Red Wing shoe Thread

iphone1s

oh no! I have been wearing my pair of redwings (from June 2019 to present) and today I am seeing white spots on the toe cap.

Any one faced the same issue? :(:(:(:(:(

FrogGreen

pmlVGrh.jpg

aEJJly6.jpg

my 3141. the sole almost gone liao

hi guys another noob question, where to resole red wing boots??

kazuki666

oh no! I have been wearing my pair of redwings (from June 2019 to present) and today I am seeing white spots on the toe cap.

Any one faced the same issue? :(:(:(:(:(
Could be mold or just dust. Brush it off will do. I usually will give my boots a light brush after every wears, to remove any dirt caught inside the holes or threads.

hi guys another noob question, where to resole red wing boots??
IMO lah, still have long way to go. I have two pairs of Red Wing also reached this stage like after 2-3 years of trashing and my bad walking habits. But after that I realize the wearing out seems to slow down le. I think lah, could be because the angle of my feet is this much le. Yes the sole definitely still wearing out, but much slower than initial start liao.
This is for my personal opinion.

However, if you wish to wait and see. Just take note the wear out don't burn out the sole completely flat, else will be too late le.

Sent from Xiaomi POCOPHONE F1 using GAGT

FrogGreen

DCHuZbZ.jpg

QBwXlNY.jpg

hello fellow gurus here, i own a pair of beckman as well. Just recently, my sole for some reason is flaking off and cracking. (as seen in the pic) Looks quite serious as the sole is losing material here and there.

any local cobblers to resole red wing beckmans???

kazuki666

Can I please check. Is it cheaper to buy direct from Somerset or online? :)

When you say online, how you going to measure your size? I hope you arent OGW shop try size happy liao, then online buy hor... Not really doing much justice to the staff who will help you with much passion. I have visited the OGW shop a few times, and I feel their staff are very knowledge and passionate of the job. Dont sabo them lah.

DCHuZbZ.jpg

QBwXlNY.jpg

hello fellow gurus here, i own a pair of beckman as well. Just recently, my sole for some reason is flaking off and cracking. (as seen in the pic) Looks quite serious as the sole is losing material here and there.

any local cobblers to resole red wing beckmans???

hmm... I have never seen one "disintegrate" until like this. What did you do recently wearing them? I suggest you bring to the OGW shop ask their staff for advice. Definitely looks like need to resole le, quite wasted especially when your pair looks quite new leh.

FrogGreen

When you say online, how you going to measure your size? I hope you arent OGW shop try size happy liao, then online buy hor... Not really doing much justice to the staff who will help you with much passion. I have visited the OGW shop a few times, and I feel their staff are very knowledge and passionate of the job. Dont sabo them lah.

hmm... I have never seen one "disintegrate" until like this. What did you do recently wearing them? I suggest you bring to the OGW shop ask their staff for advice. Definitely looks like need to resole le, quite wasted especially when your pair looks quite new leh.

I always got this terrible habit of keeping my shoes before I start wearing them. Maybe the boots cannot be stored for long ??

I don’t recall doing anything special. Thanks for advice. I will make a trip down soon.

kazuki666

I always got this terrible habit of keeping my shoes before I start wearing them. Maybe the boots cannot be stored for long ??

I don’t recall doing anything special. Thanks for advice. I will make a trip down soon.
My 3 pairs are all crepe sole, so don't know why yours like this. So ya, best is go back OGW. Scali they apologize and exchange a new pair for u? :p

jonleelk

How long u kept them? They look unworn to me.

iphone1s

This could be the same phenomena happening to SAF boots for you RedWings boots too.

patryn33

Anyone buy before? Their stuffs legit?

Sent from Samsung SM-G930F using GAGT

Not redwings but other products, all legit. American so big on counterfeit will let this brick and mortar store sell fake? TJX NYSE listed

jskywalker

I just bought a pair of 8119 from RW OGW.

I normally wear size 42. After measuring, I tried on a 41 but find the toe area tight, hence, I settled on a 41.5 instead.

41.5 is slightly big, I inserted a leather arched insole and it is comfortable.

My take is, if it is painful to wear, go up half a size or more till you are comfortable.

You can always correct slightly bigger with insole than bear with pain and blisters...

Also, I realised that if the socks are too thin or you wear it too loose, it will cut the back of your shins.

kazuki666

I just bought a pair of 8119 from RW OGW.

I normally wear size 42. After measuring, I tried on a 41 but find the toe area tight, hence, I settled on a 41.5 instead.

41.5 is slightly big, I inserted a leather arched insole and it is comfortable.

My take is, if it is painful to wear, go up half a size or more till you are comfortable.

You can always correct slightly bigger with insole than bear with pain and blisters...

Also, I realised that if the socks are too thin or you wear it too loose, it will cut the back of your shins.
Ever thought of picking a larger width? My 875 is 5.5E while 8165 is 6D

jskywalker

Hmm... not sure why he never recommend me...

Anyway, having it for 2 weeks now, wearing it every day... Am happy with it....

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.