Ryzen System with Windows 7?

Koenig168

Expects Sandisk like performance. About 400 MBps read, 300+ MBps write. Which is the slower kind of ssd.

Tecware is known to take in OEM stuff, rebrand and sell.

Sent from OnePlus ONEPLUS A3003 using GAGT

My Sandisk does 500+ read/write ....

Crooni

so stick with

1) MSI x470 with 2600?
or
2) MSI B450 with 2600x?

both would perform nearly identically. if i have to choose then b450 with 2600x. one is limited by cpu, the other limited by board design.

ideally it's

b450 with 2600/2700

x470 with 2600x/2700x. but the 2600x isn't worth it imo unless you really want to squeeze that last bit of performance. then if you're looking at x470 boards there are better options in asus and gigabyte which is a whole other story.

the b450 tomahawk has the same vrm as the x470 gaming plus, which was one of the reason it's listed as the best balanced b450 board (along with better cooling and price point). though you're getting the gaming plus which is best paired with a non x chip

croc1977

gKXkVKS.jpg

first set of items arrived
zUJ4pUu.jpg

2nd sets of items ....PSU behind

croc1977

both would perform nearly identically. if i have to choose then b450 with 2600x. one is limited by cpu, the other limited by board design.

ideally it's

b450 with 2600/2700

x470 with 2600x/2700x. but the 2600x isn't worth it imo unless you really want to squeeze that last bit of performance. then if you're looking at x470 boards there are better options in asus and gigabyte which is a whole other story.

the b450 tomahawk has the same vrm as the x470 gaming plus, which was one of the reason it's listed as the best balanced b450 board (along with better cooling and price point). though you're getting the gaming plus which is best paired with a non x chip
hey thanks for your reply first

Based on PC Themes pricing...

1) MSI B450 GP + 2600x = $473
2)MSI B450 TH = 2600x = $488
3)MSI X470 GP + 2600 = $500...

So you are stating if i want oc then i should go for option 2? cos i read abitt lah not say don't listen to you but i read ...alot of comment stating 2600 + x470 is better cos X series is 'stock' OC liao but can squeeze ...while 2600 ....can oc till near 2600x (4.1/4.2Ghz?) with right cooling cum rams ...plus X470 heatsink on the board is better than B450....

To me buying a CPU is like long term...my current i5 already quite a num of year...just change part to keep up

i will op out gigabyte or asus as they are out of budget... Asrock i can find B450 or X470 but they only support 10 so out also

Crooni

it all depends on what kind of oc you want to achieve.

when talking about the 2600, people usually meant oc'ing it to a 2600x level that they can run safely 24/7, i.e. 3.9-4.0 ghz, which the b450 will support.

when talking about the 2600x/2700x, people meant the max it will do under load, i.e. 4.2ghz all cores, 4.4ghz single core, which requires the x470 chipset and a better board.

the others are right too. i'm not trying to influence your decision, just dumping info on pros and cons.

i'm not saying if you want to oc pick the 2600x. i'm picking it based on the options you gave, hoping that it'll do 4.2ghz at lower voltages. because there's a chance that a 2600 would max out at 4.0ghz.

but if it's up to me, i'll pick the b450 with 2600. because i prefer lower temps and power consumption, and would be happy with 4ghz.

Phen8210

OC will cause degragation, run 24/7 for few months sure will degrade and the cycle repeats.

Phen8210

no leh...my i5-3570k overclock with ample cooling can last many years liao

oc till i think 4.2 or 4.5

Wow, that's great for you.
I had to revert my 2600K back to stock after using for 1-2 years, i read online and many people were facing the same issue. However, i bought the chip second hand so the user before me might have already OC-ED it..

IIRC, i oc-ed to 4.4GHz.. cannot remember the voltage. As the degradation began i had to repeatedly increase my voltage in other to sustain the clock.. never thought that day will come.

Zink00

If u want to oc get the non-x. If not get the x and let xfr pbo do its job; auto oc.

croc1977

Wow, that's great for you.
I had to revert my 2600K back to stock after using for 1-2 years, i read online and many people were facing the same issue. However, i bought the chip second hand so the user before me might have already OC-ED it..

IIRC, i oc-ed to 4.4GHz.. cannot remember the voltage. As the degradation began i had to repeatedly increase my voltage in other to sustain the clock.. never thought that day will come.
but i don't oc with stock cooler....with liquid one i use plus ram i use those got heatsink then work

if everything use stock one i also can't...need such enhancement for help

singupingu

How hardcore you wanna oc? Pushing just to match 2600X @4.0ghz, get B450 will do. Pushing above and beyond, X470 safer, as what mentioned by Crooni. However, do mind that OC mileage varies based on your silicon lottery.

croc1977

How hardcore you wanna oc? Pushing just to match 2600X @4.0ghz, get B450 will do. Pushing above and beyond, X470 safer, as what mentioned by Crooni. However, do mind that OC mileage varies based on your silicon lottery.

2600 =2600x ...that all maybe +/- 5%

singupingu

Then B450 should be fine ba, as long your vcore don't exceed 1.4V.

singupingu

ok thanks.................

tomahawk or gaming plus heat sink better?
Answered you on this before.
B450 Gaming Plus and Tomahawk is essentially the same board. The only few things I'll consider between this 2 are:

1. Do I want RGB on the motherboard?
2. Do I want USB 3.1 Gen 2 Type C on the motherboard?

If yes to any of the 2, go for Tomahawk.
If no, then Gaming Plus is the better buy.

Essentially the same. No difference. As long as you got mount fans near the rear exhaust of the chassis, promoting some airflow around the vrm area will do.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.