RANT: Driving Experience Nowadays

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

blue666

Simple

Rast time no mobile phone. The only thing that keep you busy is the radio / cassettes

Go from A to B means the route is in the mind. No GPS.

2.3m people also means lesser people per sq.m. Go to woodland means go villages and consider countryside outing.

Cannot compare when 66% of the pop are probably not here before 2000

Elfblade

When I told my friends that driving on NS highway is overall less bumpy than our expressways, many of my friends opened their eyes wide. Alignment and balancing tyre shops are probably doing a roaring business with so many bumpy roads nowadays.

Again, I remember those days.....after they have resurfaced the roads, the roads are really damn smooth and nice to drive on. Nowadays, after resurfacing, I have a feeling it became WORSE and more bumpy!!!!
Drive to Punggol and you will know what is Roller Coaster ride, LOL. Driving on the road to One Punggol is like riding a roller coaster ride, the ascent and descent really super huge. :s13: I think we've dug too many tunnels and it is impossible to achieve a flat road anymore.

Level42

I do rant in the car when I encounter rude, kiasu, or plain incompetent drivers. If everyone is safe, it’s actually no big deal. Just get over it and move on. In other words, self-centered, lousy, kiasu, or inconsiderate drivers can be forgiven. Maybe it’s just their weakness. We do not look down on the blind or the crippled; similarly, we should not look down on incompetent drivers.

What I cannot forgive are people who try to stage accidents for insurance fraud. If they fail with you, they will just find another target. Sadly, some drivers I suspect of such intentions seem like they’ve been driving since the ’80s and ’90s. Why are these people so wicked?

Ahemahem

i usually come office early in the morning so i can avoid the heavy traffic

sometimes early morning i drive,i just want a relaxing drive ,so i stay on 2nd or 3rd land
then some drivers rushing for reincarnation one will chiong and stick super close behind me then i no choice speed up

arcturuz

sometimes early morning i drive,i just want a relaxing drive ,so i stay on 2nd or 3rd land
then some drivers rushing for reincarnation one will chiong and stick super close behind me then i no choice speed up
if i'm not on the 1st lane and kena tailgate, i will drive even slower

buttbERry

Honorary Mentor
Indeed times have changed

now more cars

got more cyclists cycling in groups

got PMDs

got PMAs

got diff pedestrians

wongminmin

This really makes me damn mad. Many times, I tried to ensure that there are enough space between me and the vehicle behind me before I filter in. Just about a month ago, I was on the CTE. Traffic was relatively clear in the evening. I switched on my signal and SLOWLY changed lane. The PHV driver was at least 4 cars length behind me. When he saw my signal, he ACCELERATED hard, high beamed me as if I had stolen his crown! WHAT THE F@#$
i heard my frd said.... he dislike slow car or no horsepower car filter to lane 1 then slow him down. dunnoe ba. :(

Firestorm1978

Maybe ERP 2.0 can solve the problem.
I am trying to delay AS LONG AS POSSIBLE to get it installed. Can't phantom why such a bulky, 'outdated' device is going to be installed in our cars. Just hoping that they will come out with a 'better version' (which I highly doubt).

Firestorm1978

maciam like everyday oso have. its rare not to have such incidents these days.

doing the standard 3S - sleep, split and speed.

This kind of incident is so common nowadays. Yesterday, encountered another goondu. After signalling, just proceeded to change into my lane when my car was JUST BESIDE him/her. The driver was totally oblivious that I was beside him/her!!!! Had to horn and the joker immediately swerved back to his lane (THANK GOODNESS!)

Firestorm1978

These days it's the stupid PHVs, road hoggers and idiots with ego issues.

What's with the road quality these days? ERP collected so much but highway quality like sheet
Gotta reserve cash to replace suspensions and do frequent alignments. Just changed my car's front suspension a few months ago.

Croiseur

I have been driving close to 30 years. Back in the 80s and 90s (sorry for the younger ones here who missed out those years), driving in Singapore was so much more relaxing and fun. PHVs (no offence to the considerate PHV drivers here), illegal PMDs and inconsiderate cyclists were non-existent and the traffic was much MUCH smoother. I reminisce those days when I could leisurely drive from one end of Singapore to the other without having much to fear for my life from inconsiderate PHV drivers who are busily looking at their APPs and ignoring road safety rules. Not forgetting crazy e-scooters speeding on expressway/roads and cyclists competing in Tour de Singapore in big groups on Singapore roads. Of course there were also inconsiderate drivers in those days, but definitely less stressful to drive nowadays as compared to those years.

Yes, we do not really use car cams then but somehow, it seems that I am encountering less accidents (no stats to proof though) on a weekly basis. Nowadays, I will encounter an accident scene (almost at least once every week). Also, I am not sure about the younger/new drivers nowadays. During my time, when we were learning driving, we were only able to be tested in vehicles with manual gear. Does it equate to 'better skills' from the drivers back then? Much to be debated....

I also noticed that in the 80s and 90s, I rarely see vans/lorries speeding like no tomorrow on the extreme right lanes of expressways. Many were fearful of *** who could often be seen patrolling on our roads. Those pick-ups/vans/lorries came equipped with a signal light on the roof which would lit up when they exceeded the speed limit. Lastly, there are so many construction work done on our roads nowadays. Many roads are also getting really bumpy as well. It just adds to our frustrations.

(LOL....I know some will just suggest using 'BMW' instead. However, this option is regretfully not applicable to me). Car drivers, feel free to add your personal experiences here. Let's keep this thread going and be cordial to all. :)
I would also add the large number of black MPVs speeding on the roads and weaving in and out of traffic lanes.

Firestorm1978

Drive to Punggol and you will know what is Roller Coaster ride, LOL. Driving on the road to One Punggol is like riding a roller coaster ride, the ascent and descent really super huge. :s13: I think we've dug too many tunnels and it is impossible to achieve a flat road anymore.
I just went to Punggol yesterday. The traffic congestion there (exiting from TPE to Punggol) was absolutely horrendous. And yes, regarding the roller coaster ride over there......it could be the next San Franc LOL

Firestorm1978

I hack care those idiots. They want to overtake, then use the overtaking lane. I am driving at the normal, legal speed on the middle lane. Not road hogging. What the hell they want to stick so close to me? It's usually the vans/trucks. They speed on middle lanes and they would tailgate you.

Firestorm1978

if i'm not on the 1st lane and kena tailgate, i will drive even slower
Same. I love to see how those tailgaters (esp the F1 van/truck drivers) look when they saw that I was not wasting petrol in speeding up for them. I am 1000% sure that I wasn't road hogging the middle lane. Yet, they expect me to speed up in excess of 90kmh for them? Wait long long!

Firestorm1978

Too many phv drivers and BMW d1ckheads on the road nowadays..
Being on the roads for close to 30 years......and I hate to say this......it's not about the car models.......but somehow, the typical d#ckheads with the ah beng F1 reckless driving styles come from those driving the following brands: BMWs (esp from the pre 2010 models to the pre 2020) - VW Golfs/Sciroccos (recent years) - Merc (Esp the hatchback models) and the 90s Honda Bengs models.

keenklee

I just went to Punggol yesterday. The traffic congestion there (exiting from TPE to Punggol) was absolutely horrendous. And yes, regarding the roller coaster ride over there......it could be the next San Franc LOL
IMHO.
There are 3 exits. Use another.

Ahemahem

This really makes me damn mad. Many times, I tried to ensure that there are enough space between me and the vehicle behind me before I filter in. Just about a month ago, I was on the CTE. Traffic was relatively clear in the evening. I switched on my signal and SLOWLY changed lane. The PHV driver was at least 4 cars length behind me. When he saw my signal, he ACCELERATED hard, high beamed me as if I had stolen his crown! WHAT THE F@#$
i kana before also

nowadays many kiasu driver die die dont let ppl cut in front of them
like they racing for pole position

Firestorm1978

I do rant in the car when I encounter rude, kiasu, or plain incompetent drivers. If everyone is safe, it’s actually no big deal. Just get over it and move on. In other words, self-centered, lousy, kiasu, or inconsiderate drivers can be forgiven. Maybe it’s just their weakness. We do not look down on the blind or the crippled; similarly, we should not look down on incompetent drivers.

What I cannot forgive are people who try to stage accidents for insurance fraud. If they fail with you, they will just find another target. Sadly, some drivers I suspect of such intentions seem like they’ve been driving since the ’80s and ’90s. Why are these people so wicked?
Saw many incredulous videos on Sg Road Vig of these scammers/road rage jamming brake to cause an accident. Any updates from the authorities on how they deal with these kind of drivers???? Should ban them from driving forever! Imagine the innocent passengers in a taxi/PHV killed because of the sudden braking due to a quarrel between the taxi driver and the d#ckhead? How about those who become victims of a chain collision due to this? Go look at Sg Road Vig videos and you will see many of such incidents.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.