Phase 2A lousy

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

maikumgong

Huh
IKR... $200 just pay 1 time only don't need to worry. Somemore the school is a top school because some websites used to list all the top 10 schools in Singapore. My mum's a genius.... we always tell her that she had good foresight to send me to that school many years ago.
You didnt know it is a branded school until you saw it on website?

now alumni/old boy/girl no 包吃 already

anonym

Today I got the result. My boy didn’t get in to Sengkang Green Pri sch under phase 2A. I’m super upset and depressed and angry. The thought of it still made me agitated 😡. It does not mean that what you sow, you will reap especially in sinkie.
You fully deserved it for choosing to have kids in Singapore.

Anyway thank you for the next gen of cheap NS labor.

edwin410

Today I got the result. My boy didn’t get in to Sengkang Green Pri sch under phase 2A. I’m super upset and depressed and angry. The thought of it still made me agitated 😡. It does not mean that what you sow, you will reap especially in sinkie.
all schools are good schools.

Globe

my kid is registering this year and when i was inquiring MOE on the distance thing i found out something shocking to me ...

if people want to game the 1km thing , as long as their IC address reflects that , it can be used to gain the advantage.

then i thought to myself, why there is no underground market for people selling their address for a fee to abuse this ?

say for example, in the hdb block next to a popular school. a family of 3 or DINKS can get paid maybe $2000 to let another family tag their nric address to theirs without moving in , just so they can use the address. It can even be under the pretense that i am staying in my friend / relative house.

you may say , oh government subsidies or handouts might be affected by the number of headcount in a flat but these are small amounts compared to what kiasu parents are willing to do to get their children into a "good" school , they will be more then willing to top up that few hundred dollars.

In the past , i see the news always say MOE want to prevent abuse of this distance base registration to make it fair and i just take it as face value cause i didn't really look too deep into it but it doesn't seem like it ...

jail and fine is a reactive action and depends heavily on paotoh kia , people will ride their luck for that 2.5 years if they really want to ....

drkcynic

my kid is registering this year and when i was inquiring MOE on the distance thing i found out something shocking to me ...

if people want to game the 1km thing , as long as their IC address reflects that , it can be used to gain the advantage.

then i thought to myself, why there is no underground market for people selling their address for a fee to abuse this ?

say for example, in the hdb block next to a popular school. a family of 3 or DINKS can get paid maybe $2000 to let another family tag their nric address to theirs without moving in , just so they can use the address. It can even be under the pretense that i am staying in my friend / relative house.

you may say , oh government subsidies or handouts might be affected by the number of headcount in a flat but these are small amounts compared to what kiasu parents are willing to do to get their children into a "good" school , they will be more then willing to top up that few hundred dollars.

In the past , i see the news always say MOE want to prevent abuse of this distance base registration to make it fair and i just take it as face value cause i didn't really look too deep into it but it doesn't seem like it ...

jail and fine is a reactive action and depends heavily on paotoh kia , people will ride their luck for that 2.5 years if they really want to ....
Your kid is registering and yet you do not know the rules and regulations?

kyokoto

Huh

You didnt know it is a branded school until you saw it on website?

now alumni/old boy/girl no 包吃 already
It wasn't a top school during my time until about 15 years ago when they brought in GEP etc... then won quite a few awards and even had top PSLE student coming from the school, then the ratings kept climbing.

Globe

Your kid is registering and yet you do not know the rules and regulations?

nope, i know the rules they are pretty straight foward for the phases.

But i was seeking clarifications because of my situation, to prevent other party from trying to game the system which could impact our kid ...

so i had a lot of hypothetical questions , which usually are not spelt out in the general faqs.

if you are not divorced, you wouldn't know that one parent can just tick a checkbox that says consent to register for a school was given by the other parent, when consent was not seeked in the first place , and what needs to be done after that when the other party found out ....

drkcynic

But i was seeking clarifications because of my situation, to prevent other party from trying to game the system which could impact our kid ...

so i had a lot of hypothetical questions , which usually are not spelt out in the general faqs.

if you are not divorced, you wouldn't know that one parent can just tick a checkbox that says consent to register for a school was given by the other parent, when consent was not seeked in the first place , and what needs to be done after that when the other party found out ....
https://www.moe.gov.sg/primary/p1-registration/home-address

Home-School Distance category priority and 30-month stay requirement​

The HSD category priority is given for the convenience and interest of the family and the child. The family is expected to reside at the address for the duration of the child's primary school studies.

MOE recognises that some families are unable to remain at the address used for registration for the entire duration of the child's primary school studies. Even so, a child who gains priority admission through their distance category must reside at the address used for registration (which shall continue to be your NRIC address) for at least 30 months from the start of the P1 Registration Exercise, which is 2 July 2024 for the 2024 P1 Registration Exercise.

In cases where the 30-month stay requirement is not met, MOE has and will transfer the child to another school with vacancies, as the priority admission to the first school was based on the declared address used for registration.

Globe

https://www.moe.gov.sg/primary/p1-registration/home-address

Home-School Distance category priority and 30-month stay requirement​

The HSD category priority is given for the convenience and interest of the family and the child. The family is expected to reside at the address for the duration of the child's primary school studies.

MOE recognises that some families are unable to remain at the address used for registration for the entire duration of the child's primary school studies. Even so, a child who gains priority admission through their distance category must reside at the address used for registration (which shall continue to be your NRIC address) for at least 30 months from the start of the P1 Registration Exercise, which is 2 July 2024 for the 2024 P1 Registration Exercise.

In cases where the 30-month stay requirement is not met, MOE has and will transfer the child to another school with vacancies, as the priority admission to the first school was based on the declared address used for registration.

CUSTOMS ACT
(CHAPTER 70)
CUSTOMS
(FUEL TANK — MINIMUM AMOUNT)
ORDER 2019
In exercise of the powers conferred by section 136(1) of the Customs Act, the Minister for Finance makes the following Order:
Citation and commencement
1. This Order is the Customs (Fuel Tank — Minimum Amount) Order 2019 and comes into operation on 1 April 2019.
Minimum amount of motor fuel for motor vehicles leaving Singapore
2. For the purpose of section 136(1) of the Act, the minimum amount of motor fuel in each fuel supply tank of a motor vehicle is three‑quarters of the fuel supply tank.

drkcynic

CUSTOMS ACT
(CHAPTER 70)
CUSTOMS
(FUEL TANK — MINIMUM AMOUNT)
ORDER 2019
In exercise of the powers conferred by section 136(1) of the Customs Act, the Minister for Finance makes the following Order:
Citation and commencement
1. This Order is the Customs (Fuel Tank — Minimum Amount) Order 2019 and comes into operation on 1 April 2019.
Minimum amount of motor fuel for motor vehicles leaving Singapore
2. For the purpose of section 136(1) of the Act, the minimum amount of motor fuel in each fuel supply tank of a motor vehicle is three‑quarters of the fuel supply tank.
LOL. Are you registering yourself instead?

Grow up please.

AndroidComa

how come how come
cos after that need to stay 30 months in that address based on MOE website
秋后算账
nowadays many many hw revolving around home and house in p1 and 2

AndroidComa

everyone game till gao lat liao

especially those malaysians
but MOE got really check or not? i not sure

Wu-Han Clan

rent a small hdb room within 1km for 2.5 yrs lah... find those cheese pie land lord who want to rent study or store room lah.... the rent v cheap...

ok lah many ppl do this oso... this is the easiest loop hole... becoz long time ago my ex ex gf extended family oso do something like tt... last time no hv 30 mth one... so they 'rent' ... take the address... apply... becoz is own family then no one will bk... rich family is like tt... sure gt relative stay within 1 km....

recently i oso suspect my fren do something like tt oso... he stay v far from elite sch .. nt alumni... when phase 2a finish liao hvnt start phase 2b he alrdy post on ig to celeb liaoo...

Readingbooks

You can rent but i dont think anyone will let you reflect their address on your IC so easily for a small sum of money. And need to retain the address for a few years.
End of the day, it is still phase 2c where the odds are low for popular schools.

oddeye82

my counsin’s wife jiuhu kia, only demanded branded schhool, know more than any of our sinkie in the family. You say leh
Same as my BIL’s wife, only aiming for so called good primary school for her kid. Pity the husband.

bluerhino

I understand your point. But it will add stress to working parents and drive birth rate even lower.

The best is still distance based priority. Remove all affiliation.

Make HOD/teachers/coach rotate schools every 5 years. This is to spread “best practices“ and “make every school a good school “.
To be honest

You do know that it is illegal right to update a fake address. Jailable offense. I’ve heard of people that rent a unit and use the address. Then at least you can say you stay there. Even then moe has discovered people who do that and the dad was charged with a crime. Not sure what happened to the kid. You can google for it.

charlieangel123

who ask u stay sengkang?
sengkang green primary also not good school

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.