POSB Everyday Card

simon_84

Cancel my PSOB everyday card last month.
Claim the remaining points for card rebate and pay off my last outstanding payment.
To be fair, the fee wavier lasted for 6 years so I won't blame them if they decide not to waive the annual card fees.

Can always cancel and apply another card with no annual fee instead.

silverbomb

Again assume, 100 here mentioned their fees were waived but yet the bank did not waive yours.. are u going to take the survey done in this forum and reason it out with the bank? :D If after a few persistence tries with no positive outcome.... move on with your life, in this case, move on with another cc.
he calls a certain bank 6 diff times just to get fees waived so if he has the time and capacity to do the same for DBS then he will until he's given up.

sansanjikikut

Cancel my PSOB everyday card last month.
Claim the remaining points for card rebate and pay off my last outstanding payment.
To be fair, the fee wavier lasted for 6 years so I won't blame them if they decide not to waive the annual card fees.

Can always cancel and apply another card with no annual fee instead.

u can use daily $ to offset PayLah! Transactions also. Not only posb card

starbugs

The more DBS tries to charge annual fees, the less people will be willing to spend on their cards. I don't want to spend a few k on air tickets, then have points stuck with the card that would have to be cancelled two months later.

adam_s

i also very shocked since i tried two times waiver request via phone and chatbox - a loyal customer for over 10 yrs and used to charge about 800+ a month (recently dropped to around 500+) and kena rejected. so i called this morning and CSO noted my request and offered to put another round of manual request for me, and then just now i got an email from "Manager, Fee Waiver Team" saying annual fee is now waived.
unbelievable!

demoforce1

i also very shocked since i tried two times waiver request via phone and chatbox - a loyal customer for over 10 yrs and used to charge about 800+ a month (recently dropped to around 500+) and kena rejected. so i called this morning and CSO noted my request and offered to put another round of manual request for me, and then just now i got an email from "Manager, Fee Waiver Team" saying annual fee is now waived.
unbelievable!
congrats anyway!

natas

The more DBS tries to charge annual fees, the less people will be willing to spend on their cards. I don't want to spend a few k on air tickets, then have points stuck with the card that would have to be cancelled two months later.

If your points are worth much more than annual fee then it is wise to continue, suck thumb, pay the fee else forget it, move on.

A lot of ppl penny wise, pound foolish.

starbugs

If your points are worth much more than annual fee then it is wise to continue, suck thumb, pay the fee else forget it, move on.

A lot of ppl penny wise, pound foolish.
You misunderstood my point. If a bank doesn't give annual fee waivers, I won't even spend money with the card so that I won't be in that dilemma you described.

netzach

unbelievable!

aah sia lah… 500+/month also no waive…
I only use posb Everyday for Sheng Siong purchases nia… $200+ max per month lol.
think gonna Kena fees lioa… Sian

natas

You misunderstood my point. If a bank doesn't give annual fee waivers, I won't even spend money with the card so that I won't be in that dilemma you described.

The problem is, u won't know whether next fee will it be waived. End of the day, when the bill comes, u can decide whether is it worth paying the fee n suck both thumbs n fingers. :D

My Attitude card which I cancelled, I spent a few hundreds per mth n have not pay for any fee. This Everyday card, I use it mainly in Sheng siong and Watson, no fee yet.

Trazora

The problem is, u won't know whether next fee will it be waived. End of the day, when the bill comes, u can decide whether is it worth paying the fee n suck both thumbs n fingers. :D
definitely not worth bah

CrashWire

Decide?

Just cancel, wait a few months, and reapply for the same card.

Take the POSB Everyday card for example: at $192.60 you'll need to spend a whopping $6,420 at 3% just to offset the annual fee, and that's not including the opportunity cost you've used by not using some other card.

The only cards that you'll have to suck thumb and pay the annual fee for are cards where you've accumulated points/miles, and that's one more reason why they're so dangerous.

natas

Decide?

Just cancel, wait a few months, and reapply for the same card.

Take the POSB Everyday card for example: at $192.60 you'll need to spend a whopping $6,420 at 3% just to offset the annual fee, and that's not including the opportunity cost you've used by not using some other card.

The only cards that you'll have to suck thumb and pay the annual fee for are cards where you've accumulated points/miles, and that's one more reason why they're so dangerous.

It will not be confusing if u quoted the right person :D There is nothing for me to "decide".

sonicrick

Hi all,

I just signed up for POSB Everyday card recently. I was going to start moving my Giro for regular payments to the card, before noticing in the T&C that the minimum spend requirement excludes "payments to utility bill companies". Now I'm hesitant on moving the various giro.

From my other bank cc, utilities include telco and electricity. For POSB Everyday though, it seems the cashback has separate categories for telco and utility where the utility here is basically just electricity. The T&C though does not explicitly say telco, and I'm not sure if the utility in T&C and utility in the cashback description is the same.

Does anyone here have personal experience to confirm that telco giro bill payment still count towards the minimum spend requirement?

Trazora

Hi all,

I just signed up for POSB Everyday card recently. I was going to start moving my Giro for regular payments to the card, before noticing in the T&C that the minimum spend requirement excludes "payments to utility bill companies". Now I'm hesitant on moving the various giro.

From my other bank cc, utilities include telco and electricity. For POSB Everyday though, it seems the cashback has separate categories for telco and utility where the utility here is basically just electricity. The T&C though does not explicitly say telco, and I'm not sure if the utility in T&C and utility in the cashback description is the same.

Does anyone here have personal experience to confirm that telco giro bill payment still count towards the minimum spend requirement?
dun understand why u choosing to use this card for your telco/utility spending. Telco and utilities are separate categories. Min spend is for which promo? there is bound to be better cards for it

wenguang

Hi all,

i only do recurring for SP and geneco bill for the 3% cashback. telco is not included in utilities. sometime i also use it to spend in shengsiong when my dbs live fresh reached quota.

For the 3 big telco bill, u can use other card like dbs live fresh or maybank fnf with a certain minimum spending

sonicrick

dun understand why u choosing to use this card for your telco/utility spending. Telco and utilities are separate categories. Min spend is for which promo? there is bound to be better cards for it
I took the card for the Food Delivery and the Online shopping promo. The telco (and initially I thought utility) is just to help meet the min spend $800.

Since electricity doesn't count toward min spend, am not giving them that business, you are right there are better promo for electricity elsewhere.

Trazora

I took the card for the Food Delivery and the Online shopping promo. The telco (and initially I thought utility) is just to help meet the min spend $800.

Since electricity doesn't count toward min spend, am not giving them that business, you are right there are better promo for electricity elsewhere.
note that the 10% food delivery and 8% shopping rebate capped at $15 each. So $150 and $187.50 will max out the rebate. Need to spend $800-$150-$187.5=$462.50 that potential earn only 0.3% (unless spend on sheng siong for 5% or watson for 3%).

Think better to use uob one for grabfood/shopee/giant/guardian/cold storage 8.33%-10%. Or Maybank family and friends for 8% rebate for foodpanda/restaurants/Qoo10/telco/groceries etc.

Angelite

note that the 10% food delivery and 8% shopping rebate capped at $15 each. So $150 and $187.50 will max out the rebate. Need to spend $800-$150-$187.5=$462.50 that potential earn only 0.3% (unless spend on sheng siong for 5% or watson for 3%).

Think better to use uob one for grabfood/shopee/giant/guardian/cold storage 8.33%-10%. Or Maybank family and friends for 8% rebate for foodpanda/restaurants/Qoo10/telco/groceries etc.
Hi Trazora,
Does Maybank family and friends gives 8% rebate for Qoo10 ?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.