not worth to drive.

Falafell

Yes agreed, we may most likely see EV shared rides dominating the roads in the future, along with public transportation being strengthened. I do believe private transportation will only continue to face larger hurdles.

Falafell

The govt is slowly incentivising right now, while developing sufficient EV grids to sustain a fully EV future. Public transport will have to take lead before encouraging private transport. If everyone suddenly change right now, Singapore will not have sufficient EV infrastructure to sustain.

Also another issue right now, how will the govt incentivise mcsts/developers to retrofit carparks to add EV chargers?

CaptainSGP

The govt is slowly incentivising right now, while developing sufficient EV grids to sustain a fully EV future. Public transport will have to take lead before encouraging private transport. If everyone suddenly change right now, Singapore will not have sufficient EV infrastructure to sustain.

Also another issue right now, how will the govt incentivise mcsts/developers to retrofit carparks to add EV chargers?
By legislation - an example will be all condos with more than 300 units must by law install x number (as a % of total carpark lots/units) as EV charging points. Installation costs could be subsidised.

I think the biggest hurdle now, apart from lag of charging points, is EVs are still ridiculously expensive after all the subsidies. N the latest mass market EV models r still not yet widely available in sg.

skpuppy

By legislation - an example will be all condos with more than 300 units must by law install x number (as a % of total carpark lots/units) as EV charging points. Installation costs could be subsidised.

I think the biggest hurdle now, apart from lag of charging points, is EVs are still ridiculously expensive after all the subsidies. N the latest mass market EV models r still not yet widely available in sg.
Maybe not immediately la in practical sense. Here we got Exoon and Shell. Singapore government change to EV, they flip. Semb marine and Keppel marine how?

CaptainSGP

Maybe not immediately la in practical sense. Here we got Exoon and Shell. Singapore government change to EV, they flip. Semb marine and Keppel marine how?
Haha will take a long time b4 Singaporeans buy into EV. So many initiatives by Sg Govt, yet I seldom see EVs on the road. Exxon & Shell are MNCs & will do ok. In fact Shell wants to be a big renewable energy player. SembMarine & Keppel does upstream equipments so won’t be affected 😀

P.S. I’m not going to sell my ICE car with 9 year COE remaining at a big loss just to change to EV

Falafell

1. Car Park
  2. Heavy Vehicle Park
  3. Trailer Park
  4. Bus Depot/Terminal
  5. Transport Depot
  8. Petrol Station/Kiosk
Bro, as mentioned, the potential 9th MRT line (or Seletar Line-North Coast Line as described by rolling-stock enthusiasts) are under feasibility and are not confirmed hence they will not appear in the MP yet. Even when confirmed, the stations may require further assessments to finalise the location of the station, just like CRL phase 2 stations where the locations are not confirmed yet. When confirmed, an amendment to MP will take place.

What we can do as of now is to only speculate the alignment of the line to the best of our possibility: LTMP2040, Concept Plan 2001, Rolling stock enthusiasts. If any agent can tell you the exact location of the line, he must be in breach of the Official Secrets Act or is smoking through his teeth. I have shared many photos in my previous posts already you can refer to them if interested.

As to ownstay near industrial-B2 or Hospitals, hospitals can be considered to provide some amenities as compared to industrial-B2. In an investment POV, most people generally shun industrial-B2 as they are considered to be blue-collared sectors (although Industrial-B2 Defu Industrial Estate did promise to bring growth industries), while hospitals are as you know, Doctors… In a rental POV, hospitals may edge Industrial-B2.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.