RANT: Driving Experience Nowadays

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

Firestorm1978

Today saw 2 PHV drivers, almost come to a stop at center and left lane respectively, busy looking and pressing on their multiple phones setup, oblivious to traffic behind it until the sound of horns came.
One joker PHV driver even held up the traffic at the drop off point (after his passenger has alighted) and stayed there for close to a minute just to PRESS his apps! Relentless horning from the back was totally ignored by him.

Sirlighty

Too many new citizens and FW importing their driving culture here. Nowadays, nobody gives a hoot on chevron marking and double continuous white line

Now have those bluesg and etc drivers that lack real time experience on the road.

Everyday can be heard on the radio about road accidents here and there.

Are we in a regressing society ?

Spirax

TS last time
vehicles are less powerful,
no disturbance from HP or GPS
Car are for affluent people
many white traffic wardens

Also have accidents, but no video online at that time

messidona

This really makes me damn mad. Many times, I tried to ensure that there are enough space between me and the vehicle behind me before I filter in. Just about a month ago, I was on the CTE. Traffic was relatively clear in the evening. I switched on my signal and SLOWLY changed lane. The PHV driver was at least 4 cars length behind me. When he saw my signal, he ACCELERATED hard, high beamed me as if I had stolen his crown! WHAT THE F@#$
Driving in Vietnam also not so stressful.

arcturuz

Too many new citizens and FW importing their driving culture here. Nowadays, nobody gives a hoot on chevron marking and double continuous white line

Now have those bluesg and etc drivers that lack real time experience on the road.

with dubious driving licenses

highsulphur

I can't confirm this but I really don't see them as often as compared to the old days. LTA (the real enforcement) bikes too.
LTA can't enforce traffic rules (eg speeding, change lanes without signalling). They can only enforce parking offences

dambio

I concur! I recently submitted a vid clip of one wannabe F1 driver driving a zhng COE car......driving in KPE tunnel (speed limit at that particular stretch was around 70kmh). I was driving on the middle lane at around 72kmh. This siao lang couldn't overtake from the uttermost right lane then tailgated me on my lane. His 100+hp F1 car (maybe zhng to 1000hp) came so close to my car's butt that I could even see his handsome face even though his windscreen was quite heavily tinted. He then did a zig zag Tokyo drift style filtering from left to right and right to left and continued like this all the way. Many were horning at him but he hack care.
Tp accept vid as evidence meh? Maybe they shld use drones to patrol if low manpower. Drone spot then take pics or clips as vid then go after those reckless drivers.

86technie

Drivers these days don't care a sheet about anybody else but themselves.

No more courtesy no more patience, abit abit tio triggered, you die your problem.

Nowadays mentality is owe car means owe the road.
Don't give a hoot about highway code.
Very obvious is merger lane, by right you must slow down and give way.

But to some drives merger Lane became drag race.
People want to filter don't give way, speed up block.

Than if never slow down kiss the other person backside.
Seen so many times accident in merger lane cuz some their ego is too big.

86technie

Lorry, van and heavy vehicle usually are driven by foreigners.
Drive like F1 no give a hoot about anything.
Such vehicle must pay extra attention they can do stunt one.

messidona

Nowadays mentality is owe car means owe the road.
Don't give a hoot about highway code.
Very obvious is merger lane, by right you must slow down and give way.

But to some drives merger Lane became drag race.
People want to filter don't give way, speed up block.

Than if never slow down kiss the other person backside.
Seen so many times accident in merger lane cuz some their ego is too big.
those merge lane become f1 racing. car will chiong from behind to overtake you lol

0218crawford

maciam like everyday oso have. its rare not to have such incidents these days.

doing the standard 3S - sleep, split and speed.

nyvrem

I have been driving close to 30 years. Back in the 80s and 90s (sorry for the younger ones here who missed out those years), driving in Singapore was so much more relaxing and fun. PHVs (no offence to the considerate PHV drivers here), illegal PMDs and inconsiderate cyclists were non-existent and the traffic was much MUCH smoother. I reminisce those days when I could leisurely drive from one end of Singapore to the other without having much to fear for my life from inconsiderate PHV drivers who are busily looking at their APPs and ignoring road safety rules. Not forgetting crazy e-scooters speeding on expressway/roads and cyclists competing in Tour de Singapore in big groups on Singapore roads. Of course there were also inconsiderate drivers in those days, but definitely less stressful to drive nowadays as compared to those years.

Yes, we do not really use car cams then but somehow, it seems that I am encountering less accidents (no stats to proof though) on a weekly basis. Nowadays, I will encounter an accident scene (almost at least once every week). Also, I am not sure about the younger/new drivers nowadays. During my time, when we were learning driving, we were only able to be tested in vehicles with manual gear. Does it equate to 'better skills' from the drivers back then? Much to be debated....

I also noticed that in the 80s and 90s, I rarely see vans/lorries speeding like no tomorrow on the extreme right lanes of expressways. Many were fearful of *** who could often be seen patrolling on our roads. Those pick-ups/vans/lorries came equipped with a signal light on the roof which would lit up when they exceeded the speed limit. Lastly, there are so many construction work done on our roads nowadays. Many roads are also getting really bumpy as well. It just adds to our frustrations.

(LOL....I know some will just suggest using 'BMW' instead. However, this option is regretfully not applicable to me). Car drivers, feel free to add your personal experiences here. Let's keep this thread going and be cordial to all. :)

i been driving manual for last 16 years+

i feel being a manual driver just makes you more aware of things

maybe thats y lesser accidents last time?

elephantscannotfly

Well, its a chicken and egg thing. If people don't drive, they don't get experience. If they don't have experience, but go out drive, will kena people say no experience, shouldn't drive lol.

trax06

those merge lane become f1 racing. car will chiong from behind to overtake you lol

I hate this part so much, clearly the lane getting narrow still want to cut ahead. Full of pariah these days.

SuperClubby

These days it's the stupid PHVs, road hoggers and idiots with ego issues.

What's with the road quality these days? ERP collected so much but highway quality like sheet

jq75

i conclude 3 factors
1. glue to phone, esp phv
2. u dare u bang attitude and thus many dun bother use signal indicators
3. impatient

messidona

I hate this part so much, clearly the lane getting narrow still want to cut ahead. Full of pariah these days.
typical impatient sinkies. sinkies love to rush mah. my sinkie boss also impatient and wants everything asap

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.