Recently visit penang

pmetpmet

Driven up to Penang more than 100x times since 2001 when I was still a teenager :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

Never once felt Penang was boring. In fact, I've been discovering new places each time I go there :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

While driving in Penang is challenging to the average sinkie, if you could drive 8 hours non-stop to Penang you should be way better than that :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

spinex

Dont understand why people say driving in penang is challenging... wonder how they pass their driving test.

In fact driving in KL is more complicated because of their more complicated network of roads. If you didnt see the gps navigation properly its easy to take the wrong turn and you have to go 1 big round.

How is driving around in Malaysia different from Singapore except their roads not so good. See jhb also can drive in msia with no issue and better than sinkies.... sinkies mai xia suay.

pmetpmet

Dont understand why people say driving in penang is challenging... wonder how they pass their driving test.

In fact driving in KL is more complicated because of their more complicated network of roads. If you didnt see the gps navigation properly its easy to take the wrong turn and you have to go 1 big round.

How is driving around in Malaysia different from Singapore except their roads not so good. See jhb also can drive in msia with no issue and better than sinkies.... sinkies mai xia suay.
How many times have you driven in Penang before? :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

spinex

How many times have you driven in Penang before? :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

Many times ... Telok Bahang, Balik Pulau, Georgetown ..etc. Penang mainland like Butterworth, BM, Perai ..etc also went and drove before. Seriously what is the difference as driving in JB ? To me no diff. Even my mum dare to drive in Penang... . this is not a joke.

Penang just a smaller city than Sg . Seriously dont understand why people saying its challenging to drive there.

pmetpmet

Many times ... Telok Bahang, Balik Pulau, Georgetown ..etc. Penang mainland like Butterworth, BM, Perai ..etc also went and drove before. Seriously what is the difference as driving in JB ? To me no diff. Even my mum dare to drive in Penang... . this is not a joke.

Penang just a smaller city than Sg . Seriously dont understand why people saying its challenging to drive there.
The roads are narrow and constantly jammed. JB is much better in that aspect :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

To me, it's not an issue as I've driven more challenging roads around the world. Plus, I have high endurance driving skills, driving up to Penang for more than 8 hours non-stop or around USA & Europe for more than 12 hours, each day every day :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

BlackStar00

Georgetown like rundown and never improve much over 10 years

still no trains
Traffic really crazy
Street art no maintain 😓😓😓

But food really no horse run sedap 😋😋😋😋

Ya same sentiments, I went last mth. Just grab everywhere is damn cheap also, and food is cheap n good.

Airplane88

Char kuay kak
Hokkien mee (Prawn mee)
Dim Sum
Kway teow tng
Char kuay kak is equivalent to Chai Tau Kuey here. Their Hokkien mee is soupy type. Their laksa is sour sour type. I ever ate once at Orchard road, not my type.

yeenfei

those diehard fans are natives of Penang ..they are the ones harping penang food is good
have to disagree on this (im penangites). we dont usually post online of the nice food outlets, fearing outsider (including those from other states) flock in and drive the demand.

yeenfei

Went once before covid. It's a place that I might go again in a few years time (that was my thought then, now not sure).

Went to
Penang Hill (overrated)
Upside down museum (nice)
Some shopping malls (boring, even ksl is better)

Food I quite like
CKT with duck egg (I miss this)
Popiah (I miss this)
Lor bak (I miss this)
Chendol
Prawn noodles
Duck kuay chap
Marrybrown
Laksa (I miss this)
Ox p**** soup

I still remember the korean bbq I had at the mall near airport (queentown or something) was lousy. Thank god it was the only lousy food I had.

Grab / uber was very cheap, not sure now.

I tried the tau sa piah, don't like it. I prefer our SG ones, especially from loong fatt. Also ate red prawn durian, not to my taste either.

can also try:
- balik pulau nyonya laksa (not asam laksa)
- curry mee (with pig blood curd)
- nasi kandar (fyi, this food started in penang, some only opens at late night)
- apom guan
- nutmeg
- specialty cafe

can explore the mainland side, but that requires someone familiar to bring you around as its requires more driving around:
- THE old tree (>40year) blackthorn, you never get this in other place, requires advance booking + subject to availability
- really good loh mee (collagen type, not the starchy 5-spices kind that you common see elsewhere) made with alot braised pork
- wild-caught freshwater prawn (overfishing causing smaller size now)
- famous BM yam rice
- tomyam porridge (many find it surprisingly acceptable)
- "Guagua's Store" (legendary cafe that sell freshly made fruit cakes, but opens ~3 days a week, randomly)

yeenfei

Char kuay kak is equivalent to Chai Tau Kuey here. Their Hokkien mee is soupy type. Their laksa is sour sour type. I ever ate once at Orchard road, not my type.
quite different, usuakky CKK remains in large blocks while CTK are diced smaller to blend with preserved vege and eggs.

berger

can also try:
- balik pulau nyonya laksa (not asam laksa)
- curry mee (with pig blood curd)
- nasi kandar (fyi, this food started in penang, some only opens at late night)
- apom guan
- nutmeg
- specialty cafe

can explore the mainland side, but that requires someone familiar to bring you around as its requires more driving around:
- THE old tree (>40year) blackthorn, you never get this in other place, requires advance booking + subject to availability
- really good loh mee (collagen type, not the starchy 5-spices kind that you common see elsewhere) made with alot braised pork
- wild-caught freshwater prawn (overfishing causing smaller size now)
- famous BM yam rice
- tomyam porridge (many find it surprisingly acceptable)
- "Guagua's Store" (legendary cafe that sell freshly made fruit cakes, but opens ~3 days a week, randomly)

saw a lot of good food on ig seems to be on mainland... but our hotel on the island, so only way we can go is to hire a driver, but how much can 1 eat in a day :ROFLMAO:?

can sic the black thorn? our usual store is at balik pulau

yeenfei

saw a lot of good food on ig seems to be on mainland... but our hotel on the island, so only way we can go is to hire a driver, but how much can 1 eat in a day :ROFLMAO:?
now you know why food are in smaller portion lol, it is a good "snack" to revisit on weekly basis, instead of eat once then forever gone.

do note that some of the place requires you to taken your meal before, as the waiting time are very long, not suitable for fast-pace city person.

berger

now you know why food are in smaller portion lol, it is a good "snack" to revisit on weekly basis, instead of eat once then forever gone.

do note that some of the place requires you to taken your meal before, as the waiting time are very long, not suitable for fast-pace city person.

can sic the black thorn? if can get a booking there, then might be enough to convince us to make a trip there lol

yeenfei

can sic the black thorn? if can get a booking there, then might be enough to convince us to make a trip there lol
Peter Lai (Orchard owner)
+60 12-466 6698
https://maps.app.goo.gl/UVyAh8cFqzMPqSEv9

If the location above is too far, you can try nibong tebal Leow
https://maps.app.goo.gl/xrKigyLALfajoNyc9

can visit chai kuih + dimsum nearby
https://maps.app.goo.gl/CGHS7XmE6Huj5umdA

followed by freshwater curry prawn (ask for live one)
https://maps.app.goo.gl/pUr1GhAEEMLhjyDg9

berger

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.