Recommend Cab Driver

Moodee

Thanks for your recommendation! I engaged him for 2 days while in Taichung. He's the nicest driver I've ever met in my years of travelling. He's not fussy about hours and very attention and thoughtful to our preferences. Also a true foodie at heart, he will recommend all the local eats to you. I booked him for NT3500,4adult 1kid on a 7 seater.

I have another driver to recommend for Taichung. It was introduced by a driver I engaged a few times when I visited Hualien.

His name is Ken, or you can call him 蔡先生, Mr Cai. His price is relatively low compared to other drivers I approached and he doesn't fuss if the whole trip ends later than the usual 8pm. He quoted me around 3.5k-4k NTD for most of the day trips. We usually start around 9am and end around 8 to 9.30pm.

As it was my first time in Taichung, I researched a few places of interests and just pasted it all to him including our schedule for arriving and leaving and he did most of the planning for us. We also told him to freely recommend places for us to visit if he had any in mind.

Initially we only planned to engaged a driver for only 2 days as we were gonna stay a night on CingJing, however he was so good we decided to hire him for the next day to fetch us down from CingJing, drive us around to tour some more and drop us off and Taoyuan airport. All these was only for 4k which was crazy reasonable. If we were to take a cab down from CingJing, take a train up to Taoyuan, it would already cost us about 2.5k to 3k. Plus, we don't have to drag our luggage all around.

On the first night when we went to Fengjia nightmarket, we decided to stay longer and he even went to takeaway a famous Braised pork rice and Soy Beancurd for me as I told him I wanna try when he casually mentioned it.

On top of all these, he really knows his food and history. He's knowledgeable with the history of Taiwan in general and Taichung. Never runs out of topics to converse in. We requested to try more local cuisine, those hidden gems you can't find online or travel blogs and he brought us. I would dare say, the best food I tried in Taichung during the trip, were all these hidden gems he recommended us. It's usually those old shops that operate in a run down or older area but the food is amazingly delicious and local. Most of them are something you can't find in other parts of Taiwan. There might be similar products, but the ones we tried had flavour profiles which were specific to Taichung. He also brought us to where 红衣小女孩 was filmed and told us the original story of it, as we were nearby having 芋圆.

On our second day we initially decided to end our trip at CingJing and just relax there but he spontaneously suggested to us that we should go up to 武陵. He didn't even ask for any additional fee. We ended up going up to 武陵. Even though the fog was crazy heavy he managed to drive us up and down safely. His driving skills are really good and you guys can be assured of that. We were the last group to arrive on 武陵 as it was already turning dark by then and would be too dangerous to travel on that route. However, we were glad we made that trip up. Even though the weather was not on our side, but it was still very enjoyable. We ended our trip at 7.30pm and he still had to drive all the way down and up again early the next morning to pick us up.

Overall, I would say he's one of the best drivers I've engaged in Taiwan as he's more like a friend than tour guide. It was like adding a fourth person to our group. He's knowledgeable, friendly, easy-going, prices are very reasonable and for female groups you can feel safe as he used to be ex special forces.

You can contact him at:
Ken, 蔡先生
Wechat: e651114e
Whatsapp: +886 938625580

You can tell him 新加坡钢琴老师介绍 or piano teacher intro.

I strongly recommend him. Btw, if you plan to travel from Taichung to Hualien or vice versa, you can let him know and he can get his cousin to do the Hualien side if you need a driver there as well. Usually what they do is drop off at CingJing and the other will pick up the next day for the next part of your journey. They are both excellent drivers and very friendly.

His cousin is 蔡明志
Wechat: a0928085777a
Specialises in Hualien.

whywhy80

Any recommendations for good drivers with suv or sedan?

I only got 3 pax.
But some areas not easy to self travel, plus I have 2 60+yo ladies..

Think that it may be cheaper to get suv/sedan rather than big cars/vans.

Please share!

Thanks!

rootz

Was quoted 10k for 2 cars (yes, big trip) from Cingjing to Hualien which included the Taroko Gorge visit within.

Question, is it roughly that cost? Thanks!

fila_22

Need some opinion.

Travelling with 6 adults and 3 children (range from 9months to 3years old). Intending to travel from Taipei to taichung and back. May I know the best way to travel?

2 taxis or the 9 pax van? 😊

rootz

Just went thru this myself.

Question is:

How many luggages would u have, and the size. That will help to facilitate your opinion, I think.

Need some opinion.

Travelling with 6 adults and 3 children (range from 9months to 3years old). Intending to travel from Taipei to taichung and back. May I know the best way to travel?

2 taxis or the 9 pax van? 😊

melaugh

Any 1 can suggest 1 day itinerary from Taichung will want to visit CingJing Farm as one of the destination and any cab driver to recommend, 3 pax

hopefaithhome

Any 1 can suggest 1 day itinerary from Taichung will want to visit CingJing Farm as one of the destination and any cab driver to recommend, 3 pax
Forgotten my password which explains my first post here with new nickname.
Can visit 心之方庭 & 纸箱王 at Taichung. Great for photos-taking!
Not to advertise, but we like this simple and young Taiwan driver.
Can whatsapp him if you are keen:
Ah Wei 陳振緯
+886 973-605-891

Winsonlua

Was quoted 10k for 2 cars (yes, big trip) from Cingjing to Hualien which included the Taroko Gorge visit within.

Question, is it roughly that cost? Thanks!

Bro, pls share contact. I get one 9 seated car at same price.

boneyrag

hello guys~~ I just recently ended my week long trip with my parents and some other seniors haha! I live in Taoyuan so we took a train down to Taichung and started out trip. All my drivers were from Klook and KKbox but there are good and bad experience so i'm going to share it here...

Taichung driver was from Klook and it was the worse experience ever!! Not only is he rude, he is very lazy and very suay mouth~ So if you have a driver by the name of 小將, please cancel your trip immediately lol. His contact number is 0909678905 and he drives a Volkswagen 7 seater? Can't exactly remember the details but this is enough to help you...

Cingjing to Hualien, I had an uncle who was superrrrr nice and knowledgeable.. He was introducing places to us along the way and he didn't charge me extra when we took an extra 30mins, though in between there were delays (not our's or the driver's fault) but he still went along with us. He constantly kept us updated and was very chatty and nice. I will highly recommend this driver since I had a really wonderful experience with him. But he only speaks Chinese~ You can also customise your route with him, very flexible guy. I paid 6.5k for his car, a 7-seater, 8 hours trip. His name is 林勝利, number is 0921171337. Only bad is that there were LOTS of ants in his car (probably from the cabbage he bought) and we had to throw away some of our stuffs...

If you need to know about any details, feel free to drop me a PM.. Oh and if you're looking for 林先生, you can let him know that I recommended you guys.. Not sure if that will give you any VIP price haha.. You can tell him 鄭先生 recommended~~ Hope you guys have a wonderful trip.. Oh btw, this 林先生 takes very good pictures hahaha~~

Andrew833

hello guys~~ I just recently ended my week long trip with my parents and some other seniors haha! I live in Taoyuan so we took a train down to Taichung and started out trip. All my drivers were from Klook and KKbox but there are good and bad experience so i'm going to share it here...

Taichung driver was from Klook and it was the worse experience ever!! Not only is he rude, he is very lazy and very suay mouth~ So if you have a driver by the name of 小將, please cancel your trip immediately lol. His contact number is 0909678905 and he drives a Volkswagen 7 seater? Can't exactly remember the details but this is enough to help you...

Cingjing to Hualien, I had an uncle who was superrrrr nice and knowledgeable.. He was introducing places to us along the way and he didn't charge me extra when we took an extra 30mins, though in between there were delays (not our's or the driver's fault) but he still went along with us. He constantly kept us updated and was very chatty and nice. I will highly recommend this driver since I had a really wonderful experience with him. But he only speaks Chinese~ You can also customise your route with him, very flexible guy. I paid 6.5k for his car, a 7-seater, 8 hours trip. His name is 林勝利, number is 0921171337. Only bad is that there were LOTS of ants in his car (probably from the cabbage he bought) and we had to throw away some of our stuffs...

If you need to know about any details, feel free to drop me a PM.. Oh and if you're looking for 林先生, you can let him know that I recommended you guys.. Not sure if that will give you any VIP price haha.. You can tell him 鄭先生 recommended~~ Hope you guys have a wonderful trip.. Oh btw, this 林先生 takes very good pictures hahaha~~

Nice review, but 6k for 7 seater, 8 hours trip kind of expensive. Anyway thanks for your review.

boneyrag

Nice review, but 6k for 7 seater, 8 hours trip kind of expensive. Anyway thanks for your review.

I didn't have any choices haha. But I'm not sure how much he charges if you contact him separately.. I booked through KKbox so I suppose there could be some middleman charges?

calkel20

I didn't have any choices haha. But I'm not sure how much he charges if you contact him separately.. I booked through KKbox so I suppose there could be some middleman charges?

U stayed there at least a year liao, why dont u drive?

boneyrag

Cause I didn't convert my license and I don't plan to at least for now.. Paying someone to drive is so much easier haha.. I'm not sure of the market rate but I've asked around and its usually about 4-5k for a trip like this.. But oh well, I mean I booked through a third party.. So yeah.. Maybe its more ex cause of commission charges etc

*edit*
Forgot to mention its from cingjing some minsu to taroko gorge plus customised tour.. So yeah personally I think its worth it

calkel20

Cause I didn't convert my license and I don't plan to at least for now.. Paying someone to drive is so much easier haha.. I'm not sure of the market rate but I've asked around and its usually about 4-5k for a trip like this.. But oh well, I mean I booked through a third party.. So yeah.. Maybe its more ex cause of commission charges etc
*edit*
Forgot to mention its from cingjing some minsu to taroko gorge plus customised tour.. So yeah personally I think its worth it
All u need to do is to get your idp done in sg.
No need convert ma.
Unless u taking up residency.
Then again at 6.5 from cj to hl, i believe got ppl offer 5k here.

boneyrag

Just an alternative la.. Doesn't meant cheap means good also.. At least my two cents worth and my experience.. Many fake profiles here see also sian.. I did messaged a couple people here then I realised actually all fake accounts lol ended up booking with kkbox.. Then again, for reference la I didn't say must book with that uncle also, just that I had a positive experience and I decided to share also...

calkel20

Just an alternative la.. Doesn't meant cheap means good also.. At least my two cents worth and my experience.. Many fake profiles here see also sian.. I did messaged a couple people here then I realised actually all fake accounts lol ended up booking with kkbox.. Then again, for reference la I didn't say must book with that uncle also, just that I had a positive experience and I decided to share also...
If u start driving, u will love it.
Own pace, own target.
Already stuck in sg so long, taiwan can go mountains and the sea. Dun waste your time there.
Find next year if you still there, i come find u makan and chitchat.
I am just an hour away from your location most of the time.
LoL!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.