Proposal Ring - Part 3

BlackCube

Thanks for the reply. I do know engagement ring and wedding band etc. My gf wants gold ring instead of diamond. But ssrr mostly cheap one lo. She not into diamond lol.

gold ring as in like this.

OrWihbc.jpg

maybe some simple pattern

p80jaJ1.jpg

if not then I look into gold with diamond on it?

and yeah. I'm looking into yellow gold. gold gold ring. not white gold green gold blue gold purple gold. lol.

theblueark

Thanks for the reply. I do know engagement ring and wedding band etc. My gf wants gold ring instead of diamond. But ssrr mostly cheap one lo. She not into diamond lol.

gold ring as in like this.

maybe some simple pattern

if not then I look into gold with diamond on it?

and yeah. I'm looking into yellow gold. gold gold ring. not white gold green gold blue gold purple gold. lol.

Wah you and your gf very cool. Got old school taste. Most of the shops don't put this kind on the front display unless part of si dian jin. Go inside and tell them you wanna buy yellow gold ring, they might have.

Poh Heng website search for yellow gold ring: http://www.pohheng.com.sg/search/2,6

Or like I mention, go little india and check out the jewelery shops there. Yellow gold is still very popular in that area.

x3dnd3x

I off topic abit.

So my girlfriend and i also in the stage of planning to get married. To also BTO at the same time when got good location within our budget.

My girlfriend doesn't want a banquet but i spoke with my parents, they want a banquet. I haven't broke the news to my girlfriend yet but right now, she wants $10k put aside for engagement and wedding bands + photoshoot good one because she don't want banquet.

Now how arh? My budget was like $8k for engagement and wedding band.

KinoChoco

I off topic abit.

So my girlfriend and i also in the stage of planning to get married. To also BTO at the same time when got good location within our budget.

My girlfriend doesn't want a banquet but i spoke with my parents, they want a banquet. I haven't broke the news to my girlfriend yet but right now, she wants $10k put aside for engagement and wedding bands + photoshoot good one because she don't want banquet.

For wedding band and photoshoot, I assume both of you are sharing the cost yeah? It should be enough unless she's expecting you to pay for everything...and 8k is without honeymoon yeah?

incredible.piggie

I off topic abit.

Talk to your gf about the banquet part. Ask her why she doesnt want the banquet. See if a compromise can be reached like having a small banquet or dinner with close families.

A simple diamond ring + wedding bands + a good photoshoot will cost you more than 10k already. Unless you mean setting aside 10k each

x3dnd3x

For wedding band and photoshoot, I assume both of you are sharing the cost yeah? It should be enough unless she's expecting you to pay for everything...and 8k is without honeymoon yeah?

Ohh wedding band is share one arh? :s11:

Ehh, i believe so. Honeymoon never discuss at all yet but she wants a honeymoon as well.

babyrainy

Ehh, i believe so. Honeymoon never discuss at all yet but she wants a honeymoon as well.

$8k is definitely enough for engagement ring and wedding band, assuming she keeps within the budget. You better let her know about the banquet and then discuss from there, can always compromise. But if inclusive of honeymoon then don’t think is possible. Work out a budget to allocate for each aspect.

We shared the cost of the wedding bands but engagement ring he paid.

jadeites

I off topic abit.

Isn’t she helping to pay for the photoshoot?

Don’t forget that you are marrying your girlfriend, so if you don’t have a banquet you’ll really save A LOT of money. It’s the smart choice. If you don’t want a banquet either then tell your parents gently and firmly that there will be no banquet. I assure you the cost of a banquet and the amount of stress is just ridiculous for something you don’t want.

I think you should tell her about the 8k for the wedding bands and engagement ring and discuss everything with her!

jadeites

Anyone help me bo.

Where can I get gold ring instead of diamond ones.

I go sk those kind all like nothing much and few hundred kind. Not sure if there's specialise kind of shop not.

Gum xia

If your budget is 3k then try customized rings! Ling Jewellery has some beautiful custom gold rings and other designer-looking gold rings that you can try on. Maybe around $1200-$2000 depending on the design. Other places with interesting gold rings - Fairy Inc, but their style is more rustic. House of Hung/JannPaul has some surprisingly hipster/vintage/modern gold rings. The designs are in white gold but you can tell them you want them to make it in yellow gold and they will do it for you.

Nowadays “super yellow gold” (the kind that you see in HDB shops) is different from the “light yellow gold” that you’ll see in more modern stores. Depends on your gf’s preference. But don’t forget that if she sees any designs in white gold that she wants in yellow gold, the store can definitely custom-order the design for her at the same price!

theblueark

Can hold banquet at normal Chinese resteraunt, not hotel. One table below $1k not difficult to find.

If your relatives play ball, bao at least $100 for you per person, you might even earn. Food usually better than hotel plus they can bao less than typical hotel wedding. Everybody happy, everybody wins. Maybe got a few gossipy aunties who will talk nonsense about restaurant vs hotel. Ignore them.

Depending on your relationship with your parents you can also negotiate that they want banquet then they pay for it. Whatever ang pao collected from guests give to them.

jadeites

i wondering if there is other shop other than Jannpaul.
just seeking alternative option to buy proposal and engagement rings.

We went to Fairy’s Inc and Ling Jewellery. Ling Jewellery was awesome, such beautiful designs! Ended up with JannPaul because they specialize in diamonds.

If you are brave and have the time to learn and research and look on other online diamond forums for advice, order your diamond online for some amazing deals. I’m talking about 1.5ct AGS0 excellent cut for 10k type of deal (not sure if this is considered a good deal haha). Of course the diamond isn’t perfect, J-K color, eye clean SI1, with fluorescence but it all depends on your priorities. But excellent cut AGS0 means it’ll still sparkle well. Sigh if someone throws a 1.5ct at me I definitely won’t complain that it’s slightly yellow in certain lighting LOL (but everyone is different)

jadeites

Can hold banquet at normal Chinese resteraunt, not hotel. One table below $1k not difficult to find.

If your relatives play ball, bao at least $100 for you per person, you might even earn. Food usually better than hotel plus they can bao less than typical hotel wedding. Everybody happy, everybody wins. Maybe got a few gossipy aunties who will talk nonsense about restaurant vs hotel. Ignore them.

Depending on your relationship with your parents you can also negotiate that they want banquet then they pay for it. Whatever ang pao collected from guests give to them.

This is a very good idea!

jadeites

Not exactly sure on the GST part, however, the trade in is only for the diamond if i'm not wrong, i'm not sure if you could 're-use' the setting, you might need to pay additional for the setting and also, re-certification fees (around 150-200?) if you purchased it more than 2 years.

I just called them. After two years, re-cert is $300 now!!!!

Ok so your trade-in value is minus the original amount of GST that was included in what you paid. And if you have a simple solitaire setting where it’s easy to chop off the head w the prongs and then put in a new head, that will only cost you $200 (that was what I was quoted, yours may be different) and you can keep the same base ring.

KinoChoco

Wedding band is she pay for yours, you pay for hers since it's a pair, but most will simply divide cost by 2.

By right the only cost that is FULLY bound by you is the engagement ring and maybe Si Dian Jin. The rest of the cost are usually half half, well, unless you make a lot more money than her then I guess it's fair for you to contribute more percentage haha

x3dnd3x

$8k is definitely enough for engagement ring and wedding band, assuming she keeps within the budget. You better let her know about the banquet and then discuss from there, can always compromise. But if inclusive of honeymoon then don’t think is possible. Work out a budget to allocate for each aspect.

We shared the cost of the wedding bands but engagement ring he paid.

Hmm okay. Now i have a clearer picture. My daddy say he's willing to absorb the cost of banquet because he wants to invite all his last time business working friends. Basically i have to pay for rings + photoshoot. She wants hers to be shot at Korea though.

x3dnd3x

I HAVE to hold a banquet. My daddy say already.

Isn’t she helping to pay for the photoshoot?

Don’t forget that you are marrying your girlfriend, so if you don’t have a banquet you’ll really save A LOT of money. It’s the smart choice. If you don’t want a banquet either then tell your parents gently and firmly that there will be no banquet. I assure you the cost of a banquet and the amount of stress is just ridiculous for something you don’t want.

I think you should tell her about the 8k for the wedding bands and engagement ring and discuss everything with her!

KinoChoco

Hmm okay. Now i have a clearer picture. My daddy say he's willing to absorb the cost of banquet because he wants to invite all his last time business working friends. Basically i have to pay for rings + photoshoot. She wants hers to be shot at Korea though.

Nothing to stress then since your dad sponsoring your banquet. Just standby 10k if that's what she wants Lor, 2k more should be easy.

Envy you, I had to prepare 80-100k before getting married 😂

x3dnd3x

Nothing to stress then since your dad sponsoring your banquet. Just standby 10k if that's what she wants Lor, 2k more should be easy.

Envy you, I had to prepare 80-100k before getting married 😂

I stress because really need to spend so much for a ring and photoshoot meh. I zai nan kind leh.

I thought like $6k would be my max budget. Then my girlfriend and i went to JP. Since then, she ask me to up budget. My girlfriend is a crude person when she wants something. After we went out of JP, she said "you propose to me with that ring, i give you many many happy hour."

Wallet painful leh. :sad:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.