Parc Greenwich EC

Senayan

I agree. I am just looking through the thread here and the negativity shown by some folks here is appalling. Think owners should just go to the Telegram or FB groups and stop replying to trolls here.

according to property expert Eric he mentioned in this video, seletar are condo dont make money one. EC still have chance hopefully greenwich not the 1st ec in sg to lose money. he said the area quite boring and nothing much. listen to expert like him would be better than those agent that try to upsell the unit there

Motexh

according to property expert Eric he mentioned in this video, seletar are condo dont make money one. EC still have chance hopefully greenwich not the 1st ec in sg to lose money. he said the area quite boring and nothing much. listen to expert like him would be better than those agent that try to upsell the unit there

Yup, you are right. Guess the owners of the Topiary are weeping everyday over their losses right?

Motexh

High Park Residences sellers nearby are really high over the large profit they made leh.
Haha, I hope my sarcasm was on point.

Eric is entertaining and he has some good insights and observations for the Singapore property market. However need to be critical and don’t take everything he said as the gospel truth. It was too easy to disprove his statement on Seletar condos not making money with HPR and Topiary. I am sure early buyers of Parc Botannia are in the money too.

Falafell

Haha, I hope my sarcasm was on point.

Eric is entertaining and he has some good insights and observations for the Singapore property market. However need to be critical and don’t take everything he said as the gospel truth. It was too easy to disprove his statement on Seletar condos not making money with HPR and Topiary. I am sure early buyers of Parc Botannia are in the money too.
Exactly. There are so many experts in this forum, providing different views for different market segments, why need to subscribe to a single ‘expert’? I will only call people who can remember various projects and their psf/location/sales well as experts.

drpanda

High Park Residences sellers nearby are really high over the large profit they made leh.
Yup I have friends at Topiary and High Park, all of them laugh to bank already. But they are not selling yet.

skpuppy

There’s no perfect property. Every property have its price. Lousy location have lousy location price. West Sun have West Sun price, Low floor have Low floor price, expressway facing have expressway price. What’s more impt is that buyer don’t overpay.

For PG, it suits buyers who drives & don’t need the MRT or public transport. The unblocked views over the landed enclave is a very nice bonus for those who bought these stacks & don’t mind some road noise.

Will PG hit 17xx to 18xx on MOP ? Unlikely. Will it hit 15xx psf on MOP ? this is possible & buyers should be able to make a healthy profit.

As ECs have MOP, it’s therefore impt that buyer likes the unit for own stay. Capital gains are a bonus.
Ok. Let us put some numbers.

Assuming some buy this 1066sqft unit for $1250psf and sell the unit at $1600psf. Let’s say the construction workers at Fraser super god mode and finish building the EC in 3 years. After which stay for 5 years to MOP (total 8 years). From 1250psf to 1600psf in 8 years, the growth is compounded at 3% per annum. This is excluding paying for BSD and if you are a HDB upgraded, you pay another $30-45k in resale levy.
If 3% gross returns is good, then ok lo. Happy can liao.

drpanda

Exactly. There are so many experts in this forum, providing different views for different market segments, why need to subscribe to a single ‘expert’? I will only call people who can remember various projects and their psf/location/sales well as experts.

When property is blooming, everyone can be expert.

Motexh

Assuming some buy this 1066sqft unit for $1250psf and sell the unit at $1600psf. Let’s say the construction workers at Fraser super god mode and finish building the EC in 3 years. After which stay for 5 years to MOP (total 8 years). From 1250psf to 1600psf in 8 years, the growth is compounded at 3% per annum. This is excluding paying for BSD and if you are a HDB upgraded, you pay another $30-45k in resale levy.
From your numbers, you are looking at a low risk $370k profit over 8 years. From an investment perspective, you are allowed to borrow 75% of the investment costs and there are tangible benefits (i.e enjoyment of the stay) during the period of investment.

Please tell me a better investment vehicle if you know of one.

Falafell

350 psf profit over 8 years for 1066 sqft unit = 373k

Initial Capital (25%) - 333k

Loan Amount (75%) - 1mil

Interest Accrued over 8 years (1.5% IR) - ~117k

Gross ROI per annum based on initial capital (8 years) - 9.6% p.a.

Have not considered resale levy, BSD, SSD etc.

CaptainSGP

Property is a leveraged investment. Many buyers enjoy grants when buying EC.

Return on Capital is higher when leveraged is used. Which other investment allow u to borrow money at 1.1% ? N offer u price stability such that u will never get a margin call ?

Im a big fan of investing in S&P500. I think when comparing between investments, it’s the risk adjusted return that matter more rather than the absolute return 😃

skpuppy

From your numbers, you are looking at a low risk $370k profit over 8 years. From an investment perspective, you are allowed to borrow 75% of the investment costs and there are tangible benefits (i.e enjoyment of the stay) during the period of investment.

Please tell me a better investment vehicle if you know of one.
If you subtract stamp duty, profit is $332k over 8 years (not taking interest into account). If you use the downpayment of $333k, over 8 years should double already.
See this https://financialhorse.com/retire-e...re-40-interview-with-kelvin-learns-investing/

skpuppy

Property is a leveraged investment. Many buyers enjoy grants when buying EC.

Return on Capital is higher when leveraged is used. Which other investment allow u to borrow money at 1.1% ? N offer u price stability such that u will never get a margin call ?

Im a big fan of investing in S&P500. I think when comparing between investments, it’s the risk adjusted return that matter more rather than the absolute return 😃
You assume interest stays at 1.1% for 8 years. Impossible la. Before Covid19 is 2.4%. That is based on assumption that you top in 3 years. Almost impossible in Covid19. Anyway, buyers happy can already since it is ur money. You decide what to do

skpuppy

I am waiting for your investment idea that can net me a risk free 2x return in 8 years.
Not sure why u think property got no risk and stocks got risk? Not I say one. Kevin also mentioned property only return 4%.
Tell that to Adam Khoo and Gabriel Yap la. So easy the billionaires everyday sit there and flip property can already

Motexh

Not sure why u think property got no risk and stocks got risk? Tell that to Adam Khoo and Gabriel Yap la. So easy the billionaires everyday sit there and flip property can already
I never said property investment is no risk.

You indicated you can double your investment in 8 years, just wanted to know what investments can make such guaranteed good returns so I can follow.

skpuppy

I never said property investment is no risk.

You indicated you can double your investment in 8 years, just wanted to know what investments can make such guaranteed good returns so I can follow.
VOO, VWRA all these can liao. Anyway, let’s go by milestone
Let’s see whether 2024 can TOP and whether interest stays at 1.1-1.5% as anticipated.

Entity

Not sure why u think property got no risk and stocks got risk? Not I say one. Kevin also mentioned property only return 4%.
Tell that to Adam Khoo and Gabriel Yap la. So easy the billionaires everyday sit there and flip property can already
haha.. i guess that’s why personal finance is “personal”.. some are more comfortable with money parked in property, since peers around made money in them, and they are tangible lifestyle products that can be stayed in and enjoyed.

some prefer to lower the cash outflow and choose to invest in stocks and they are more comfortable that way

whichever rocks one’s boat

Falafell

350 psf profit over 8 years for 1066 sqft unit = 373k

Initial Capital (25%) - 333k

Loan Amount (75%) - 1mil

Interest Accrued over 8 years (1.5% IR) - ~117k

Gross ROI per annum based on initial capital (8 years) - 9.6% p.a.

Have not considered resale levy, BSD, SSD etc.
I gave quite a high IR of 1.5% for this case and assumed a flat payment scheme as compared to a progressive payment scheme. Its almost impossible where gross ROI can be lower than my calculated 9.6% p.a. if a 350 psf profit is truly achieved. Of course thats assuming a 350 psf profit which is also abit 🤔

But in any case, this is considered pretty good returns already.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.